Makes good on first ever GOP Caucus endorsement in open seat with strong support from Lt. Governor, et al . . . Flores is the first Hispanic Republican Senator and his…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – The Hispanic Republicans of Texas (HRT) PAC congratulates Pete Flores on winning the Texas Senate District 19 Special Election Runoff. “Pete Flores has proven…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop Sept. 27 in Bryan

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – The Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host…

TWRI to hold Sept. 25 meeting on improving water quality on Cibolo Creek

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Patricia Carvajal, 210-302-3672, pmcarvajal@sara-tx.org Cibolo Creek. (Texas Water Resources Institute photo) LA VERNIA – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, is hosting…

As Hurricane Florence bears down on East Coast, Texas faces flooding from Gulf Coast disturbance

A wide swath of Texas could experience flooding from a Gulf Coast disturbance this weekend. National Weather Service Hurricane Florence is smashing the East Coast with near 100-mph sustained winds…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…

Bexar County Sheriff Asks For Money To Hire A Staff Psychologist After 18 Deputies Are Fired

SAN ANTONIO (AP) _ A Texas sheriff who’s seen 18 deputies arrested this year on various charges says a staff psychologist will be hired to better screen applicants. Bexar (bayr)…

Report: Texas criteria for polluted site cleanup 'significantly weaker' than neighboring states

The San Jacinto River Waste Pits, an EPA Superfund site that is contaminated with dioxins, is located off Interstate 10 east of Houston. Michael Stravato The criteria Texas uses to…

Texas Master Gardeners converge in San Antonio for advanced training

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – About 50 Master Gardeners from 27 counties throughout Texas recently came to…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for Sept. 19 in Corsicana

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Michelle Wood-Ramirez, 817-720-4552, michelle.wood-ramirez@trwd.com Page Bishop, 903-654-3075, page.bishop@ag.tamu.edu CORSICANA – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a free Texas Riparian…

Average Time To A Texas A&M System Degree Is Going Down

Students at Texas A&M system universities are taking less time to complete their degrees. Board of regents member Elaine Mendoza of San Antonio presented a report at their last meeting…

We’ve entered the home stretch of what is sometimes referred to in Austin as “The Interim.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — It’s been just a little over a year since…

AgriLife Extension to provide private applicator training Sept. 6 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present the Private Applicator Pesticide Training program Sept. 6 at…

Texas Keeps Landing New Businesses & Expanding Facilities By Steve Stackhouse-Kaelble Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Economic development incentives are, of course, central to a lot of big deals —…

No place back home: A year after Harvey, Rockport can't house all its displaced residents

The Texas General Land Office awarded $1.5 million to help rebuild the ruined Oak Harbor apartments, one of the town’s few affordable housing options. Shelby Knowles for The Texas Tri…

Trump unveils major rollback of Obama's Clean Power Plan

The Big Brown power plant in Fairfield, Texas Robert W. Hart The Trump administration on Tuesday unveiled a plan that will drastically curtail an Obama-era regulation that would’ve required states…

Rainwater harvesting, turf management training Sept. 20-21 in Boerne, San Antonio

Contacts: John W Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-3041, bgrubbs@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Reagan Hejl, 979-845-5252, Reagan.hejl@tamu.edu Lee Marlowe, 210-302-3624, lmarlow@sara-tx.org SAN ANTONIO – Texas A&M AgriLife…

Private water well screening set for Sept. 18 in San Antonio

Contact: John Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas Well Owner Network is hosting a water well screening Sept. 18 in San Antonio to give area residents the opportunity…

For Juntos 4-H ‘Day in the Life’ contest winner, the sky’s the limit

Trip to Florida, Kennedy Space Center tour part of reward for first-place essay Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — David Tierranegra, winner…

Applauds decision to re-impose U.S. sanctions on Iran Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – (SAN ANTONIO, Texas) – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) today issued the following statement applauding the…