Walk Across Texas participants learn about additional health, wellness offerings at midway event

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Eighty-two Bexar County employees learned about a variety of free health and…

Bexar County employees take first steps in ‘Walk Across Texas’

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Participants in Walk Across Texas in Bexar County gather outside the Bexar County Courthouse complex. More than 130 county employees participated in the…

Healthy Texas seeking high school students statewide to become youth ambassadors

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu Julie Gardner, 979-845-1484, julie.gardner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is looking for high school youth…

AgriLife Extension brings health, wellness through family, community outreach

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Susan Ballabina, 979-862-3932, sgballabina@ag.tamu.edu Paula Butler, 972-952-9229, pibutler@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Stephen Green, 979-845-6468, stephen.green@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – While individuals…

Healthy Texas statewide effort kicks off in East Texas

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rusty Hohlt, 979-458-7553, rrhohlt@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN – A statewide effort to address chronic health problems and improve Texans’ health and quality of life through preventative…

New education effort tackles Texas childhood obesity

Youth participants in a 4-H cooking contest wait for their dishes to be judged. (Texas A&M AgriLife photo by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: JaNelle Casson, 254-774-6046,…

AgriLife Extension brings Worksite Wellness program to High Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is taking its wellness programs to work sites across the High…

Walk Across Texas helps Texans make strides toward better health

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu Michael Lopez, 979-845-6631, mllopez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – While the Walk Across Texas program activities continue throughout the state, some groups…

Walk Across Texas kickoff set for Sept. 24 in Austin

AUSTIN — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Travis County will host a Walk Across Texas kickoff event from 9-11 a.m. Sept. 24 behind the Austin Community College…

Free health screenings, mascot battle highlight AgriLife Extension health event

EDINBURG – Who’s healthier, Mission High School’s eagle or Economedes High School’s jaguar? The Mascot Challenge will pit local school rivalries to decide whose sideline-roaming, costumed mascot is in better…

AgriLife Extension in Travis County seeking new Master Wellness volunteers

AUSTIN — The Master Wellness Volunteer program for Travis County needs additional volunteers to participate in its community health and wellness outreach efforts, said Sonia Coyle, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Research shows Texas Grow! Eat! Go! interventions having positive impact on youth

COLLEGE STATION — Research has shown that efforts through the Texas Grow! Eat! Go! program have had a positive effect on improving the health and wellness of youth in the…