Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 12, 2019

Wet conditions, low supplies could mean good year for corn growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 5, 2019

Planted cotton acres to rise slightly or remain static Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Planted cotton acres are expected to be…

GRUB Farm receives $1,000 donation from Lubbock County Master Gardeners Association

Writer: Susan Himes, 325-657-7315, Susan.Himes@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Christina Reid, 806-775-1740, Christina.Reid@ag.tamu.edu  LUBBOCK- The Lubbock County Master Gardeners Association recently donated $1,000 to the South Plains Food Bank’s Growing Recruits for Urban…

AgriLife Extension mental health awareness team recognized by agency

Contacts: Lorrie Coop, 940-459-2651, ljcoop@ag.tamu.eduDana Tarter, 940-552-9941, d-tarter@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service presented its Superior Service Award – Diversity to a group of county agents…

Southern Mesa Ag Conference set for Jan. 15 in Lamesa

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Gary Roschetzky, 806-872-3444, gary.roschetzky@ag.tamu.eduTommy Doederlein, 806-759-7030, t-doederlein@tamu.edu LAMESA – The Southern Mesa Agricultural Conference, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Dawson…

South Plains Ag Conference set Jan. 17 in Brownfield

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Geoff Cooper, 806-637-2588, Geoff.cooper@ag.tamu.eduSierra Stephens, 806-456-2263, sierra.stephens@ag.tamu.edu BROWNFIELD – The South Plains Ag Conference, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in…

West Plains Crops Conference set Jan. 11 in Levelland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Wes Utley, 806-894-3159, wes.utley@ag.tamu.eduKerry Siders, 806-638-5635, Kerry.siders@ag.tamu.edu LEVELLAND – The West Plains Crops Conference, hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Hockley,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 27, 2018

Texas peanut production acreage down 43 percent from 2017 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Fewer planted acres, summer drought and late-season rains…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

Wheat rust showing up in High Plains, but treatment not recommended

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Obasa, 806-677-5600, ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Recent and abundant rains in some areas have producers concerned about leaf rust that is appearing in…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 6, 2018

Statewide pecan crop looks good despite losses from rain Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – An above-average production year for pecan growers could…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 30, 2018

Texas experiences record-setting wet fall Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas weather conditions emerged from one of the hottest, driest summers…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 10, 2018

Cattle prices rise amid improving hay, forage conditions Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  Cattle prices have been rising following widespread rains…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 2, 2018

Drought, late summer rains among challenges for Texas cotton growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drought and untimely late-summer rains likely…

Maeda joins AgriLife Extension cotton program in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Murilo Maeda, 806-746-6101, mmaeda@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Dr. Murilo Maeda is returning to his roots when he trades the Texas coast for the South…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 25, 2018

Reduced wildlife numbers expected going into hunting season Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Drought conditions throughout much of the state this summer…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…