Northeast Panhandle Grain Sorghum Conference set Feb. 26 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, sstrawn@ag.tamu.edu PERRYTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Ochiltree, Hansford and Lipscomb counties will host the Northeast Panhandle Grain…

61st V.G. Young School for County Commissioners Courts Feb. 19-21 in College Station

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – More than 400 county commissioners and judges have registered for the 61st annual V.G. Young School for County Government, which runs…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 12, 2019

Wet conditions, low supplies could mean good year for corn growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 5, 2019

Planted cotton acres to rise slightly or remain static Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Planted cotton acres are expected to be…

Six-part horticultural education series set for February, March in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Erin Jones-Gray, 806-468-5543, erin.jones@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Randall County will host a six-session horticultural educational series focusing on Water…

Xue honored as Texas A&M Regents Fellow

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu At center, Dr. Qingwu Xue, Texas A&M AgriLife Research crop stress physiologist in Amarillo, was honored with the Texas A&M…

Ledbetter takes home two honors from Texas A&M AgriLife Conference

Writer: Laura Muntean, 979-847-9211, laura.muntean@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Kay Ledbetter, communications specialist with Texas A&M AgriLife Research based in Amarillo, was recognized with two prestigious Texas…

Benavidez tapped to fill AgriLife Extension economist position in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Justin Benavidez, 806-677-5600, benavidezjustin@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Dr. Justin Benavidez to serve as the new economic…

Texas Panhandle Vegetable Production Research Team earns AgriLife honors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Kevin Crosby, Jimmy Gray, Kay Ledbetter and Dr. Charlie Rush represent the team getting the Texas A&M AgriLife…

AgriLife Extension mental health awareness team recognized by agency

Contacts: Lorrie Coop, 940-459-2651, ljcoop@ag.tamu.eduDana Tarter, 940-552-9941, d-tarter@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service presented its Superior Service Award – Diversity to a group of county agents…

Northwest Panhandle Cotton Conference set for Jan. 23 in Dalhart

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Mike Bragg, 806-244-4434, mhbragg@ag.tamu.edu Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu DALHART – The multi-county Northwest Panhandle Cotton Conference will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Panhandle Livestock Professionals address livestock industry needs

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Sarah Capik, 806-677-5600, sarah.capik@ag.tamu.eduDr. Jessie Monday, 806-353-7478, jessie.monday@tvmdl.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Improvements in collaboration are being made in the Texas Panhandle livestock industry through a…

Southeast Panhandle Ag Conference set Jan. 16 in Memphis

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Josh Brooks, 806-259-1621, j-brooks@tamu.eduLeonard Hayes, 806-874-2141, l-haynes@tamu.edu Mason Carter, 806-823-2522, mason.carter@ag.tamu.eduKenny Patterson, 806-447-2313, Kenny.patterson@ag.tamu.edu MEMPHIS – The multi-county Southeast Panhandle Ag Conference, hosted by the…

Beef cattle workshop set Jan. 8-9 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Randall County will host a Beef Cattle Marketing Workshop…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 27, 2018

Texas peanut production acreage down 43 percent from 2017 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Fewer planted acres, summer drought and late-season rains…

AgriLife Extension expert: Treating internal parasites in cattle herds protects producer profits

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Following recommendations to treat the threat of internal parasites in cattle herds is a proactive way to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

AgriLife Extension extends Path to the Plate program to youth

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Carolyn Prill-Bennett, 806-935-2594, Carolyn.prill@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – More than 700 Moore County youth and adults were the first in the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

Wheat rust showing up in High Plains, but treatment not recommended

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Obasa, 806-677-5600, ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Recent and abundant rains in some areas have producers concerned about leaf rust that is appearing in…