Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

Double-cropping, longer-term cover crops options in Rolling Plains wheat systems

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pbdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Double cropping may be another consideration for producers who have used cover crops in wheat systems within…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 28, 2018

Texas rice farmers experiencing bumper 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Michael Orrin Way, 409-752-2741, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu            Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu BEAUMONT – Texas rice farmers are…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 21, 2018

Dove season success likely to depend on food, water sources Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas hunters…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 14, 2018

Uncertainty surrounds exports affecting Texas producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Ribera, 979-845-3070, lribera@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ongoing negotiations regarding the North American Free Trade Agreement and…

Rolling Plains soil health, conservation field tour set Aug. 29 near Vernon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pbdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – The Rolling Plains field tour, Practices to Improve Soil Health…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…

Rolling Plains Sheep and Goat University set Aug. 9 in Seymour

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Josh Kouns, 940-889-5581, josh.Kouns@ag.tamu.edu SEYMOUR – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host the second annual Rolling Plains Sheep and Goat University Aug.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 31, 2018

Pest numbers climbing in South Plains,Panhandle summer crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Infestations of damaging pests are increasing on corn,…

Big Country Wheat Conference slated for Aug. 23 in Abilene

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, http://jones.agrilife.org ABILENE – A mix of topical but varied presentations geared toward wheat economics best describes the upcoming Big Country Wheat…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 24

Record high temperatures around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most areas of the state have set or tied high…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 17, 2018

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A convergence of weather and market conditions have put a number of  Texas beef producers…

Dryland cotton suffering while irrigated cotton looks good

Lack of moisture causes some producers to replant Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.eduDr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Much like producers’ fields across the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 10, 2018

Bollworm emergence causing problems in cotton Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton producers who planted Bt pest-resistant varieties in some parts…

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set July 31 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Oklahoma – Parts of Texas and Oklahoma are suffering under drought conditions, said a…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 3, 2018

Texas facing long, hot summer Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions continue to persist in much of the state as…

Texas Crop and Weather Report

Consumers should find good prices, options for Fourth of July grilling Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu      Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Guar producer uses Texas A&M AgriLife support to prompt revisions in NRCS guidelines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.Adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – When a Texas Rolling Plains guar producer found himself to be potentially out…