Bryan ISD Superintendent Reorganizes Leadership Team

Action at Monday night’s Bryan school board meeting included reorganizing the central office leadership team. Approval was given to hiring a second executive director of school leadership. Brian Merrell, who…

Two Texas A&M ecosystem sciences research graduates earn distinguished student award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Yong Zhou, 979-587-4423, yong.zhou@yale.edu Dr. Thomas Boutton, 979-845-8027, boutton@tamu.edu Dr. Tan Zhou, 979-985-9138, tankwin0@email.tamu.edu Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Two…

NFL unanimously approves Tepper's $2.2b purchase of Panthers

ATLANTA (AP) — The new owner of the Carolina Panthers is committed to keeping the team in the Carolinas. Source: Business – The Eagle

Texas A&M, USDA research aimed at nitrite poisoning leads to methane mitigation

Student, advisers taking research from lab to marketplace Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Bill Pinchak, 940-552-9941, bpinchak@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Elizabeth Latham, 512-574-4790, bezoarlaboratories@gmail.com Dr. Robin Anderson, 979-260-9317, robin.anderson@ars.usda.gov COLLEGE…

Sharing with you some of my concerns for the future of the Republican Party of Texas By Tom Mechler Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — As many of you are…

Brittni Littlejohn receives 2018 Sorensen Achievement Award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Brittni Littlejohn, a Texas A&M University department of animal science graduate research assistant at the Texas A&M…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – (HOUSTON, TX) – Texans for Dan Patrick issued a statement today following a press release by out-going House Speaker Joe Straus regarding his involvement…

AgriLife scientists uncover a new face of a famous protein, SWI2/SNF2 ATPase

Research can aid human cancer treatment, plant and animal agriculture Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Xiuren Zhang, 979-458-0596, xiuren.zhang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A team of Texas A&M…

Bexar County employees take first steps in ‘Walk Across Texas’

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Participants in Walk Across Texas in Bexar County gather outside the Bexar County Courthouse complex. More than 130 county employees participated in the…

IT threat evolution Q1 2018

Targeted attacks and malware campaigns Skygofree:  sophisticated mobile surveillance In January, we uncovered a sophisticated mobile implant that provides attackers with remote control of infected Android devices.  The malware, called…

Trial on tap in Giants, Eli Manning memorabilia lawsuit

HACKENSACK, N.J. (AP) — Jury selection is scheduled to begin on Monday in a New Jersey memorabilia dealer’s lawsuit that accuses New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning of conspiring with…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research to lead project to enhance spinach production, safety

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Vijay Joshi, 830-278-9151, Vijay.Joshi@tamu.edu Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas A&M AgriLife research will collaborate with the Texas Department of Agriculture…

OPC UA security analysis

This paper discusses our project that involved searching for vulnerabilities in implementations of the OPC UA protocol. In publishing this material, we hope to draw the attention of vendors that…

The King is dead. Long live the King!

In late April 2018, a new zero-day vulnerability for Internet Explorer (IE) was found using our sandbox; more than two years since the last in the wild example (CVE-2016-0189). This…

Gates, Zuckerberg team up on new education initiative

SEATTLE (AP) — Tech moguls Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg said Tuesday they will team up to help develop new methods for kids with trouble learning — an effort that…

Ryan Ellis & Cesar Conda – Washington Examiner Outgoing Speaker of the House Paul Ryan talks about the new tax reform law quite a lot, as one would imagine. When…

Smithsonian Exhibit Coming to Brazos Valley African American Museum

The Brazos Valley African American Museum has been chosen to host the Smithsonian’s traveling exhibit, Hometown Teams: How Sports Shape America. The museum’s director, Crystal Carter, said the exhibition covers…

AgriLife Research to study prenatal stress impacts in cattle

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A $382,800 federal grant will fund research to identify the impacts of prenatal stress on beef cattle…

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research awards $5 million to address water scarcity

Texas A&M AgriLife Research joins others to advance irrigation innovation Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu DENVER – Texas A&M AgriLife Research is poised to…

Texas A&M AgriLife’s novel winter-hardy hibiscus hybrids hitting U.S. market

Summer Spice Hibiscus Brandy Bleu (Texas A&M AgriLife Research photo) Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu VERNON – The 2018 Summer Spice Hardy Hibiscus collection by Texas A&M AgriLife Research…