A&M AgriLife researchers in Dallas study Texas’ first federally endangered mussel species

From left: Dr. Kentaro Inoue, Dr. Charles Randklev and Michael Hart with the Texas hornshell, the state’s first freshwater mussel to be listed under the U.S. Endangered Species Act. (Texas…

Addressing the Starr County Voter Fraud Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Attorney General Ken Paxton (right,) announced earlier today that his office sent a letter to State Senator Bryan…

Texas Supreme Court hears oral arguments in plastic bag ban case

Plastic bag bans in Texas are hanging in the balance following oral arguments in a state Supreme Court case Thursday morning. In the case Laredo Merchants Association v. The City…

Institute asking for input on Lower Rio Grande Valley water conservation

Producers, water district personnel requested to participate in survey     Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas…

AgriLife Extension posts cotton variety trial results in East, South, Central Texas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-2425, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The 2017 Replicated Agronomic Cotton Evaluation or RACE trial results from South, East and Central Texas…

After Harvey, some South Texans more wary than ever about plan to build landfill near floodplain

Nearly four months ago, Hurricane Harvey’s rainfall inundated ultra-polluted Superfund sites in and around Houston, triggering the leak of hazardous waste. Now, 300 miles south near Laredo, a company’s efforts to develop…

Giesenschlag, LaMantia, Hogan inducted into A&M Ag Economics Ty Timm Honor Registry

Media contacts: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Merritt Weeks, 979-862-8362, mjweeks@tamu.edu                                  COLLEGE STATION – John Giesenschlag, Steve LaMantia, and Kenneth Hogan were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor…

Updated Arroyo Colorado watershed protection plan accepted by EPA

Contacts: Jaime Flores, 956-968-5581, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu Tim Cawthon, 512-239-0845, tim.cawthon@tceq.texas.gov Jude A. Benavides, 956-882-5938, jude.benavides@utrgv.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Update…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 24, 2017

Deer season expected to provide good opportunities for hunters Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Tomecek, 325-657-7311, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The general hunting season for white-tailed deer opens…

Water rights seminar to address who gets dwindling reserves

Contact: Dr. Guy Fipps, 979-845-7454, g-fipps@tamu.edu McALLEN – A powerhouse speaker’s panel highlights the 2017 Seminar on Water Rights and Public Policy – The Waters of the Rio Grande to…

20th annual Rio Grande Valley beef development program coming soon

Deadline approaching for Bull Gain Test and Heifer Development Program Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, b-cowan@tamu.edu EDINBURG – The 20th Annual Rio Grande Valley Beef Improvement…

New citrus planting method stops bugs, yields additional benefits

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Olufemi Alabi, 956-968-5581, olufemi.alabi@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mamoudou Sétamou, 956-447-3370, mamoudou.setamou@tamuk.edu WESLACO — A planting design that outwitted a weevil in Texas citrus groves has…

AgriLife Extension EFNEP summer program feeds children’s bodies, minds

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Oscar Zamora, 956-399-4015, Oscar.Zamora@ag.tamu.edu Melissa DeLeon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SAN BENITO/EDINBURG – This summer, low-income and underserved children in the Lower Rio Grande Valley received a…

Miller retires after 38 years with AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Travis Miller, tmiller@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With crops in the ground 365 days a year in more than 150 counties in Texas, Dr.…

Here's what you need to know about Hurricane Harvey

As Hurricane Harvey barrels toward the Texas coast, Texans are bracing for extreme flooding and potential damage to their communities. Harvey is currently a Category 1 hurricane, with winds around…

Anti-wall activists march to protect church in Rio Grande Valley

It’s supposed to be God, not government, that decides when a Catholic church that’s been welcoming parishioners since 1899 should burn its last candle. But as the sun’s light slowly…

Texas Extension Specialists Association presents awards

‘Outstanding Friend,’ agents, scholarship recipients recognized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Extension Specialists Association recognized Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents and associates for outstanding…

Texas Extension Specialists Association presents awards

‘Outstanding Friend,’ agents, scholarship recipients recognized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Extension Specialists Association recognized Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents and associates for outstanding…

Man of the Year recipients named during recent AgriLife Extension agent fete

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu ODESSA – The Texas County Agricultural Agents Association recognized seven individuals with “Man of the Year” awards during a…

Watermelon trial provides useful information for Texas producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service melon trials at the San Antonio…