Kimura named AgriLife Extension state peanut specialist

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Emi Kimura has been named the state peanut specialist for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Dr.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 10, 2018

Cattle prices rise amid improving hay, forage conditions Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  Cattle prices have been rising following widespread rains…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 2, 2018

Drought, late summer rains among challenges for Texas cotton growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drought and untimely late-summer rains likely…

AgriLife Extension to present grazing lease meeting Oct. 8 in Claude

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Derek Williamson, 806-226-3021, mikeal.williamson@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – Producers from throughout the Texas Panhandle are invited to a Grazing Lease Meeting Oct. 8 in Claude hosted by…

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension agents claim national food safety award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – A group of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents from the Panhandle received the Food Safety…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 25, 2018

Reduced wildlife numbers expected going into hunting season Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Drought conditions throughout much of the state this summer…

Not just animal feed: Sorghum packs nutritious punch for people

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact; Lizabeth Gresham, 806-373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “How many of y’all eat sorghum?” Lizabeth Gresham, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in Potter County, discusses the…

Olson, Jarvis inducted into Ag Economics Honor Registry

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Mark Olson (’71) and Britt Jarvis (’85) are the newest inductees into the Texas A&M University Department of Agricultural Economics Tyrus…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

AgriLife Extension to host Western Anadarko Oil & Gas Conference Oct. 2 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Western Anadarko Basin Oil & Gas Conference will be held Oct. 2 in the…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…

Texas A&M AgriLife high tunnel study expands

Team to add flower, vegetable seed production Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Many interested producers showed up to learn more about high tunnels at…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

McCollum retires from AgriLife Extension livestock specialist position

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ted.mccollum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Ted McCollum, who came to Texas A&M in 1995 and built what many describe as a “dynamic”…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 28, 2018

Texas rice farmers experiencing bumper 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Michael Orrin Way, 409-752-2741, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu            Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu BEAUMONT – Texas rice farmers are…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 21, 2018

Dove season success likely to depend on food, water sources Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas hunters…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 14, 2018

Uncertainty surrounds exports affecting Texas producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Ribera, 979-845-3070, lribera@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ongoing negotiations regarding the North American Free Trade Agreement and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…

New Texas A&M vice chancellor continues statewide tour of AgriLife facilities

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Texas A&M’s new vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences Dr. Patrick Stover continued his statewide tour at the Texas A&M…