Two Texas A&M ecosystem sciences research graduates earn distinguished student award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Yong Zhou, 979-587-4423, yong.zhou@yale.edu Dr. Thomas Boutton, 979-845-8027, boutton@tamu.edu Dr. Tan Zhou, 979-985-9138, tankwin0@email.tamu.edu Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Two…

Stiles Farm Field Day set for June 19 in Thrall

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Feral hog trapping, soybean performance in the Blacklands, pecan tree management and the latest farm bill information will…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 22, 2018

Corn, sorghum producers face weather, market uncertainties Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Corn and sorghum producers could be in for a…

Texas A&M, USDA research aimed at nitrite poisoning leads to methane mitigation

Student, advisers taking research from lab to marketplace Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Bill Pinchak, 940-552-9941, bpinchak@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Elizabeth Latham, 512-574-4790, bezoarlaboratories@gmail.com Dr. Robin Anderson, 979-260-9317, robin.anderson@ars.usda.gov COLLEGE…

EPA accepts Tres Palacios Creek watershed protection plan

Contact: Michael Schramm, 979- 458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu Tres Palacios. (Texas Water Resources Institute photo) COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Tres…

Texas A&M Summer Horsemanship Schools enter 46th year

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Chelsie Huseman, 979-845-5264, chelsie.huseman@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More than 100 former Texas A&M University Summer Horsemanship School instructors gathered as part of a…

Texas Sheep and Goat Expo youth component gearing up with hands-on learning

  Instructors: Skillathon competitors, young producers to benefit Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Vahlenkamp, 325-365-2219, marty.vahlenkamp@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Hands-on instruction will be the capstone for this year’s…

Elysian Fields ISD students receive Junior Master Gardener certificates

Students close out program year with Texas A&M, horticulture department tour Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Randy Seagraves, 979-845-3107, seagraves@tamu.edu Lisa Whittlesey, 979-845-8096, l-whittlesey@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A…

AgriLife Extension offers two June water programs for professionals, homeowners

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Allison Watkins, 325-659-6522, aewatkins@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County has two water programs planned…

AgriLife Extension Learn, Grow, Eat and Go! teacher training June 28 in Hallsville

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Matt Garrett, 903-935-8413, matt.garrett@ag.tamu.edu HALLSVILLE – A Learn, Grow, Eat and Go! teacher training event will be held June 28 in Hallsville.  Middle School…

Brittni Littlejohn receives 2018 Sorensen Achievement Award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Brittni Littlejohn, a Texas A&M University department of animal science graduate research assistant at the Texas A&M…

Cleere, Bracher, Winters inducted into Texas A&M agricultural economics honor registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – Kirk Cleere (’81), Paul Bracher (’78) and David Winters (’64) have been inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry…

AgriLife Research, Forage Genetics International sign multi-year agreement

Focus will be on forage sorghum improvements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A greater interest in forage sorghums from the beef…

Residents, AgriLife Extension, others work to ‘Harvey-proof’ Houston-area community

Effort leads to new Exploration Green nature park that will detain floodwater, clean runoff Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu CLEAR…

Bipartisan Budget Act changes to cotton program require producer action

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Decisions must be made for the 2018 cotton crop being planted now, according to a Texas A&M…

Vegetable Spring Field Day in Uvalde draws producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – More than 80 agricultural producers and those in agriculture-related businesses attended the recent Vegetable Spring Field Day…

AgriLife scientists uncover a new face of a famous protein, SWI2/SNF2 ATPase

Research can aid human cancer treatment, plant and animal agriculture Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Xiuren Zhang, 979-458-0596, xiuren.zhang@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A team of Texas A&M…

Resistant varieties, beneficial predators can help producers win sugarcane aphid battle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While sugarcane aphids have been difficult to suppress in past years due to their natural traits and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Bexar County employees take first steps in ‘Walk Across Texas’

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Participants in Walk Across Texas in Bexar County gather outside the Bexar County Courthouse complex. More than 130 county employees participated in the…