Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 30, 2018

Texas citrus growers produce bumper crop for 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO – Texas citrus growers produced a bumper 2017-2018 crop, and…

Tackling mosquito, tick problems in Texas

Experts convene as part of Western Gulf Center of Excellence for Vector-Borne Diseases Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Ragsdale, 979-845-2510, dragsdale@tamu.edu WESLACO – With ticks posing an…

Volunteers needed to help lay flags at each grave Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  Land Commissioner and Veterans Land Board Commissioner George P. Bush is encouraging Texans across the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Federal agents peered into a duffel bag on the Mexico border. They found a tiger cub.

The three men crossed the U.S. southern border into Texas with a black duffel bag, on an apparent mission to deliver their lucrative product to the United States. But they…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

After years of living alongside troops, border residents see little impact from Trump's deployment so far

HIDALGO, Texas – Ron and Janella Frankl Reicks had just finished an early steak dinner when they stepped outside of their home here and chuckled about snow falling back in their native Iowa while they enjoyed…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for May 19 in Mercedes

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MERCEDES — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship, or CRSNC, will present the South…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 27, 2018

Most planted sorghum fields in good shape, unplanted areas dealing with drought Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Sorghum fields have…

How Donald Trump's border wall fared in the $1.3 trillion spending bill he just signed

After flirting with the prospect of vetoing an omnibus spending bill because it fell short of funding for his proposed border wall, President Donald Trump on Friday eventually gave the…

Criminal Aliens, Illegal Re-Entrants & Immigration Fugitives Targeted Texas Insider Report: SAN ANTONIO, Texas — Deportation officers with U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement’s (ICE) and its division of Enforcement & Removal Operations…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 27, 2018

Recent rains help planting conditions, but drought persists in some areas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan,  gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Recent rainfall has set up much…

Vegetable grower education program March 6 in Mission

Practical aspects of new water conservation technologies to be highlighted                                       Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, LFGregory@ag.tamu.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MISSION – An education program for Rio Grande Valley vegetable…

Addressing the Starr County Voter Fraud Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Attorney General Ken Paxton (right,) announced earlier today that his office sent a letter to State Senator Bryan…

Institute asking for input on Lower Rio Grande Valley water conservation

Producers, water district personnel requested to participate in survey     Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas…

AgriLife Extension posts cotton variety trial results in East, South, Central Texas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-2425, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The 2017 Replicated Agronomic Cotton Evaluation or RACE trial results from South, East and Central Texas…

Giesenschlag, LaMantia, Hogan inducted into A&M Ag Economics Ty Timm Honor Registry

Media contacts: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Merritt Weeks, 979-862-8362, mjweeks@tamu.edu                                  COLLEGE STATION – John Giesenschlag, Steve LaMantia, and Kenneth Hogan were recently inducted into the Tyrus R. Timm Honor…

Updated Arroyo Colorado watershed protection plan accepted by EPA

Contacts: Jaime Flores, 956-968-5581, jjflores@ag.tamu.edu Tim Cawthon, 512-239-0845, tim.cawthon@tceq.texas.gov Jude A. Benavides, 956-882-5938, jude.benavides@utrgv.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Update…