Ground-penetrating radar could help producers dig potatoes early

Water savings, premium markets could be realized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dirk Hays, 979-458-0032, dbhays@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ground-penetrating radar might help the potato industry save water,…

Road Rage On Highway 21 West Of Bryan

Authorities are looking for a motorcyclist accused of striking a woman’s car twice early Tuesday evening along Highway 21 near the RELLIS campus west of Bryan. Brazos County sheriff’s chief…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 18

Forage pests active in improved pastures Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Forage producers should be on the watch for and ready to…

Riot At Killeen’s Mall

KILLEEN, Texas (AP) _ Police have arrested eight people on riot charges after a weekend fight at a Central Texas mall. A Killeen police statement says four adults and four…

Stocker cattle, wheat conference set for Aug. 1 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Oklahoma – With low wheat prices, stocker cattle options for farmers and…

Wildfire recovery meetings set Aug. 3 in northeastern Texas Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Almost five months after wildfires ripped across much of the northeastern Texas Panhandle, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Texas A&M AgriLife celebrates 50 years in Overton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Long, 903-834-6191, charles.long@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Overton celebrated its 50th year of research, innovation…

Bryan Police & Fire Present Citizen Lifesaving Awards

This week’s Bryan city council meeting opened with the presentation of three citizen awards by the police and fire departments. Officer Kelley McKethan said on the morning of May 14th,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 11

Bollworms mount attack on some Texas cotton, grain sorghum Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Insect damage to crops is ramping up…

New potato varieties to be highlighted at July 13 field day near Springlake

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Creighton Miller, 979-219-3388, jcmiller@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – The annual Potato Field Day in the High Plains featuring the Texas A&M University AgriLife Potato Breeding…

The climate connection between the north and the midlatitudes might mean shorter growing seasons, frozen plants, and less water to go around. Source: Science News

UNT Press offers wide range of Texas titles

The University of North Texas Press, founded 30 years ago, has published more than 300 titles and continues to turn out quality general interest and scholarly books on Texas history…

Let’s take a closer look at the video North Korea released to determine that missile’s acceleration. Source: Science News

Recapping Seven Local Arrests

A resident of a College Station apartment on Marion Pugh told police she accidentally left her front door unlocked. That’s how a stranger walked inside Thursday morning and took her…

Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp provides youth with leadership skills

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Shawnte Clawson, 806-677-5600, sfclawson@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – About 90 youth from the Panhandle and South Plains districts attended the annual Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp June…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 6

Hail damage across High Plains being evaluated Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Waves of hail storms across…

Premier ram sale will wrap up AgriLife’s Texas Sheep and Goat Expo Aug. 18-19 in San Angelo

  New event will offer top performance-tested registered Rambouillet, Katahdin rams Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu    SAN ANGELO – The Texas Sheep and…

Grazing to improve soil health, producer profits

Texas A&M AgriLife researcher leads effort to find optimum management strategies Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Richard Teague, 940-552-9941, Richard.Teague@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Richard Teague might be considered…

Gainesville, Clarksville Beef Quality Assurance Training programs scheduled in July

By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Two Beef Quality Assurance Training events will be in North and Northeast Texas during July. The training…

With bank sanctions and arms sales, US hardens line on China

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Trump administration hardened its approach to China on Thursday, blacklisting a small Chinese bank over dealings with North Korea while approving more than a billion dollars…