AgriLife Extension sets second round of West Texas seed cotton program sign-up workshops

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a second round of seed cotton program sign-up workshops in the…

AgriLife Extension sets range, brush program in Brownwood July 12

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Alexander, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Brown County Range and Brush Program on July 12…

AgriLife Extension makes two county appointment announcements

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has announced two personnel appointments — a transfer and a new…

Stiles Farm Field Day set for June 19 in Thrall

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Feral hog trapping, soybean performance in the Blacklands, pecan tree management and the latest farm bill information will…

Texas Sheep and Goat Expo youth component gearing up with hands-on learning

  Instructors: Skillathon competitors, young producers to benefit Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Vahlenkamp, 325-365-2219, marty.vahlenkamp@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Hands-on instruction will be the capstone for this year’s…

AgriLife Extension offers two June water programs for professionals, homeowners

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Allison Watkins, 325-659-6522, aewatkins@ag.tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County has two water programs planned…

Cleere, Bracher, Winters inducted into Texas A&M agricultural economics honor registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu    COLLEGE STATION – Kirk Cleere (’81), Paul Bracher (’78) and David Winters (’64) have been inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor Registry…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Goat Production and Marketing Workshop set for May 10 in Weslaco

Contact: Dr. Felipe Peguero, 225-288-8761, felipe.pegeuro@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Prairie View A&M University Cooperative Extension are hosting a goat production workshop May 10 in…

Cancelled: AgriLife Extension’s Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference set May 3-4 in San Angelo  

Editor’s note: The following educational program has been cancelled: Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference set May 3-4 in…

Experts: Cotton farmers may face increased bollworm pressure this season

  Basic integrated pest management may save crops when new technologies fail Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. David Kerns, 318-439-4844, dlkerns@tamu.edu Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ct-allen@tamu.edu                   …

AgriLife Extension’s Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference May 3-4 sets tour of historic ranches

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Attendees to  the upcoming Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference May 3-4 in San Angelo are in…

AgriLife Extension to conduct seed cotton program sign-up workshops in May

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a number of seed cotton program sign-up Workshops…

Dallas Urban Quail Appreciation Day May 18

Texas A&M Natural Resources Institute associate Amanda Gobeli with Kirby Quail (AgriLife Illustration by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Amanda Gobeli, 720-333-6224, amanda.gobeli@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576,…

It’s wheat tour time in West Central Texas

Multi-county events set May 3 in Millersview, May 4 in Taylor, Callahan, Jones counties Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Karl Winge, 325-854-5835, karl.winge@ag.tamu.edu MILLERSVIEW –…

Hill Country event to address land stewardship April 26-27 in Kerrville

Conference topics include tax valuations, fencing laws, hunting leases, among others Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu KERRVILLE – Landowners may understand stocking rates and…

Quail Habitat Field Day set May 4 at quail research ranch near Roby

Writer: Steve  Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu ROBY – The Rolling Plains Quail Research Ranch near Roby will feature a new twist for its May 4 field…

AgriLife Extension’s Bennett Trust Land Stewardship Conference May 3-4 in San Angelo

Water conservation, livestock watering options to be discussed Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6523, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO — The Texas Water Development Board reports San Angelo’s average…

Agriculture under secretary Northey to speak at beef conference April 24 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – U.S. Under Secretary for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Service Bill Northey will be the keynote speaker April 24…

Private Pesticide Applicator Training April 20 in San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6522, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County is partnering with Angelo State University’s…