AgriLife Extension agent named in Wheeler County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Cunningham, 806-826-5243, Thomas.Cunningham@ag.tamu.edu WHEELER – Thomas Cunningham will transfer from Taylor County to Wheeler County  on Nov. 20 to fill the position of the…

Slight climate shifts can affect optimum water use in plant communities

Research projects plant response in ‘dry gets drier, wet gets wetter’ world Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Georgianne Moore, 979-845-3765, gwmoore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new discovery is…

Patterson fills AgriLife Extension agent position in Collingsworth County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kenny Patterson, 806-447-2313, Kenny.patterson@ag.tamu.edu WELLINGTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Kenny Patterson for the agriculture and natural resources agent position…

APT Trends report Q3 2017

Introduction Beginning in the second quarter of 2017, Kaspersky’s Global Research and Analysis Team (GReAT) began publishing summaries of the quarter’s private threat intelligence reports in an effort to make…

Texas 4-H awards grants to clubs in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey

Almost $125,000 provided for rebuilding 4-H clubs, communities Contacts: Dr. Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Sarah Hamm, 979-845-1213, sarah.hamm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas 4-H Youth…

AgriLife Extension names new Terry County agent

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu BROWNFIELD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Geoff Cooper as the agency’s new agent for agriculture…

IT threat evolution Q3 2017

Targeted attacks and malware campaigns [Re-]enter the dragon In July, we reported on the recent activities of a targeted attack group called ‘Spring Dragon’ (also known as LotusBlossom), whose activities…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for Dec. 9 in Jourdanton

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rankin, 830-569-0034, dale.rankin@ag.tamu.edu JOURDANTON — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Atascosa County, Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship and Cowboy Fellowship…

Man Accused Of Sutherland Springs Church Shooting Should Not Have Been Allowed To Buy Guns Due To A Bad Conduct Discharge

Representatives of multiple agencies involved in Sunday’s church shooting in Sutherland Springs updated reporters Monday morning. There was evidence of a domestic family situation involving the suspect and his mother-in-law,…

What’s a meal without the mealworms?

Insecta Fiesta event demonstrates how insects can add flavor, nutrition to recipes Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Attendees at the recent Insecta Fiesta event at the…

26 Killed, Around 20 Injured From Church Shooting SE of San Antonio

SUTHERLAND SPRINGS, Texas (AP) — The Latest on a shooting at a church in Texas (all times local): 6:40 p.m. President Donald Trump says the deadly church shooting in Texas…

Rouquette awarded 2017 Distinguished Alumni at Texas A&M-Kingsville

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Monte Rouquette, 903-834-6191, monte.rouquette@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Dr. Monte Rouquette Jr., Texas A&M AgriLife Research forage physiologist, was recently named as a 2017 Distinguished…

Circadian clock discovery could help boost water efficiency in food plants

Texas A&M AgriLife Illustration by Gabe Saldana Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingyi Yu, 972-952-9225, QYu@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS — A discovery by Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists in Dallas…

For the first time in Antarctic history, a team will try to restart equipment and generators that have been sitting at -67°F. It might not work. Source: Science News

Genetic discovery another tool in battle against wheat pests

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shuyu Liu, 806-677-5600, SLiu@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Greenbug and Hessian fly infestations can significantly reduce wheat yield and quality in Texas and worldwide. Breeding…

2017 4-H Teen Leadership Retreat slated for Jan. 5-7

Early bird registration from Nov. 1-Dec. 22 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cari Snider, 325-784-5482, cari.snider@ag.tamu.edu BROWNWOOD — 4-H members in grades 8-11 and adult leaders will have an…

Gaza Cybergang – updated activity in 2017:

1. Summary information The Gaza cybergang is an Arabic-language, politically-motivated cybercriminal group, operating since 2012 and actively targeting the MENA (Middle East North Africa) region. The Gaza cybergang’s attacks have…

Bexar County youth give back to community during One Day 4-H

Thousands of Texas 4-H’ers involved in hundreds of community service projects statewide Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Toby Lepley, 979-845-1211, t-lepley@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.Garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – As…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –Today, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced the appointments of Sen. Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury, Sen. Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville, Sen. Dawn Buckingham, R-Lakeway, Sen. Bob Hall, R-Canton,…

“He’s going to make a thoughtful, serious decision.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “He’s got lots of people encouraging him, but he’s a thoughtful person,” said Sylvia Nugent, spokeswoman…