Summer Foods Summer Meals program feeds, educates South Texas youths

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melissa De Leon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SOUTH TEXAS — An ongoing free meal program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is nourishing the bodies and minds of…

Beef cattle production seminar June 28 at Weslaco

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WESLACO – South Texas beef producers will learn more about the outlook for the cattle market outlook and adding value to marketing their livestock…

Tours immigrant detention facilities, holds roundtable discussion with local officials at Weslaco Border Patrol Station Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – (WESLACO, Texas) – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) today…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – With House passage of the Agriculture and Nutrition Act of 2018, Congressman Kevin Brady (TX-08) released the following statement: “The Tax Cuts and Jobs…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 5, 2018

Crop, cattle conditions declining around much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, curtis.adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging drought…

Tackling mosquito, tick problems in Texas

Experts convene as part of Western Gulf Center of Excellence for Vector-Borne Diseases Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Ragsdale, 979-845-2510, dragsdale@tamu.edu WESLACO – With ticks posing an…

Cleere, Bracher, Winters inducted into Texas A&M agricultural economics honor registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – Kirk Cleere (’81), Paul Bracher (’78) and David Winters (’64) have been inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 1, 2018

Lack of rain and low temperatures hinder warm-season crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – State Climatologist John Nielsen-Gammon, College Station,…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for May 19 in Mercedes

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MERCEDES — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship, or CRSNC, will present the South…

Texas Department of Transportation Promotes Awareness of Natural Gas Fueling Stations Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Senator Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo, and Representative Jason Isaac, R-Dripping Springs, today announced the first…

Program March 31 in San Antonio to address garden, landscape planting in South Texas

  Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – A program titled “Planting Tips for South Texas” will be held from noon to 2 p.m.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 20

Danger of frost has passed for much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Commercial and amateur vegetable growers are actively…

Bryan Police Arrest Four On Drug Charges From Two Incidents On Tuesday

Bryan police arrested a total of four people on drug charges in two incidents on Tuesday…one that began as a traffic stop and another that was the result of a…

Land use considerations program April 12 in Pearsall

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschatternberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rankin, 830-569-0034, Dale.Rankin@ag.tamu.edu PEARSALL – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others will present the Agriculture, Wildlife and Oil and Gas Considerations…

Two men in Texas immigration detention are undergoing treatment after being bitten by a bat

Two immigrants in a South Texas detention center suffered bat bites earlier this week, and at least one is undergoing treatment “just in case the bat was rabid,” the immigrant’s…

Ballabina appointed deputy vice chancellor for Texas A&M AgriLife

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Susan Ballabina has been appointed deputy vice chancellor for agriculture and life sciences at Texas A&M University in College Station. The…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

Healthy Texas seeking high school students statewide to become youth ambassadors

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu Julie Gardner, 979-845-1484, julie.gardner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is looking for high school youth…

Texas A&M AgriLife bids farewell to Vice Chancellor, Dean Mark A. Hussey

West campus agriculture complex, teaching gardens among AgriLife career highlights Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Mark A. Hussey is quick to credit the people of Texas…

Outcrossing between johnsongrass, sorghum studied

AgriLife Research scientists don’t want weed picking up novel crop traits Contact: Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan, 979-845-5375, muthu@tamu.edu Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Johnsongrass and sorghum might be…