Region 16 STEM teachers tour AgriLife Research farm

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, bauvermann@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife Research hosted a group of about 20 science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM,…

The Texas Medical Board has a long history in Texas, dating back to 1837 By State Rep. Todd Hunter Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — In order to identify and eliminate government waste,…

LuckyMouse hits national data center to organize country-level waterholing campaign

What happened? In March 2018 we detected an ongoing campaign targeting a national data center in the Central Asia that we believe has been active since autumn 2017. The choice…

Temple center welcomes producers, industry professionals during field day

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Gerik, 254-774-6128, t-gerik@tamu.edu TEMPLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center and U.S. Department of Agriculture Grassland Soil and Water…

AgriLife Extension, USDA expand veteran loan assistance for starting agribusinesses

Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, Gabe.Saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue have announced expansion of loan opportunities…

A MitM extension for Chrome

Browser extensions make our lives easier: they hide obtrusive advertising, translate text, help us choose in online stores, etc. There are also less desirable extensions, including those that bombard us…

NASA’s Teams Engaging Affiliated Museums and Informal Institutions (TEAM II) has selected three informal education organizations to promote science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) learning to inspire the next generation…

FIFA public Wi-Fi guide: which host cities have the most secure networks?

We all know how easy it is for users to connect to open Wi-Fi networks in public places. Well, it is equally straightforward for criminals to position themselves near poorly…

Netkids

Children today are completely at home in the digital space. They use digital diaries and textbooks at school, communicate via instant messaging, play games on mobile devices (not to mention…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research mourns loss of Dr. Erik Mirkov

Researcher was renowned plant pathologist worldwide Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Kranthi Mandadi, 956-969-5634, kkmandadi@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Dr. Erik Mirkov, plant pathologist at the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Trojan watch

We continue to research how proliferation of IoT devices affects the daily lives of users and their information security. In our previous study, we touched upon ways of intercepting authentication…

2018 Fraud World Cup

There are only two weeks to go before the start of the massive soccer event — FIFA World Cup. This championship has already attracted the attention of millions worldwide, including…

NASA has selected 304 proposals from U.S. small businesses to advance research and technology in Phase I of its 2018 Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) program and 44 proposals for…

VPNFilter EXIF to C2 mechanism analysed

On May 23 2018, our colleagues from Cisco Talos published their excellent analysis of VPNFilter, an IoT / router malware which exhibits some worrying characteristics. Some of the things which…

Two Texas A&M ecosystem sciences research graduates earn distinguished student award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Yong Zhou, 979-587-4423, yong.zhou@yale.edu Dr. Thomas Boutton, 979-845-8027, boutton@tamu.edu Dr. Tan Zhou, 979-985-9138, tankwin0@email.tamu.edu Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Two…

Stiles Farm Field Day set for June 19 in Thrall

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Feral hog trapping, soybean performance in the Blacklands, pecan tree management and the latest farm bill information will…

Spam and phishing in Q1 2018

Quarterly highlights Data leaks Early 2018 will be remembered for a series of data leak scandals. The most high-profile saw Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg grilled by US Congress, with many…

Backdoors in D-Link’s backyard

“If you want to change the world, start with yourself.” In the case of security research this can be rephrased to: “If you want to make the world safer, start…

Texas A&M, USDA research aimed at nitrite poisoning leads to methane mitigation

Student, advisers taking research from lab to marketplace Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Bill Pinchak, 940-552-9941, bpinchak@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Elizabeth Latham, 512-574-4790, bezoarlaboratories@gmail.com Dr. Robin Anderson, 979-260-9317, robin.anderson@ars.usda.gov COLLEGE…

US stocks edge higher as technology companies, banks rise

NEW YORK (AP) — Technology companies and banks are rising Tuesday morning as U.S. stocks head higher for the second day in a row. Automakers are climbing after China said…