Beef cattle workshop set Jan. 8-9 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will host a Beef Cattle Marketing Workshop…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 27, 2018

Texas peanut production acreage down 43 percent from 2017 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Fewer planted acres, summer drought and late-season rains…

AgriLife Extension expert: Treating internal parasites in cattle herds protects producer profits

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Following recommendations to treat the threat of internal parasites in cattle herds is a proactive way to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

AgriLife Extension extends Path to the Plate program to youth

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Carolyn Prill-Bennett, 806-935-2594, Carolyn.prill@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – More than 700 Moore County youth and adults were the first in the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

Wheat rust showing up in High Plains, but treatment not recommended

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Obasa, 806-677-5600, ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Recent and abundant rains in some areas have producers concerned about leaf rust that is appearing in…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 6, 2018

Statewide pecan crop looks good despite losses from rain Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – An above-average production year for pecan growers could…

Estate planning seminar set for Nov. 5 in Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jody Bradford, 806-537-3882, jody.bradford@ag.tamu.edu PANHANDLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension office in Carson County will host an Estate Planning Workshop on Nov. 5.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 30, 2018

Texas experiences record-setting wet fall Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas weather conditions emerged from one of the hottest, driest summers…

AgriLife Extension training to kick-off Amarillo Farm and Ranch Show Nov. 27

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-376-0051, d-nusser@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a day of training during the Amarillo Farm and Ranch…

Kimura named AgriLife Extension state peanut specialist

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Emi Kimura has been named the state peanut specialist for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Dr.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 10, 2018

Cattle prices rise amid improving hay, forage conditions Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  Cattle prices have been rising following widespread rains…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 2, 2018

Drought, late summer rains among challenges for Texas cotton growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drought and untimely late-summer rains likely…

AgriLife Extension to present grazing lease meeting Oct. 8 in Claude

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Derek Williamson, 806-226-3021, mikeal.williamson@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – Producers from throughout the Texas Panhandle are invited to a Grazing Lease Meeting Oct. 8 in Claude hosted by…

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension agents claim national food safety award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – A group of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents from the Panhandle received the Food Safety…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 25, 2018

Reduced wildlife numbers expected going into hunting season Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Drought conditions throughout much of the state this summer…

Not just animal feed: Sorghum packs nutritious punch for people

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact; Lizabeth Gresham, 806-373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “How many of y’all eat sorghum?” Lizabeth Gresham, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in Potter County, discusses the…

Olson, Jarvis inducted into Ag Economics Honor Registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Mark Olson (’71) and Britt Jarvis (’85) are the newest inductees into the Texas A&M University Department of Agricultural Economics Tyrus…