Winter Livestock Forage Program set for Dec. 13 in Coleman

Contact: Michael Palmer, 325-625-4519, m-palmer@tamu.edu COLEMAN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Winter Livestock Forage Program is set for Dec. 13 in the Tillman Room of the Coleman Library…

Noland new agronomist at Texas A&M AgriLife San Angelo center

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Dr. Reagan Noland has joined the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at San Angelo as AgriLife Extension agronomist specializing…

Angora goat test program to begin with Dec. 4 delivery

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife will soon be conducting an Angora goat test at the Texas A&M…

Sheep shearing, wool and mohair schools set for Jan. 12-14 in San Angelo

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host multiple comprehensive wool education schools at the…

Tom Green County team takes first place in National 4-H Food Challenge

Contacts: Dr. Morgan Treadwell, 325-653-4576, morgan.treadwell@ag.tamu.edu Courtney Redman, 325-659-6527, cjbarbee@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – A team from Tom Green County won the National 4-H Food Challenge held recently at the State…

Sheep, goat conference set Nov. 14 in Lamesa

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Gary Roschetzky, 806-872-3444, gary.roschetzky@ag.tamu.edu LAMESA – A Sheep and Goat Production Conference hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Dawson County will…

Farm tour, veteran agriculture program slated Oct. 19-20 in San Angelo area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas AgrAbility Program and Battleground to Breaking Ground Project of the Texas…

Trash to Treasure event Oct. 20 in San Angelo

Contact: Allison Watkins, 325-659-6528, aewatkins@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO  — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Tom Green County will host it’s Trash to Treasure event from 9 a.m. to…

Congressman Mike Conaway This collection of legislation included H.R. 6760, the Protecting Family and Small Businesses Tax Cuts Act, H.R. 6757, the Family Savings Act, and H.R. 6756, the American…

Farm Tour, agriculture program slated Oct. 19-20 in San Angelo area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service helps current and former military service members with information and…

Producer participation requested in AgriLife Extension predator survey

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-657-7306, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The 2018 Predator Survey by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will paint a more accurate picture…

Crispy, convenient taquitos (Slurpee not included)

I knew and loved taquitos long before I tried one from 7-Eleven, where they rotate along with the hot dogs (and plenty of grease) on that roller grill. At the…

Brush management topic of Sept. 18 meeting in Post

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tarlton Holloway, 806-495-4400, tarlton.holloway@ag.tamu.edu POST – Producers from the Central Texas and South Plains area can hear the latest information on brush management at…

Ag law workshop set for Oct. 3 in Big Spring

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu BIG SPRING – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Howard, Martin, Midland and Andrews counties and Ag Workers Insurance…

Steve Byrns retires after 36 years with AgriLife Extension communications

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Steve Byrns, who brought real-life experiences as a livestock producer in West Texas to his job as a communications specialist with the…

Results in from 2017-18 AgriLife Angora goat test

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SONORA – Results are in and tabulated from the recently completed Texas A&M AgriLife 2017-2018 Angora Goat Performance Test.…

AgriLife Extension sets Rancher Roundtable: Partners in Prescribed Burning Sept. 12-13 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Morgan Treadwell, 325-450-7025, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Rancher Roundtable: Partners in Prescribed Burning on…

AgriLife Extension sets Concho Valley Wild Pig Management Workshop Sept. 12 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Concho Valley Wild Pig Management Workshop on Sept.…

Consignments grow for AgriLife Texas Sheep and Goat Performance Sale event in San Angelo

Sale immediately follows Texas Sheep and Goat Expo on Aug. 18 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Plans are finalized and consignment numbers are up…

AgriLife Extension sets multi-county Grazing and Nutrition Workshop in Sonora

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the multi-county Grazing and Nutrition Workshop beginning at 8:30 a.m.…