After historic Texas flooding, officials will likely open more floodgates on Central Texas dam

Record rainfall in Llano and Burnet counties in the Texas Hill Country caused major flooding in Marble Falls on Oct. 16, 2016. Bob Daemmrich for The Texas Tribune Across Central…

Kimura named AgriLife Extension state peanut specialist

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Emi Kimura has been named the state peanut specialist for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Dr.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced the Texas General Land Office (GLO) has approved all nine methods of distribution (MODs) proposed by…

Local plans, comments, and responses included as Amendment 1 to the State Action Plan Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush submitted Amendment 1…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 10, 2018

Cattle prices rise amid improving hay, forage conditions Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  Cattle prices have been rising following widespread rains…

Army Corps set to propose hurricane protection plan for Houston

A “coastal spine,” also called the Ike Dike, pictured here, is among several storm barrier concepts the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers may recommend for the Houston area. Graphic by…

Row crop grower education program set for Oct. 16 in Weslaco

Contacts: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, LFGregory@ag.tamu.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Lower Rio Grande Valley row crop growers have a chance to learn practical ways to maximize efficiency and productivity…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 2, 2018

Drought, late summer rains among challenges for Texas cotton growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drought and untimely late-summer rains likely…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 25, 2018

Reduced wildlife numbers expected going into hunting season Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Drought conditions throughout much of the state this summer…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

As Hurricane Florence bears down on East Coast, Texas faces flooding from Gulf Coast disturbance

A wide swath of Texas could experience flooding from a Gulf Coast disturbance this weekend. National Weather Service Hurricane Florence is smashing the East Coast with near 100-mph sustained winds…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…

Amendment 1 to the State Action Plan outlines allocations for $2.3 billion in housing recovery funds Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced posting…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for Sept. 19 in Corsicana

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Michelle Wood-Ramirez, 817-720-4552, michelle.wood-ramirez@trwd.com Page Bishop, 903-654-3075, page.bishop@ag.tamu.edu CORSICANA – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a free Texas Riparian…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 28, 2018

Texas rice farmers experiencing bumper 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Michael Orrin Way, 409-752-2741, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu            Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu BEAUMONT – Texas rice farmers are…

Texas Water Resources Institute protection plan for Lavaca River accepted by EPA

Contact: Michael Schramm, 979- 458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recently accepted the Lavaca River Watershed Protection Plan developed by the…

“We’re just trying to make sure nobody in our class feels left out, or sad, or ever thinks about Harvey.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Camper trailers and storage…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 21, 2018

Dove season success likely to depend on food, water sources Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas hunters…