Growing organic rice for market niche not simple

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shane Zhou, 409-752-2741, xzhou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Fugen Dou, 409-752-2741, f-dou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Mo Way, 409-658-2186, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Muthu, Bagavathiannan, 979-845-3041, muthu.bagavathiannan@tamu.edu BEAUMONT —  A market…

Bryan School Board Promotes Two Administrators And Hires A Third

The Bryan school board unanimously promoted two administrators and added a third at Monday night’s meeting. The new position is chief of staff to new superintendent Christie Whitbeck. Filling that…

Texas A&M entomologist hot on the trail to stop global locust devastation

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Hojun Song, 979-845-2481, hsong@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – From time immemorial, man has suffered from the devastation wrought by locust swarms of biblical…

Judge Denies Tommy Wallis Contempt Motion Against Bryan ISD

Former Bryan school district superintendent Tommy Wallis has lost his attempt to hold the district in civil contempt of court for not protecting documents critical of his job performance. Wallis…

New Bryan ISD Superintendent Creating Chief Of Staff Position

The Bryan school district could be adding another new administrator. On Bryan ISD’s employment page is information about a chief of staff who will report to new superintendent Christie Whitbeck.…

Juntos 4-H leadership academy gives teens a look at college life

July 10, 2017 Twenty-five 4-H’ers participate in five-day program held at Our Lady of the Lake University Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.Garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – A group…

The team that discovered gravitational waves put their data online. Now an independent group of researchers claims that they’ve found what might be a serious problem. Source: Science News

Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp provides youth with leadership skills

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Shawnte Clawson, 806-677-5600, sfclawson@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – About 90 youth from the Panhandle and South Plains districts attended the annual Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp June…

Blinn College Trustees Approve Expanding Footprint On The RELLIS Campus

Blinn College’s board of trustees have approved the administration’s request to negotiate an agreement with the Texas A&M system to share another new building at the RELLIS campus. The 40,000…

Walk Across Texas helps Texans make strides toward better health

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu Michael Lopez, 979-845-6631, mllopez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – While the Walk Across Texas program activities continue throughout the state, some groups…

Grazing to improve soil health, producer profits

Texas A&M AgriLife researcher leads effort to find optimum management strategies Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Richard Teague, 940-552-9941, Richard.Teague@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Richard Teague might be considered…

From BlackEnergy to ExPetr

Much has been written about the recent ExPetr/NotPetya/Nyetya/Petya outbreak – you can read our findings here:Schroedinger’s Pet(ya) and ExPetr is a wiper, not ransomware. As in the case of Wannacry,…

Judge Issues Partial Decision In Tommy Wallis Motion vs. Bryan ISD

A Travis County district judge has issued a partial decision in the motion sought by former Bryan school superintendent Tommy Wallis, after documents critical of his job performance were leaked…

Tommy Wallis Vs. Bryan ISD Court Hearing Going Longer Than Planned

What was supposed to be a three hour hearing in Travis County district court Wednesday called by former Bryan school district superintendent Tommy Wallis against his former employer will continue…

Bryan School Board Approves Hiring Outside Legal Assistance In The Lawsuit Filed By Former Superintendent Wallis

The Bryan school board has voted to hire outside legal assistance in the lawsuit filed against the district by former superintendent Tommy Wallis. Monday’s four to nothing vote followed a…

Research group focuses on economics of transportation needs for rural elderly

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Rebekka Dudensing, 979-845-1719, rmdudensing@tamu.edu Dr. James Mjelde, 979-845-2116, j-mjelde@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A multidisciplinary team of researchers is examining economic issues associated with…

‘Flame and Fortune,’ AgriLife Extension offers Prescribed Burn School July 13-14 in San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-657-7313, Morgan.Russell@ag.tamu.edu  Jaime Tankersley 325-450-7025, jtankers4@yahoo.com                 SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Prescribed…

Angel Lawshea new youth outreach educator for AgriLife Extension in Bexar County

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, mlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angel Lawshea, 210-631-0400 SAN ANTONIO – Angel Lawshea is the new youth outreach educator for the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas A&M AgriLife partners with Tunisia to improve soil management

U.S. Department of State project designed to improve economic viability, security Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Amir Ibrahim, 979-845-8274, aibrahim@tamu.edu Dr. Jake Mowrer, jake.mowrer@tamu.eduDr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, qxue@ag.tamu.edu…

AgriLife Extension’s Schleicher County 4-H team takes national wool judging title

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu                SONORA – The Schleicher County 4-H senior wool judging team won the 57th National 4-H Wool Judging Contest in…