Giesenschlag, LaMantia, Hogan inducted into A&M Ag Economics Ty Timm Honor Registry

Media contacts: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Merritt Weeks, 979-862-8362, mjweeks@tamu.edu                                  COLLEGE STATION – John Giesenschlag, Steve LaMantia, and Kenneth Hogan were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor…

Updated Arroyo Colorado watershed protection plan accepted by EPA

Contacts: Jaime Flores, 956-968-5581, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu Tim Cawthon, 512-239-0845, tim.cawthon@tceq.texas.gov Jude A. Benavides, 956-882-5938, jude.benavides@utrgv.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Update…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 24, 2017

Deer season expected to provide good opportunities for hunters Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Tomecek, 325-657-7311, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The general hunting season for white-tailed deer opens…

Water rights seminar to address who gets dwindling reserves

Contact: Dr. Guy Fipps, 979-845-7454, g-fipps@tamu.edu McALLEN – A powerhouse speaker’s panel highlights the 2017 Seminar on Water Rights and Public Policy – The Waters of the Rio Grande to…

20th annual Rio Grande Valley beef development program coming soon

Deadline approaching for Bull Gain Test and Heifer Development Program Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, b-cowan@tamu.edu EDINBURG – The 20th Annual Rio Grande Valley Beef Improvement…

New citrus planting method stops bugs, yields additional benefits

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Olufemi Alabi, 956-968-5581, olufemi.alabi@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mamoudou Sétamou, 956-447-3370, mamoudou.setamou@tamuk.edu WESLACO — A planting design that outwitted a weevil in Texas citrus groves has…

AgriLife Extension EFNEP summer program feeds children’s bodies, minds

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Oscar Zamora, 956-399-4015, Oscar.Zamora@ag.tamu.edu Melissa DeLeon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SAN BENITO/EDINBURG – This summer, low-income and underserved children in the Lower Rio Grande Valley received a…

Miller retires after 38 years with AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Travis Miller, tmiller@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With crops in the ground 365 days a year in more than 150 counties in Texas, Dr.…

Here's what you need to know about Hurricane Harvey

As Hurricane Harvey barrels toward the Texas coast, Texans are bracing for extreme flooding and potential damage to their communities. Harvey is currently a Category 1 hurricane, with winds around…

Anti-wall activists march to protect church in Rio Grande Valley

It’s supposed to be God, not government, that decides when a Catholic church that’s been welcoming parishioners since 1899 should burn its last candle. But as the sun’s light slowly…

Texas Extension Specialists Association presents awards

‘Outstanding Friend,’ agents, scholarship recipients recognized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Extension Specialists Association recognized Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents and associates for outstanding…

Man of the Year recipients named during recent AgriLife Extension agent fete

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Tommy Yeater, 432-264-2236, t-yeater@tamu.edu ODESSA – The Texas County Agricultural Agents Association recognized seven individuals with “Man of the Year” awards during a…

Watermelon trial provides useful information for Texas producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service melon trials at the San Antonio…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 13

Texas watermelon crop looks good and on schedule for Fourth of July Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Despite typical troubles for individual…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 23

Moisture levels a concern for some cotton producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, seth.byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Josh McGinty, 361-265-9203, jmcginty@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas cotton is…

New sugarcane aphid early warning system debuts

  AgriLife Extension effort monitors pests’ seasonal movement Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-651-4824, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Allen Knutson, 972-952-9222, Allen.Knutson@ag.tamu.edu                DALLAS – A minuscule pest few Texas farmers had ever heard…

Lower Rio Grande Valley group to examine season’s climate projections

  Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Catherine Simpson, 956-973-3002, Catherine.Simpson@tamuk.edu WESLACO — Water, weather and the climate outlook will be on the agenda for a one-day workshop…

Potato psyllid survey team aids producer treatment decisions in Texas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Adult potato psyllids are testing positive in the Rio Grande Valley and Pearsall. That’s all potato growers need…

Citrus grower education program slated for May 9 in Mission

Program will focus on practical aspects of new water conservation technologies Contacts: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, LFGregory@ag.tamu.edu Shad Nelson, 361-593-3712, shad.nelson@tamuk.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MISSION – An educational program for…

Fewer than 12,500 people were caught at the southern border in March, lowest monthly figure in 17+ years NewsMax.com Just five people were eating dinner on a recent weeknight at…