Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced the Texas General Land Office (GLO) has approved all nine methods of distribution (MODs) proposed by…

Local plans, comments, and responses included as Amendment 1 to the State Action Plan Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush submitted Amendment 1…

Amendment 1 to the State Action Plan outlines allocations for $2.3 billion in housing recovery funds Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced posting…

Texas Water Resources Institute protection plan for Lavaca River accepted by EPA

Contact: Michael Schramm, 979- 458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recently accepted the Lavaca River Watershed Protection Plan developed by the…

“We’re just trying to make sure nobody in our class feels left out, or sad, or ever thinks about Harvey.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Camper trailers and storage…

State Prison After Admitting To Debit Card And Credit Card Abuse

A southeast Texas man arrested by College Station police following a traffic stop a year and a half ago has admitted to altering the prepaid debit cards of 54 people…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representatives John Culberson (TX-07) and Gene Green (TX-29) sent a letter to Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Administrator Brock Long urging him to…

Conroe Woman Arrested For Biting Off Part Of Another Woman’s Nose

HOUSTON (AP) _ A woman is accused of biting off and swallowing part of another woman’s nose after being asked to leave the victim’s home in Southeast Texas. Station KTRK-TV…

Houston Urban Food Production Conference July 27

Contact: Skip Richter, 713-274-0950, rrichter@ag.tamu.edu HOUSTON –  The Houston Urban Food Production Conference, covering commercial and backyard food growing, as well as selling produce, will be held from 8 a.m.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 10, 2018

Drought conditions affecting herd stocking rates in West Texas, Panhandle Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bruce Carpenter, 432-336-8585, bb-carpenter@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600,…

Drought returns to Texas just months after Hurricane Harvey floods state

Billy Bob Brown has been farming in the Amarillo area for nearly half a century, and this is the longest dry spell he’s ever seen. The region hasn’t received measurable rainfall in more than 100 days,…

Last Summer’s Death Of A Huntsville Woman Is Ruled Accidental

HUNTSVILLE, Texas (AP) _ The death of a woman last summer after she went missing in the Sam Houston National Forest in southeast Texas has been ruled accidental. Walker County…

The Texas coastline is slowly disappearing. Here's how one community is coping.

The banana water lilies that once filled Jefferson County’s Salt Bayou marsh started dying off years ago. The aquatic plants, with their elegant white and yellow blooms, used to pepper…

Texas agricultural losses from Hurricane Harvey estimated at more than $200 million

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Parr Rosson, 979-845-2116, prosson@tamu.edu     Dr. Mark Waller, 979-845-1751, mwaller@tamu.edu     Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu     Dr. Dean McCorkle, 979-845-1861, d-mccorkle@tamu.edu    …

In wake of major floods, Texas water agency drafting statewide flood plan

For 60 years, the Texas Water Development Board has been the keeper of a master list of projects that are supposed to meet the state’s water needs for the next…

Can a web tool help coastal Texans assess their flood risk? A professor thinks so.

When Sam Brody and his wife were shopping for a new home in Houston six months ago, they had very different priorities. Brody, a researcher who analyzes ways to minimize…

City, state officials spar over funding Harvey recovery efforts at Houston meeting

HOUSTON — With mountains of debris sitting in front yards and tens of thousands of southeast Texans still in the early stages of re-establishing their lives after Hurricane Harvey’s destructive…

Neighborly love: Hay, animal supplies trucked in from all over to assist Texas Hurricane Harvey ag producers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu NOME – The outpouring of support from neighboring states has been overwhelming, said Mike Doguet, owner of Doguet’s Diamond D Ranch Turf Farm in Nome,…

Free testing for private water well owners in Hurricane Harvey flood area

Contacts: Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu John W. Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others are collaborating to offer multiple…

In post-Harvey Houston, extent of water contamination largely unknown

When Houston-based epidemiologist Winifred Hamilton spent a few days in the field last week collecting samples of the abundant floodwater Tropical Storm Harvey had left in its wake, she was…