Resistant varieties, beneficial predators can help producers win sugarcane aphid battle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While sugarcane aphids have been difficult to suppress in past years due to their natural traits and…

‘Managing in Tough Times’ program offered May 15-16 in Wheeler

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Cunningham, 806-826-5243, thomas.cunningham@ag.tamu.edu WHEELER – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will bring “Ranching 2018: Managing in Tough Times” to the Ag and…

Feedyard greenhouse gas study analyzes emissions, mitigation factors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Casey, 806-677-5600, kdcasey@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A week spent in a feedyard pen is helping researchers gain a better understanding of greenhouse gas…

Expert: ‘Find’ more water through landscaping techniques

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daniel Cunningham, 972-952-9223, daniel.cunningham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Drought is a given, and water from traditional sources will be limited in the future, but homeowners and…

Challenger Leal takes harder line to rein in Property Taxes than Seliger Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The Midland County Republican Women’s Club had the chance to meet Senate District…

AgriLife Extension cotton trial results released for High Plains, Rolling Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, Seth.Byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Just in time for cotton…

Hemphill County beef conference April 24-25 to address market turning points

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The 2018 Hemphill County-Texas A&M AgriLife Beef Cattle Conference and Ag Tour set for April 24-25 will include…

Drought returns to Texas just months after Hurricane Harvey floods state

Billy Bob Brown has been farming in the Amarillo area for nearly half a century, and this is the longest dry spell he’s ever seen. The region hasn’t received measurable rainfall in more than 100 days,…

Jordan honored with Texas A&M AgriLife Vice Chancellor’s Award of Excellence

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Ellen Jordan, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state dairy specialist in Dallas, was honored with the…

Third annual Grass Grazing and Animal Management School begins Jan. 15

10-month in-depth training offered by AgriLife Extension in Canadian Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The 10-month Grass Grazing and Animal Management School coordinated…

Four Texas Panhandle Crop Production Clinics set Jan. 8-12

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-683-2736, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Four Texas Panhandle Crop Production Clinics will be presented Jan. 8-12 by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, DuPont Pioneer and North Plains…

Fumonisin update meetings set Dec. 19 in Dumas, Dimmitt

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas Corn Producers and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host two update meetings Dec. 19…

AgriLife Research project to examine, educate on organic wheat systems

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.Adams@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Organic wheat and beef may not be for everyone, but one Texas A&M AgriLife team is going to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Oct. 11

EDITOR’S NOTE: This week’s report was delayed due to the Columbus Day holiday. Cool, cloudy, wet weather creates problems for Panhandle cotton production Writers: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Paul Schattenberg,…

Emergency meetings scheduled following reports of fumonisin in Texas corn

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu AMARILLO — Meetings have been scheduled on Sept. 27 in Dimmitt and Dumas to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 19, 2017

Sugarcane aphids not a major problem for prepared Texas sorghum producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu; Danielle Sekula, 956-878-8317, danielle.sekula@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most sorghum…

Sugarcane aphids spreading throughout the Texas Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While sugarcane aphid populations are still low in grain sorghum fields across the Texas High Plains, a…

Annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour set Aug. 30

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The 41st annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas A&M AgriLife releases High Plains wheat ‘Top Picks’ list

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Each year, experts with the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 25

Texas pecan crop projected to exceed 50 million pounds Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas pecan growers expect to increase production this…