Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 30, 2018

Texas citrus growers produce bumper crop for 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO – Texas citrus growers produced a bumper 2017-2018 crop, and…

Tackling mosquito, tick problems in Texas

Experts convene as part of Western Gulf Center of Excellence for Vector-Borne Diseases Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Ragsdale, 979-845-2510, dragsdale@tamu.edu WESLACO – With ticks posing an…

Volunteers needed to help lay flags at each grave Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  Land Commissioner and Veterans Land Board Commissioner George P. Bush is encouraging Texans across the…

College Station ISD Bus Involved In A Monday Afternoon Collision

Update from College Station police: On May 21, 2018, at approximately 1636 hours, officers with the College Station Police Department were dispatched to the intersection of Harvey Mitchell Parkway and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Federal agents peered into a duffel bag on the Mexico border. They found a tiger cub.

The three men crossed the U.S. southern border into Texas with a black duffel bag, on an apparent mission to deliver their lucrative product to the United States. But they…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

After years of living alongside troops, border residents see little impact from Trump's deployment so far

HIDALGO, Texas – Ron and Janella Frankl Reicks had just finished an early steak dinner when they stepped outside of their home here and chuckled about snow falling back in their native Iowa while they enjoyed…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for May 19 in Mercedes

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MERCEDES — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship, or CRSNC, will present the South…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 27, 2018

Most planted sorghum fields in good shape, unplanted areas dealing with drought Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Sorghum fields have…

How Donald Trump's border wall fared in the $1.3 trillion spending bill he just signed

After flirting with the prospect of vetoing an omnibus spending bill because it fell short of funding for his proposed border wall, President Donald Trump on Friday eventually gave the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 20

Danger of frost has passed for much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Commercial and amateur vegetable growers are actively…

Two men in Texas immigration detention are undergoing treatment after being bitten by a bat

Two immigrants in a South Texas detention center suffered bat bites earlier this week, and at least one is undergoing treatment “just in case the bat was rabid,” the immigrant’s…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

Federal government may fight alongside Texas in water dispute, U.S. Supreme Court rules

Editor’s note: This story has been updated with a statement from Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton. In the fight against New Mexico over the critical Rio Grande water supply, Texas…

College Station Utilities Keeps The Water Flowing Following A Water Main Break

A water main break in College Station Wednesday afternoon closed the intersection of Rock Prairie and Rio Grande for two hours. Jennifer Nations at College Station Utilities says valves were…

Criminal Aliens, Illegal Re-Entrants & Immigration Fugitives Targeted Texas Insider Report: SAN ANTONIO, Texas — Deportation officers with U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement’s (ICE) and its division of Enforcement & Removal Operations…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 27, 2018

Recent rains help planting conditions, but drought persists in some areas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan,  gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Recent rainfall has set up much…