Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day set Oct. 12 near Noodle

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, saestes@ag.tamu.edu            NOODLE – The Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day is set for 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Oct. 12…

Asian shares fall on North Korea sanctions, China rate cut

HONG KONG (AP) — Most Asian stock markets fell Friday as investors turned cautious following new U.S. sanctions targeting North Korea and a China credit rating downgrade. Source: Business –…

US beefs up NKorea sanctions, Kim Jong Un insults Trump,

NEW YORK (AP) — President Donald Trump added economic action to his fiery military threats against North Korea on Thursday, authorizing stiffer new sanctions in response to the Koreans’ nuclear…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 19, 2017

Sugarcane aphids not a major problem for prepared Texas sorghum producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu; Danielle Sekula, 956-878-8317, danielle.sekula@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most sorghum…

By Ken Blackwell Commendably, the Trump administration is set to initiate a new Iran policy, which will be announced in October. Such change is imperative. The flawed nuclear agreement in…

By Rachel Alexander Since the left and complicit journalists in the mainstream media cannot defeat President Donald Trump on the issues or legitimate grounds such as dishonesty, they have resorted…

Researchers stumped by plants with multiple chromosomes set January meeting to collaborate

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. David Byrne, 979-845-9500, dbyrne@tamu.edu               COLLEGE STATION — Some of the world’s most beloved plants — coffee, bananas, potatoes, chrysanthemums and…

Asia shares fall after North Korea's latest missile launch

HONG KONG (AP) — Asian stocks were mostly lower Friday after North Korea fired off another missile over Japan, ratcheting up geopolitical tensions and denting investor sentiment. Source: Business –…

Houston's 'flood czar' says Harvey has brought the city to a decision point on flood control

When we caught up with Houston’s newly-appointed “flood czar” last year, he told us he had no money and no staff. That’s still largely the case, Stephen Costello told us in…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set Oct. 3 in Robstown

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x 110, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Rocky Freund, 361-653-2110, rfreund@nueces-ra.org Jason Ott, 361-767-5217, jason.ott@ag.tamu.edu ROBSTOWN–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set Oct. 3 in Robstown

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x 110, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Rocky Freund, 361-653-2110, rfreund@nueces-ra.org Jason Ott, 361-767-5217, jason.ott@ag.tamu.edu ROBSTOWN–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a…

Texas A&M agricultural economics tailgate and AgriLife Extension program set Sept. 30

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steven Klose, 979-458-180, sklose@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ag Policy, International Trade Outlook and Student Study Abroad Experiences is the theme for the Sept.…

“We love locking arms with our fellow Texans to make big things happen.” By Weston Martinez Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — It wasn’t easy for Texas to win the intense…

Asian stocks rise after North Korea refrains from launch

HONG KONG (AP) — Asian stocks rose strongly Monday after Hurricane Irma weakened and North Korea marked a weekend holiday with celebrations but refrained from launching more missiles, giving investors…

Winter time beef cattle supplemental feeding program set for Sept. 19 in Olney

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Justin Rogers, 940-549-0737, Justin.Rogers@ag.tamu.edu OLNEY – A winter time beef cattle supplemental feeding program has been planned for Sept. 19 at the HDH Ranch…

Trump wants Democratic support for tax pitch

MANDAN, N.D. (AP) — President Donald Trump made an overt pitch for Democrats to support his tax overhaul plan, singling out a North Dakota Democratic senator whose vote would be…

AP FACT CHECK: Trump on taxes

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Donald Trump headed to North Dakota to discuss his tax overhaul plans Wednesday, but not all of his speech lined up with the facts about the…

Asia shares mixed, markets weigh US debt deal, Korea tension

HONG KONG (AP) — Asian stocks were mixed Thursday as investor relief over a deal on the U.S. borrowing limits was offset by uncertainty over the departure of a senior…

Round of NAFTA talks ends amid resistance over Mexico wages

MEXICO CITY (AP) — The second round of talks on renegotiating the North American Free Trade Agreement ended Tuesday amid resistance to discussing Mexico’s low wages and large differences over…

Intercropping boosts vegetable production

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu            Dr. Jose Franco, 701-667-3008, jose.franco@ars.usda.gov COLLEGE STATION – The old ways could be the best ways when it…