Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 17, 2018

Hay producers should hold fertilizer application until temperatures rise Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Warm-season grasses are breaking dormancy but not actively growing…

AgriLife Extension offers new agricultural leasing fact sheet

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas landowners have a new tool when it comes to determining agricultural leasing rates. Tiffany Dowell Lashmet,…

Feedyard greenhouse gas study analyzes emissions, mitigation factors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Casey, 806-677-5600, kdcasey@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A week spent in a feedyard pen is helping researchers gain a better understanding of greenhouse gas…

AgriLife Extension director to head International Extension Outreach at Borlaug Institute

Dr. Doug Steele (Texas A&M AgriLife photo) Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Doug Steele, 979-845-7967, douglas.steele@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Doug Steele, who has served as director of…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 10, 2018

Drought conditions affecting herd stocking rates in West Texas, Panhandle Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bruce Carpenter, 432-336-8585, bb-carpenter@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 3, 2018

Adequate chill hours setting fruit crops nicely Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Adequate chill hours and good spring conditions have peach and…

Eikner fills AgriLife Extension agriculture position in Potter County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Megan Eikner, 806-373-0713, megan.eikner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Megan Eikner has been hired as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 27, 2018

Most planted sorghum fields in good shape, unplanted areas dealing with drought Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Sorghum fields have…

Feedyards advised to begin pen surface cleaning now due to dry weather

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu AMARILLO – A Texas A&M AgriLife researcher is advising feedyard managers to begin their spring manure harvesting or dust…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 20

Danger of frost has passed for much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Commercial and amateur vegetable growers are actively…

AgriLife Extension offers publications for wildfire preparation, safety

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Tim Steffens, 806-651-2781, tsteffens@wtamu.edu Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Preparing for wildfire response ahead of time is one of the most…

Grain-grading workshops set for May 1, May 2 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Two grain-grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service — one May 1 and one May…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 13, 2018

Good domestic, export demands for beef continue Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Continued good export and domestic demands for beef has…

Texas Republicans reject hypocrisy, wasted resources & dishonest mailers    Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “I think the Republican Party has gone too knee-jerk right in Texas. There are a…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

Expert: ‘Find’ more water through landscaping techniques

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daniel Cunningham, 972-952-9223, daniel.cunningham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Drought is a given, and water from traditional sources will be limited in the future, but homeowners and…

Challenger Leal takes harder line to rein in Property Taxes than Seliger Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The Midland County Republican Women’s Club had the chance to meet Senate District…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 27, 2018

Recent rains help planting conditions, but drought persists in some areas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan,  gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Recent rainfall has set up much…

Texas A&M AgriLife bids farewell to Vice Chancellor, Dean Mark A. Hussey

West campus agriculture complex, teaching gardens among AgriLife career highlights Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Mark A. Hussey is quick to credit the people of Texas…

AgriLife Extension cotton trial results released for High Plains, Rolling Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, Seth.Byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Just in time for cotton…