Bryan ISD Superintendent Reorganizes Leadership Team

Action at Monday night’s Bryan school board meeting included reorganizing the central office leadership team. Approval was given to hiring a second executive director of school leadership. Brian Merrell, who…

Two Texas A&M ecosystem sciences research graduates earn distinguished student award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Yong Zhou, 979-587-4423, yong.zhou@yale.edu Dr. Thomas Boutton, 979-845-8027, boutton@tamu.edu Dr. Tan Zhou, 979-985-9138, tankwin0@email.tamu.edu Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Two…

Spam and phishing in Q1 2018

Quarterly highlights Data leaks Early 2018 will be remembered for a series of data leak scandals. The most high-profile saw Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg grilled by US Congress, with many…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 22, 2018

Corn, sorghum producers face weather, market uncertainties Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Corn and sorghum producers could be in for a…

Mumford ISD Superintendent Pete Bienski Is Retiring After 41 Years

Mumford ISD superintendent Pete Bienski has announced his retirement following 41 years in that position and 48 years in education. Bienski told WTAW News the new superintendent is Blayne Davis,…

Volunteers needed to help lay flags at each grave Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  Land Commissioner and Veterans Land Board Commissioner George P. Bush is encouraging Texans across the…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  Attorney General Ken Paxton today reminded Texans of the May 31 deadline to submit claims in a $586 million settlement with Western Union affecting…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  The state of California is planning to give free health coverage to illegal aliens. State senator Ricardo Lara and state assemblyman Joaquin Arambula introduced…

Texas A&M Summer Horsemanship Schools enter 46th year

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Chelsie Huseman, 979-845-5264, chelsie.huseman@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More than 100 former Texas A&M University Summer Horsemanship School instructors gathered as part of a…

Microsoft pledges to extend EU data rights worldwide

NEW YORK (AP) — Microsoft promised Monday to give users worldwide the same data and privacy rights Europeans will get under new regulations there. That’s in contrast to some of…

Toth backed by gay libertarian billionaire pushing Same-Sex Marriage & Marijuana Legalization Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “Donna Davidson is a strong conservative who has the integrity, character, and…

Elysian Fields ISD students receive Junior Master Gardener certificates

Students close out program year with Texas A&M, horticulture department tour Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Randy Seagraves, 979-845-3107, seagraves@tamu.edu Lisa Whittlesey, 979-845-8096, l-whittlesey@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A…

AgriLife Extension offers two June water programs for professionals, homeowners

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Allison Watkins, 325-659-6522, aewatkins@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County has two water programs planned…

Brittni Littlejohn receives 2018 Sorensen Achievement Award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Brittni Littlejohn, a Texas A&M University department of animal science graduate research assistant at the Texas A&M…

Cleere, Bracher, Winters inducted into Texas A&M agricultural economics honor registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – Kirk Cleere (’81), Paul Bracher (’78) and David Winters (’64) have been inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry…

FM 60 Closed After A Pickup Rear-Ends A Truck Driving School Big Rig

A semi occupied by student drivers and teachers was rear-ended on FM 60 west of Easterwood Airport Friday afternoon. DPS trooper Sgt. Jimmy Morgan says the driver and four passengers…

AgriLife Research, Forage Genetics International sign multi-year agreement

Focus will be on forage sorghum improvements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A greater interest in forage sorghums from the beef…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  (FORT WORTH, TEXAS) – Tuesday, May 16, 2018 In a move to strengthen current sexual harassment policies in the Texas Legislature, Speaker of the…

Residents, AgriLife Extension, others work to ‘Harvey-proof’ Houston-area community

Effort leads to new Exploration Green nature park that will detain floodwater, clean runoff Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu CLEAR…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – (HOUSTON, TX) – Texans for Dan Patrick issued a statement today following a press release by out-going House Speaker Joe Straus regarding his involvement…