There are Enhanced Border Security opportunities already available By Dennis E. Nixon Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The border still faces a substantial illegal immigration problem with individuals coming to the U.S.…

Row crop grower education program set for Oct. 16 in Weslaco

Contacts: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, LFGregory@ag.tamu.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Lower Rio Grande Valley row crop growers have a chance to learn practical ways to maximize efficiency and productivity…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 2, 2018

Drought, late summer rains among challenges for Texas cotton growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drought and untimely late-summer rains likely…

Clean Up the Rio Grande & Give Border Patrol Access, Visibility By Dennis E. Nixon Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The border still faces illegal immigration with individuals coming to…

Texas A&M AgriLife high tunnel study expands

Team to add flower, vegetable seed production Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Many interested producers showed up to learn more about high tunnels at…

Texas Master Gardeners converge in San Antonio for advanced training

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – About 50 Master Gardeners from 27 counties throughout Texas recently came to…

Turfgrass expert clips last blades of grass for research purposes

Dr. Richard White retires from Texas A&M Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Richard White intends to sit back and let the grass grow under his feet…

Dozens of groups ask Trump administration for more time to comment on border wall

More than three dozen environmental, faith-based and immigrant rights groups are urging the federal government to extend the public-comment period for construction of the border wall, arguing that the U.S. Department…

State lawmaker to Trump: Don't overlook Mexican water treaty

The Rio Grande at the New Mexico-Texas border on Monday, December 9, 2013 in El Paso. Ivan Pierre Aguirre A top Texas lawmaker is asking President Donald Trump to renegotiate…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Congressman Henry Cuellar (TX-28) released the following statement regarding the Mexican Presidency election results: “Congratulations to Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador on winning the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 3, 2018

Texas facing long, hot summer Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions continue to persist in much of the state as…

Texas-New Mexico water fight could be impacted by SCOTUS ruling

A U.S. Supreme Court decision on Wednesday in a water fight between Florida and Georgia could have implications for a similar legal battle between Texas and New Mexico over the Rio…

In years-long fight over proposed South Texas landfill, flood risks now take center stage

In the seven years developer Carlos “C.Y.” Benavides III has been seeking approval to build a landfill outside Laredo, he’s faced roadblock after roadblock: Family disputes. Accusations of environmental racism. …

Texas Crop and Weather Report

Consumers should find good prices, options for Fourth of July grilling Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu      Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 30, 2018

Texas citrus growers produce bumper crop for 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO – Texas citrus growers produced a bumper 2017-2018 crop, and…

Tackling mosquito, tick problems in Texas

Experts convene as part of Western Gulf Center of Excellence for Vector-Borne Diseases Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Ragsdale, 979-845-2510, dragsdale@tamu.edu WESLACO – With ticks posing an…

Volunteers needed to help lay flags at each grave Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  Land Commissioner and Veterans Land Board Commissioner George P. Bush is encouraging Texans across the…

College Station ISD Bus Involved In A Monday Afternoon Collision

Update from College Station police: On May 21, 2018, at approximately 1636 hours, officers with the College Station Police Department were dispatched to the intersection of Harvey Mitchell Parkway and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…