Guadalupe County Master Gardener class open for registration

Instruction will be Tuesdays, Aug. 8-Dec. 5 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kay McElveen, 479-790-2933, hkaymcelveen@gmail.com SEGUIN – Guadalupe County residents interested in learning more about gardening and sharing…

AgriLife Extension brings Worksite Wellness program to High Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is taking its wellness programs to work sites across the High…

Private water well screenings set for San Jacinto, Liberty, Chambers counties

Contact: John Smith, 979-845-2761, jwsmith@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network will present water well screenings in July and August in San Jacinto, Liberty and Chambers counties to…

New Traffic Advisories

From the city of Bryan: Beginning Monday, July 17, 2017, drivers will experience daily lane closures at the Boonville Road (FM 158) and University Drive intersection to accommodate utility work…

Stocker cattle, wheat conference set for Aug. 1 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Oklahoma – With low wheat prices, stocker cattle options for farmers and…

Wildfire recovery meetings set Aug. 3 in northeastern Texas Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Almost five months after wildfires ripped across much of the northeastern Texas Panhandle, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Agricultural leases to be covered by AgriLife Extension in four workshops

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – After such a positive response last year, four new Rancher Leasing Workshops covering grazing, hunting and livestock…

AgriLife Extension sets range program in Coleman July 27

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Palmer, 325-625-4519, m-palmer@tamu.edu COLEMAN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Coleman County Range, Pasture Herbicide Update and Prescribed…

Judge Denies Tommy Wallis Contempt Motion Against Bryan ISD

Former Bryan school district superintendent Tommy Wallis has lost his attempt to hold the district in civil contempt of court for not protecting documents critical of his job performance. Wallis…

Pond, aquatic vegetation management program slated for July 21 in Round Rock

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-845-7471, todd.sink@tamu.edu ROUND ROCK – A Pond and Aquatic Vegetation Management program will be presented by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

AgriLife Extension sets White-tailed Deer Summit Aug. 3 in Abilene

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Cunningham, 325-672-6048,  Thomas.Cunningham@ag.tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Taylor County will conduct the White-tailed Deer Summit Aug. 3…

Death Of A Texas A&M Fraternity Student Last December Was Ruled Accidental

Last December’s death of a Texas A&M fraternity member has been ruled accidental. Brazos County sheriff Chris Kirk says Matthew Hayes of Beaumont took several drugs after returning home not…

Landscape design programs set for July 25 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Liz Moore, 806-468-5543, liz.moore@ag.tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Randall County will continue its Summer Horticulture Series July 25 with tips…

Recapping Seven Local Arrests

A resident of a College Station apartment on Marion Pugh told police she accidentally left her front door unlocked. That’s how a stranger walked inside Thursday morning and took her…

Water well owner training set for July 26 in Fredericksburg

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training July 26 in Fredericksburg. The training is…

Local Law Enforcement Joining Governor’s Observance Of Fallen Officers

Local law enforcement agencies are joining Governor Abbott’s observance of fallen officers Friday morning, on the one year anniversary of an attack in Dallas. The public is invited at 10…

Bureau Of Labor Statistics Releases Annual B/CS Wage Study

Each summer, the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) office in Dallas releases average hourly wages in 22 occupations in the twin cities from the prior year. There was a…

Blinn College Trustees Approve Expanding Footprint On The RELLIS Campus

Blinn College’s board of trustees have approved the administration’s request to negotiate an agreement with the Texas A&M system to share another new building at the RELLIS campus. The 40,000…

Walk Across Texas helps Texans make strides toward better health

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu Michael Lopez, 979-845-6631, mllopez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – While the Walk Across Texas program activities continue throughout the state, some groups…

Arrest For Impeding Brazos County Death Investigation

Photo of Matthew Brown from https://jailsearch.brazoscountytx.gov/JailSearch/default.aspx A Bryan area man who was the subject of a search inside a College Station motel last month has been found in the Dallas…