AgriLife Extension 2019 alternative crop replanting guide now available online

Writer: Susan Himes, 325-657-7315, Susan.Himes@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-723-8432, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Maeda Murilo, 806-746-6101, Murilo.Maeda@ag.tamu.edu Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service cotton specialist Dr. Murilo Maeda discusses cotton crop damage…

Texas A&M corn breeder looking to build a better bourbon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Beth Luedeker, 979-458-4044, baluedeker@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Seth Murray, 979-845-3041, sethmurray@tamu.edu Rob Arnold, rob@frdistiliing.com Texas A&M’s corn breeding program is researching the affect corn varieties and…

North Plains water district, AgriLife Extension promote cotton education

Video series to highlight northern Panhandle best management practices Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Julia Stanford, 806-935-6401, jstanford@northplainsgcd.org A series of cotton and conservation…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 4, 2019

Fruit season looks above average for producers UVALDE – Harvest has been peachy so far for fruit producers this season, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Conditions…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 21, 2019

Carryover hay supplies tight with 2019 season off to slow start COLLEGE STATION – Texas’ carryover hay supplies are low, and production is off to a slow start due to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 14, 2019

Rainfall amounts double statewide average since April 1 A corn field stands in water following rains. (Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service photo by Adam Russell) COLLEGE STATION – April showers…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 7, 2019

Texas corn off to good start COLLEGE STATION – The majority of planted Texas corn acres have emerged amid good soil moisture profiles to start the growing season, said a…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 30, 2019

Sorghum acres expected to decrease despite excellent growing conditions COLLEGE STATION – Sorghum acres are expected to decrease amid excellent growing conditions because of an ongoing trade dispute, said a…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 16, 2019

Egg prices lower than last year, but could see seasonal spike COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see a seasonal spike in egg prices as demand increases for baking and dying…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 9, 2019

Texas wheat acres looking good for grazing, grain, forage COLLEGE STATION – Texas wheat fields look good, but the next few months will determine yield outcomes, according to Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 2, 2019

Texas fruit crop looks good following freeze COLLEGE STATION – Texas fruit crops appear set for a good year, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service expert. Peach trees…

Multi-County Beef Conference set April 17 in Dumas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Marcel Fischbacher, 806-935-2594, mhfischbacher@ag.tamu.edu Mike Bragg, 806-244-4434, mhbragg@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Spiva, 806-267-2692, amanda.spiva@ag.tamu.edu Megan Eikner, 806-373-0713, megan.eikner@ag.tamu.edu New calves and mother cows gather around the…

Texas House passes funding to cover budget shortfalls

Armed with his abacus, Texas House Appropriations Chairman John Zerwas, R-Richmond, talks with Rep. Drew Springer, R-Muenster, as they prepare to discuss the House’s 2020-21 budget plan. Emree Weaver /…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — March 26, 2019

Texas A&M AgriLife horticulturist Patrick Dickinson offers landscape tips for spring. (Texas A&M agriLife photo by Gabe Saldana) Horticulturist: Plan before planting for best results Contact: Patrick Dickinson, 972-952-9673, Patrick.Dickinson@ag.tamu.edu…

Texas Master Naturalist intern training to begin April 6 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Megan Eikner, 806-373-0713, megan.eikner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Anyone interested in spending time outdoors and helping manage natural resources and natural areas can sign up for…

Peace of Mind Conference set May 21 in Amarillo

Mental, behavioral health awareness on the agenda Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu Shree Veeramachaneni, 806-350-5277, shree@panhandlebehavioralhealthalliance.org AMARILLO — A “Peace of Mind” Conference will…

Fortified ‘high tunnel’ growing structures withstand ‘bomb cyclone’ winds

AgriLife Research offers tips via fact sheet, videos Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu Six high tunnels have been constructed as a part of the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — March 19, 2019

As beef cattle numbers rise, cull cow prices drop Even though beef cattle numbers have been increasing steadily, prices for cull cows have tumbled, reaching their lowest amount since 2009. (Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service photo)…

Northeast Panhandle Cotton Conference set April 2 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, sstrawn@ag.tamu.edu   PERRYTON – The Northeast Panhandle Cotton Conference will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service April 2 at…

Cotton acreage continues climb in northern Texas Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, DLJones@ag.tamu.edu Cotton strippers and white fields of cotton have significantly increased across the northern Panhandle. (Texas…