Experts: Cotton farmers may face increased bollworm pressure this season

  Basic integrated pest management may save crops when new technologies fail Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. David Kerns, 318-439-4844, dlkerns@tamu.edu Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ct-allen@tamu.edu                   …

AgriLife Extension’s Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference May 3-4 sets tour of historic ranches

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Attendees to  the upcoming Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference May 3-4 in San Angelo are in…

AgriLife Extension to conduct seed cotton program sign-up workshops in May

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a number of seed cotton program sign-up Workshops…

Dallas Urban Quail Appreciation Day May 18

Texas A&M Natural Resources Institute associate Amanda Gobeli with Kirby Quail (AgriLife Illustration by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Amanda Gobeli, 720-333-6224, amanda.gobeli@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576,…

It’s wheat tour time in West Central Texas

Multi-county events set May 3 in Millersview, May 4 in Taylor, Callahan, Jones counties Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Karl Winge, 325-854-5835, karl.winge@ag.tamu.edu MILLERSVIEW –…

Hill Country event to address land stewardship April 26-27 in Kerrville

Conference topics include tax valuations, fencing laws, hunting leases, among others Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – Landowners may understand stocking rates and…

Quail Habitat Field Day set May 4 at quail research ranch near Roby

Writer: Steve  Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu ROBY – The Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch near Roby will feature a new twist for its May 4 field…

AgriLife Extension’s Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference May 3-4 in San Angelo

Water conservation, livestock watering options to be discussed Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO — The Texas Water Development Board reports San Angelo’s average…

Agriculture under secretary Northey to speak at beef conference April 24 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – U.S. Under Secretary for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Service Bill Northey will be the keynote speaker April 24…

Private Pesticide Applicator Training April 20 in San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6522, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County is partnering with Angelo State University’s…

Expert: Misplaced metal scrapie ear tags could pose risk to sheep shearer, sheep

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – A switch from plastic to metal ear tags could spell trouble for sheep shearers…

Spring Forage and Hair Sheep Program set for May 11 in Marlin

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shane McLellan, 254-757-5180, shane.mclellan@ag.tamu.edu MARLIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in McLennan County will be hosting a Spring Forage and…

April 5 webinar to highlight drought management lessons

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Pete Flores, 361-362-9201, Pete.Flores@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Lessons Learned in Preparing for Drought Management will be the topic of the April 5 natural resources…

AgriLife Extension sets Lower Rolling Plains Ag Conference for April 4 in Snyder

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Greg Gruben, 325-573-5423, g-gruben@tamu.edu SNYDER – The Lower Rolling Plains Ag Conference is scheduled from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. April 4 in the Scurry…

New AgriLife Extension range website, “How Grasses Grow,” now available

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, Morgan.Russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – “How Grasses Grow,” a new website resource for ranchers, land managers and landowners, is now…

AgriLife Extension offers publications for wildfire preparation, safety

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Tim Steffens, 806-651-2781, tsteffens@wtamu.edu Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Preparing for wildfire response ahead of time is one of the most…

Hemphill County beef conference April 24-25 to address drought, environmental conditions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – As a cattle rancher, knowing when and what resources are available on the land is the key to…

Master Gardener plant sale set for April 7 in San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Allison Watkins, 325-659-6528, aewatkins@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Concho Valley Master Gardeners’ annual plant sale is scheduled from 8 a.m.-noon, April 7 at…

Upton County Ag Day set for March 29 in Rankin

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Raymond Quigg, 432-693-2313, r-quigg@tamu.edu RANKIN – The Upton County Ag Day conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set for March…

AgriLife Extension sets Reagan County Ag Day on March 27 in Big Lake

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Chase McPhaul, 325-884-2335, pcmcphaul@ag.tamu.edu BIG LAKE – Wind development, agricultural law news and the latest in range herbicides are three of the topics…