College Station City Council Supports New Fees For Controlled Burn Permits

Four of five College Station city council members at the last workshop meeting endorsed adding fees to developers and other property owners wanting permits to conduct outdoor controlled burns. The…

Two Texas A&M ecosystem sciences research graduates earn distinguished student award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Yong Zhou, 979-587-4423, yong.zhou@yale.edu Dr. Thomas Boutton, 979-845-8027, boutton@tamu.edu Dr. Tan Zhou, 979-985-9138, tankwin0@email.tamu.edu Dr. Sorin Popescu, 979-862-2614, s-popescu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Two…

Stiles Farm Field Day set for June 19 in Thrall

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Feral hog trapping, soybean performance in the Blacklands, pecan tree management and the latest farm bill information will…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 22, 2018

Corn, sorghum producers face weather, market uncertainties Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Corn and sorghum producers could be in for a…

Texas A&M, USDA research aimed at nitrite poisoning leads to methane mitigation

Student, advisers taking research from lab to marketplace Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Bill Pinchak, 940-552-9941, bpinchak@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Elizabeth Latham, 512-574-4790, bezoarlaboratories@gmail.com Dr. Robin Anderson, 979-260-9317, robin.anderson@ars.usda.gov COLLEGE…

EPA accepts Tres Palacios Creek watershed protection plan

Contact: Michael Schramm, 979- 458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu Tres Palacios. (Texas Water Resources Institute photo) COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Tres…

Texas A&M Summer Horsemanship Schools enter 46th year

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Chelsie Huseman, 979-845-5264, chelsie.huseman@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More than 100 former Texas A&M University Summer Horsemanship School instructors gathered as part of a…

Pedestrian Struck And Killed At University And Texas

From College Station police: On May 21, 2018, at approximately 2122 hours, officers with the College Station Police Department were dispatched to the intersection of Texas Avenue and University Drive…

College Station ISD Bus Involved In A Monday Afternoon Collision

Update from College Station police: On May 21, 2018, at approximately 1636 hours, officers with the College Station Police Department were dispatched to the intersection of Harvey Mitchell Parkway and…

Texas Sheep and Goat Expo youth component gearing up with hands-on learning

  Instructors: Skillathon competitors, young producers to benefit Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Vahlenkamp, 325-365-2219, marty.vahlenkamp@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Hands-on instruction will be the capstone for this year’s…

Elysian Fields ISD students receive Junior Master Gardener certificates

Students close out program year with Texas A&M, horticulture department tour Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Randy Seagraves, 979-845-3107, seagraves@tamu.edu Lisa Whittlesey, 979-845-8096, l-whittlesey@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A…

Students from Pacoima and San Fernando, California, will have the opportunity to talk with astronauts on the International Space Station on Tuesday, May 22, as part of NASA’s Year of…

AgriLife Extension offers two June water programs for professionals, homeowners

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Allison Watkins, 325-659-6522, aewatkins@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County has two water programs planned…

DAR recognizes students

The Come and Take It Chapter of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution recognized four student award recipients at their chapter meeting held April 14 at Covenant Presbyterian…

Brittni Littlejohn receives 2018 Sorensen Achievement Award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Brittni Littlejohn, a Texas A&M University department of animal science graduate research assistant at the Texas A&M…

Cleere, Bracher, Winters inducted into Texas A&M agricultural economics honor registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – Kirk Cleere (’81), Paul Bracher (’78) and David Winters (’64) have been inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry…

Two Drivers With Multiple Convictions Out Of Jail Following Their Latest Arrests

Nine days shy of her 18th birthday, a College Station woman spent the night in the Brazos County jail after she was caught making an illegal left turn in the…

Orbital ATK, in conjunction with NASA, has moved the launch of its ninth contracted mission to the International Space Station to no earlier than 4:39 a.m. EDT Monday, May 21,…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – The Texas economy added 39,600 seasonally adjusted nonfarm jobs in April, which marked 22 consecutive months of employment growth. Over the year, Texas added…

AgriLife Research, Forage Genetics International sign multi-year agreement

Focus will be on forage sorghum improvements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A greater interest in forage sorghums from the beef…