Region 16 STEM teachers tour AgriLife Research farm

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, bauvermann@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife Research hosted a group of about 20 science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Farm bill discussions set for High Plains cotton producers June 19-20, July 12

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host another round of cotton meetings in the High Plains June…

Water well trainings, screenings set for July in the Panhandle

Contacts: Drew Gholson, 979.845.1461, dgholson@tamu.edu John W. Smith, 979.845.2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Diane Boellstorff, 979.458.3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu The Texas Well Owner Network will present its Well Informed and Well Educated programs in the…

Community Resource Expo set June 14 in Booker

Others planned in the Panhandle through November Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is partnering with Panhandle…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 5, 2018

Crop, cattle conditions declining around much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, curtis.adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging drought…

Vogel hired to support AgriLife Extension vet sciences certificate program

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tyler Vogel, 806-677-5600, tyler.vogel@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Tyler Vogel hopes to help youth pursue their passion for veterinary sciences as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 30, 2018

Texas citrus growers produce bumper crop for 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO – Texas citrus growers produced a bumper 2017-2018 crop, and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 22, 2018

Corn, sorghum producers face weather, market uncertainties Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Corn and sorghum producers could be in for a…

As cities sprawl, more Texans are exposed to tornadoes

Mark Fox cringes every time he relives the day his worst weather nightmare came true. April 3, 2012 was a hot and humid day in North Texas, and the unstable…

Resistant varieties, beneficial predators can help producers win sugarcane aphid battle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While sugarcane aphids have been difficult to suppress in past years due to their natural traits and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

AgriLife Extension expert: Grow tomatoes all season long

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Timing and variety choice can help tomato aficionados avoid production gaps during the dog days of summer,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

‘Managing in Tough Times’ program offered May 15-16 in Wheeler

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Cunningham, 806-826-5243, thomas.cunningham@ag.tamu.edu WHEELER – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will bring “Ranching 2018: Managing in Tough Times” to the Ag and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 1, 2018

Lack of rain and low temperatures hinder warm-season crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – State Climatologist John Nielsen-Gammon, College Station,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

New AgriLife Extension specialist hired to expand health programs in the Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Miquela Smith, 806-677-5600, miquela.smith@ag.tamu.edu Rusty Hohlt, 979-458-7553, rrhohlt@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Regional support for chronic disease prevention education is expanding into the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 17, 2018

Hay producers should hold fertilizer application until temperatures rise Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Warm-season grasses are breaking dormancy but not actively growing…

AgriLife Extension offers new agricultural leasing fact sheet

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas landowners have a new tool when it comes to determining agricultural leasing rates. Tiffany Dowell Lashmet,…