Guadalupe County Master Gardener class open for registration

Instruction will be Tuesdays, Aug. 8-Dec. 5 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kay McElveen, 479-790-2933, hkaymcelveen@gmail.com SEGUIN – Guadalupe County residents interested in learning more about gardening and sharing…

A King’s Ransom It is Not

The first half of 2017 began with two intriguing ransomware events, both partly enabled by wormable exploit technology dumped by a group calling themselves “The ShadowBrokers”. These WannaCry and ExPetr…

The NukeBot banking Trojan: from rough drafts to real threats

This spring, the author of the NukeBot banking Trojan published the source code of his creation. He most probably did so to restore his reputation on a number of hacker…

THE ANTHONY KITCHEN: Blueberry muffins will have you daydreaming

I can recall as a little girl thinking how terrible my sweet, sweet mother was for never allowing us to get the “fun” cereals at the grocery store. Ya know,…

Bryan School Board Promotes Two Administrators And Hires A Third

The Bryan school board unanimously promoted two administrators and added a third at Monday night’s meeting. The new position is chief of staff to new superintendent Christie Whitbeck. Filling that…

Last week, military officials described how climate change would escalate instability across the globe and make it harder for the US military to conduct its operations. Source: Science News

Wildfire recovery meetings set Aug. 3 in northeastern Texas Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Almost five months after wildfires ripped across much of the northeastern Texas Panhandle, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Dallas turf breeder reelected to Texas A&M University System research council

Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ambika Chandra, 972-952-9218, ambika.chandra@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ambika Chandra DALLAS – Dr. Ambika Chandra, lead scientist of the turfgrass breeding program at the Texas A&M…

The Magala Trojan Clicker: A Hidden Advertising Threat

One large group will slowly conquer another large group, reduce its numbers, and thus lessen its chance of further variation and improvement. <…> Small and broken groups and sub-groups will…

Melon salad offers sweet relief from summer heat

The summer holidays have passed us by and it’s goodbye Memorial Day, bon voyage 4th of July. We spent all that time equipping ourselves with ripped beach bodies, then the…

Juntos 4-H leadership academy gives teens a look at college life

July 10, 2017 Twenty-five 4-H’ers participate in five-day program held at Our Lady of the Lake University Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.Garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – A group…

Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp provides youth with leadership skills

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Shawnte Clawson, 806-677-5600, sfclawson@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – About 90 youth from the Panhandle and South Plains districts attended the annual Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp June…

High tunnel value proven in High Plains vegetable production

Hail decimates outside AgriLife Research tomato, pepper crop Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu AMARILLO – High tunnels at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research station…

Bitscout – The Free Remote Digital Forensics Tool Builder

Being a malware researcher means you are always busy with the struggle against mountains of malware and cyberattacks around the world. Over the past decade, the number of daily new…

Beef Cattle Short Course animal health sessions Aug 7-9 in College Station

Issues to be addressed include fever tick, trichomoniasis Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Tom Hairgrove, 979-845-3216, tbhairgrove@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION  – Animal health issues…

AgriLife Research in Amarillo taking to the skies with drones

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The maiden voyage of the first unmanned aerial system or drone by…

Stiles Farm Field Day features herd bull selection, cropping systems alternatives

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Stiles Farm Field Day attendees learned more about the possibilities of using low or high crop input methods,…

Independence Day is cause for celebration

For many of us, July 4 is the highlight of the summer and now it is just around the corner. And with Independence Day comes a birthday celebration like no…

From BlackEnergy to ExPetr

Much has been written about the recent ExPetr/NotPetya/Nyetya/Petya outbreak – you can read our findings here:Schroedinger’s Pet(ya) and ExPetr is a wiper, not ransomware. As in the case of Wannacry,…

Annual Northeast Texas Horticultural Field Day a hit with ornamental lovers

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, brent.pemberton@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Patti Cates, of Hughes Springs, planted her pink flag among the fiery red and orange Zahara Double…