Fumonisin not expected to be major yearly problem for corn producers

More research needed for corn growers, cattle feeders Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu David Gibson, 806-763-2676, dgibson@texascorn.org DUMAS – A “perfect storm” brewed up…

Fumonisin update meetings set Dec. 19 in Dumas, Dimmitt

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas Corn Producers and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host two update meetings Dec. 19…

Water use, drought-tolerant hybrids still key to dryland crop production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, Qingwu.xue@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Risk management is the name of the…

AgriLife Extension sets High Plains Ag Conference Dec. 8 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the annual High Plains Ag Conference from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Dec.…

Master Marketer series set for Waco in 2018

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu WACO – The 2018 Master Marketer series, which assists farmers and ranchers in developing marketing plans to increase gross…

3-D crop imaging helps agriculture estimate plant height

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lonesome Malambo, mmoonga@tamu.edu Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3041, sethmurray@tamu.edu Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Building three-dimensional…

AgriLife Research receives USDA-NIFA grant for phenotyping tool development

Analytical tool research will aid screening of potential corn lines Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3041, sethmurray@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife Research will receive…

Texas State Chemist, AgriLife Research hosts Kenya parliament members

Review of aflatoxin co-regulation model focus of week-long demonstration Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu  COLLEGE STATION – Kenya parliament leaders met with the Office of the Texas State Chemist and…

Sweeten to retire after 45 years of service to Texas A&M

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. John Sweeten, 806-677-5600, jmsweeten@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. John Sweeten, center director at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Amarillo for the…

Rio Grande Valley growers could be in a for a rough 2017

Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, b-cowan@tamu.edu MONTE ALTO  —  South Texas row crop producers are invited to the Spring 2017 Crop Seminar to help them prepare for what could be a…

New program offered by AgriLife Extension at annual farm show

RRAD set for Nov. 30 Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Danny Nusser, 806-376-0051, d-nusser@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be offering something a little different at…

Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

A study conducted by the Agricultural and Food Policy Center at Texas A&M University found that proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases…

High Plains Crop Profitability Analyzer available to producers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Steve Amosson, 806-677-5600, samosson@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Producers in the Texas High Plains have a new budgeting tool available with the release of the 2016…

From the Ground Up:  Connecting Agriculture and Health program set for Jan. 5 in Waco

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dana Tarter, 940-552-9941, d-tarter@tamu.edu WACO – From the Ground Up: Connecting Agriculture and Health, a special program set for Jan. 5 at the Waco…