Preview Of The Seventh Brazos Valley Fair And A Call For Volunteers

A big portion of next week’s seventh Brazos Valley Fair is the contribution of 350 volunteers. Senior manager Fiona Meyer says opportunities are still available. Volunteers can also sell and…

As oil and gas exports surge, West Texas becomes the world’s “extraction colony”

Vehicles pass oil pumpjacks at sunrise in the Permian Basin region of West Texas. Jerod Foster for The Texas Tribune MIDLAND — Drilling booms have come and gone in this…

Texas A&M AgriLife high tunnel study expands

Team to add flower, vegetable seed production Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Many interested producers showed up to learn more about high tunnels at…

What are botnets downloading?

Spam mailshots with links to malware and bots downloading other malware are just a couple of botnet deployment scenarios. The choice of infectious payload is limited only by the imagination…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 21, 2018

Dove season success likely to depend on food, water sources Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas hunters…

AgriLife Extension sets multi-county Grazing and Nutrition Workshop in Sonora

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Grazing and Nutrition Workshop beginning at 8:30 a.m.…

IT threat evolution Q2 2018

Targeted attacks and malware campaigns Operation Parliament In April, we reported the workings of Operation Parliament, a cyber-espionage campaign aimed at high-profile legislative, executive and judicial organizations around the world…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 31, 2018

Pest numbers climbing in South Plains,Panhandle summer crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Infestations of damaging pests are increasing on corn,…

So far Democrat anxiety has been kept to a whisper, behind closed doors Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Sen. Bernie Sanders is leading a growing Leftist Political Revolt. Yes,…

Facebook leads tech slump that weighs on US stock indexes

A steep sell-off in Facebook is leading a slide in technology stocks that weighed on U.S. indexes in early trading Thursday. Investors hammered shares in the social media giant after…

Democrats Are Officially Out Of Economic Ideas Investor’s Business Daily Economics After spending a year traveling around the country on a “listening tour,” Democrats in the House recently released an “Economic…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 17, 2018

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A convergence of weather and market conditions have put a number of  Texas beef producers…

Continued drought could lead to culling herds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Beef producers should be making plans regarding their herds in case drought conditions continue, said a Texas…

S&P 500 snaps 3-day winning streak; Trade fireworks ahead?

U.S. stocks closed lower Tuesday as a swift sell-off in the final minutes of trading wiped out earlier gains and snapped a three-day winning streak for the market. Source: Business…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Agriculture workshop, farm tour slated June 29-30 in the San Antonio area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862.1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agency’s Texas AgrAbility program will…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 5, 2018

Crop, cattle conditions declining around much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, curtis.adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging drought…

Bayer selling $9B in ag business ahead of Monsanto merger

WASHINGTON (AP) — German pharmaceutical giant Bayer AG has agreed to the U.S. government’s demand that it sell about $9 billion in agriculture businesses as the condition for acquiring Monsanto…

Trial on tap in Giants, Eli Manning memorabilia lawsuit

HACKENSACK, N.J. (AP) — Jury selection is scheduled to begin on Monday in a New Jersey memorabilia dealer’s lawsuit that accuses New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning of conspiring with…

Walking robot maker prepares to unleash its dog-like machine

BERKELEY, Calif. (AP) — A robotics company known for its widely shared videos of nimble, legged robots opening doors or walking through rough terrain is preparing to sell some after…