Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Agricultural tour, workshop for military veterans, others in Williamson County

Farm tour Nov. 30 in Thrall; workshop Dec. 1 in Georgetown Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu        Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913,     Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — Texas…

North Korea's stable exchange rates confound economists

PYONGYANG, North Korea (AP) — It’s a question that nags at North Korea economy watchers: How has the country been able to maintain stable exchange rates — and avert hyper-inflation…

AgriLife Extension extends Path to the Plate program to youth

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Carolyn Prill-Bennett, 806-935-2594, Carolyn.prill@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – More than 700 Moore County youth and adults were the first in the…

Black Friday alert

Banking Trojans traditionally target users of online financial services; looking for financial data to steal or building botnets out of hacked devices for future attacks. However, over time, several of…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

Texas Enterprise Fund attracts more than $853 million in new investments, 16,500+ new jobs across Texas Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “Texas is a leader in the establishment of…

Drilling overwhelms agency protecting America’s lands

A flare burns on May 24, 2018 atop a drill pad on land near Carlsbad, N.M., that Wayne Smith leased for ranching before his death in October. The development covered…

Sheep shearing, wool and mohair schools set for Jan. 12-14 in San Angelo

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host multiple comprehensive wool education schools at the…

IT threat evolution Q3 2018

Targeted attacks and malware campaigns Lazarus targets cryptocurrency exchange Lazarus is a well-established threat actor that has conducted cyber-espionage and cybersabotage campaigns since at least 2009. In recent years, the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 6, 2018

Statewide pecan crop looks good despite losses from rain Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – An above-average production year for pecan growers could…

We’re living with too many bad decisions that the folks who’re involved have forced upon us By Dennis E. Nixon Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — If you ask any of…

“I didn’t vote for him for his character. I voted for him for his positions.”Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — “President Trump wants to protect this country. And he wants…

Cattle Trails Cow/Calf Conference set Dec. 6 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.eduMarty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – The Cattle Trails Cow/Calf Conference will find itself on the Texas side of the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 30, 2018

Texas experiences record-setting wet fall Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas weather conditions emerged from one of the hottest, driest summers…

Texas A&M leads $5.7 million research project to attack annual bluegrass

Troublesome weed affecting athletic fields, turf farms Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan, 979-845-5375, muthu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The most widely grown irrigated crop in the U.S. – turfgrass…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Governor Greg Abbott today announced that OKIN BPS, a.s. is opening its new U.S. headquarters in San Antonio, Texas. The new headquarters in San…

AgriLife Extension-led study aims to boost Texas strawberry production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Russ Wallace, 806-746-6101, rwwallace@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A group of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service collaborators are determined to increase the number of Texas-grown strawberries…

Study examines potential loss of U.S. dairy export market to China

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Ribera, 979-45-3070, lribera@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The U.S. dairy industry would suffer a significant blow on a number of products resulting from…

AgriLife Extension pilots High Plains multi-county positions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.eduDr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is piloting positions for two multi-county agronomy agents and…