Farm Tour, agriculture program slated Oct. 19-20 in San Angelo area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service helps current and former military service members with information and…

Producer participation requested in AgriLife Extension predator survey

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-657-7306, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The 2018 Predator Survey by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will paint a more accurate picture…

Crispy, convenient taquitos (Slurpee not included)

I knew and loved taquitos long before I tried one from 7-Eleven, where they rotate along with the hot dogs (and plenty of grease) on that roller grill. At the…

Brush management topic of Sept. 18 meeting in Post

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tarlton Holloway, 806-495-4400, tarlton.holloway@ag.tamu.edu POST – Producers from the Central Texas and South Plains area can hear the latest information on brush management at…

Ag law workshop set for Oct. 3 in Big Spring

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu BIG SPRING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Howard, Martin, Midland and Andrews counties and Ag Workers Insurance…

Steve Byrns retires after 36 years with AgriLife Extension communications

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Steve Byrns, who brought real-life experiences as a livestock producer in West Texas to his job as a communications specialist with the…

Results in from 2017-18 AgriLife Angora goat test

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SONORA – Results are in and tabulated from the recently completed Texas A&M AgriLife 2017-2018 Angora Goat Performance Test.…

AgriLife Extension sets Rancher Roundtable: Partners in Prescribed Burning Sept. 12-13 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Morgan Treadwell, 325-450-7025, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Rancher Roundtable: Partners in Prescribed Burning on…

AgriLife Extension sets Concho Valley Wild Pig Management Workshop Sept. 12 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Concho Valley Wild Pig Management Workshop on Sept.…

Consignments grow for AgriLife Texas Sheep and Goat Performance Sale event in San Angelo

Sale immediately follows Texas Sheep and Goat Expo on Aug. 18 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Plans are finalized and consignment numbers are up…

AgriLife Extension sets multi-county Grazing and Nutrition Workshop in Sonora

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Grazing and Nutrition Workshop beginning at 8:30 a.m.…

Well owner training slated for Aug. 22 in San Angelo

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO — A Texas Well Owner Network training has been scheduled for Aug. 22 in San Angelo. The Texas Well Owner Network, or…

AgriLife Extension sets Landscaping in Drought seminar series in August

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Allison Watkins, 325-659-6528, aewatkins@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct Landscaping in Drought, a three-part seminar series for homeowners,…

AgriLife Extension announces West Texas personnel changes

County agents named for Llano, Nolan, San Saba counties Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has announced…

Texas Sheep and Goat Expo to offer internal parasite mitigation strategies

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – New developments in sheep and goat internal parasite mitigation should be a major draw at this…

AgriLife Extension sets more West Texas seed cotton program sign-up workshops

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct more seed cotton program sign-up workshops in August to inform producers…

Big Country Wheat Conference slated for Aug. 23 in Abilene

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, http://jones.agrilife.org ABILENE – A mix of topical but varied presentations geared toward wheat economics best describes the upcoming Big Country Wheat…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 24

Record high temperatures around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most areas of the state have set or tied high…

45th Annual Sheep and Goat Field Day, Texas Sheep and Goat Expo set for Aug. 17-18

Texas A&M AgriLife agencies set ‘doubleheader’ programs in San Angelo Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Robert Pritz, 325-653-4576, r-pritz@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu     SAN ANGELO…

Agricultural economists recommend ‘SPA’ for cattle producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Rob Hogan, 830-278-9151. ext. 270, RHogan@ag.tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, bill.thompson@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – The Standardized Performance Analysis, or SPA, program is an indispensable tool…