‘Right-of-Way’ meeting set for Feb. 27 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Rick Auckerman, 806-364-3573, r-auckerman@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The annual “ROW” Conference for right-of-way management, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will be Feb. 27…

AgriLife Extension, others to present fishing seminar Feb. 22 in Harlingen

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tony Reisinger, 956-361-8236, Tony.Reisinger@ag.tamu.edu HARLINGEN — A free fishing seminar will be presented from 7-9 p.m. Feb. 22 at the Harlingen Community Center, 201 E.…

Producer input needed for possible sore mouth pilot project in goats

AgriLife Researcher: Severe ‘orf’ cases appear to be increasing in West Texas Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO…

Pecan grafting workshop set March 1 in Marshall

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Truman Lamb, 903-723-3735, tlamb@ag.tamu.edu MARSHALL – A tree grafting program focusing on pecans is scheduled for March 1 in Marshall. Grafting pecan trees allows…

New pesticide applicator training set March 22 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, JD.Ragland@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – A Pesticide Applicator Training, open to anyone wanting a private applicator license in the region, will…

Texas A&M University International Beef Academy to debut

Online certificate program will teach latest in beef production, industry practices Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reinaldo Cooke, 979-458-2703, reinaldocooke@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Applications for the inaugural Texas…

Raising a Successful Livestock Guardian Dog Workshop set March 15 in San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO –  A workshop on bonding and starting livestock guardian dogs is…

Rooney appointed to Texas A&M’s Borlaug-Monsanto Chair for Plant Breeding

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Bill Rooney, a Texas A&M AgriLife Research sorghum breeder in the Texas A&M department of…

Hemphill County beef conference April 24-25 to address market turning points

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The 2018 Hemphill County-Texas A&M AgriLife Beef Cattle Conference and Ag Tour set for April 24-25 will include…

Texas Sheep and Goat Expo sets performance-oriented sheep, goat sale

Producers should consider consignments now for Aug. 18 event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Plans are being made to conduct a…

Water quality training March 7 in Bryan will focus on Navasota River

Contact: Dusty Tittle, 979-823-0129, dusty.tittle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu BRYAN – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the Navasota River will be…

Texas’ auxin-specific training now valid in Oklahoma, New Mexico

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Scott Nolte, 979-845-4880, scott.nolte@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Department of Agriculture-approved auxin-specific herbicide training, developed by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and…

A&M AgriLife researchers in Dallas study Texas’ first federally endangered mussel species

From left: Dr. Kentaro Inoue, Dr. Charles Randklev and Michael Hart with the Texas hornshell, the state’s first freshwater mussel to be listed under the U.S. Endangered Species Act. (Texas…

Outcrossing between johnsongrass, sorghum studied

AgriLife Research scientists don’t want weed picking up novel crop traits Contact: Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan, 979-845-5375, muthu@tamu.edu Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Johnsongrass and sorghum might be…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for March 1 in Conroe

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Steven Johnston, 832-681-2579, steven.johnston@h-gac.com Justin Bower, 713-499-6653, justin.bower@h-gac.com Michael Heimer, 936-539-7822, michael.heimer@ag.tamu.edu CONROE–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education…

Feb. 28 AgriLife Extension webinar to address children with disabilities

Providers, parents will learn advocacy strategies Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program…

March 6 water quality training in Kaufman to focus on Cedar Creek Lake watershed

Contacts: Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu Ralph Davis, 972-932-9069, rs-davis@tamu.edu Michelle Wood-Ramirez, 817-720-4552, michelle.wood-ramirez@trwd.com KAUFMAN – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality and watershed management related to the Cedar…

Rosenthal Meat Science Center market makes special cuts for Valentine’s Day

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ray Riley, 979-845-5651, r-riley@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Nothing says “I love you” quite like a heart-shaped ribeye steak for two, said Ray Riley, Texas…

Win the war against weeds in warm-season pastures

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Weeds in warm-season pastures can be an annual battle, and producers should prepare their spray equipment to…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop set March 20 in Seguin

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistile@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu SEGUIN – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4…