Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 12, 2019

Wet conditions, low supplies could mean good year for corn growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 5, 2019

Planted cotton acres to rise slightly or remain static Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Planted cotton acres are expected to be…

Southeast Panhandle Ag Conference set Jan. 16 in Memphis

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Josh Brooks, 806-259-1621, j-brooks@tamu.eduLeonard Hayes, 806-874-2141, l-haynes@tamu.edu Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.eduKenny Patterson, 806-447-2313, Kenny.patterson@ag.tamu.edu MEMPHIS – The multi-county Southeast Panhandle Ag Conference, hosted by the…

Student web publication chronicles year in conservation research

Writer: Laura Muntean, 979-847-9211, laura.muntean@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Martina, 979-845-2114, jason.marti993@gmail.com COLLEGE STATION – The Perspectives Series, a student-centered online magazine dedicated to communicating conservation science, released its eighth annual…

Pesticide waste collection in Wharton County leads to $228,000 in savings

More than 121,800  pounds gathered at one day event Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Philip Shackelford,979-845-6807, philip.shackelford@ag.tamu.edu Corrie Bowen, 979-532-3310, cbowen@ag.tamu.edu WHARTON – With half-empty containers of pesticide…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 27, 2018

Texas peanut production acreage down 43 percent from 2017 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Fewer planted acres, summer drought and late-season rains…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 6, 2018

Statewide pecan crop looks good despite losses from rain Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – An above-average production year for pecan growers could…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 30, 2018

Texas experiences record-setting wet fall Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas weather conditions emerged from one of the hottest, driest summers…

After historic Texas flooding, officials will likely open more floodgates on Central Texas dam

Record rainfall in Llano and Burnet counties in the Texas Hill Country caused major flooding in Marble Falls on Oct. 16, 2016. Bob Daemmrich for The Texas Tribune Across Central…

Kimura named AgriLife Extension state peanut specialist

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Emi Kimura has been named the state peanut specialist for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Dr.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced the Texas General Land Office (GLO) has approved all nine methods of distribution (MODs) proposed by…

Local plans, comments, and responses included as Amendment 1 to the State Action Plan Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush submitted Amendment 1…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 10, 2018

Cattle prices rise amid improving hay, forage conditions Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  Cattle prices have been rising following widespread rains…

Army Corps set to propose hurricane protection plan for Houston

A “coastal spine,” also called the Ike Dike, pictured here, is among several storm barrier concepts the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers may recommend for the Houston area. Graphic by…

Row crop grower education program set for Oct. 16 in Weslaco

Contacts: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, LFGregory@ag.tamu.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Lower Rio Grande Valley row crop growers have a chance to learn practical ways to maximize efficiency and productivity…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 2, 2018

Drought, late summer rains among challenges for Texas cotton growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drought and untimely late-summer rains likely…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 25, 2018

Reduced wildlife numbers expected going into hunting season Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Drought conditions throughout much of the state this summer…