AgriLife to offer wool and mohair workshops in January at San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife will conduct two separate educational programs aimed at both the novice…

Two Sexual Assault Victims Agree With Punishment In One Brazos County Plea And Conviction

Photo of Bill Vehrs III from https://jailsearch.brazoscountytx.gov/JailSearch/default.aspx There’s a plea agreement in one of two sexual assault cases filed in Brazos County involving a man from north of San Antonio.…

Kaspersky Lab – Beyond Black Friday Threat Report, November 2017

Introduction The festive holiday shopping season, which covers Thanksgiving, Black Friday and Cyber Monday in late November as well as Christmas in December, now accounts for a significant share of…

AgriLife Extension sets four-county South Plains Simply Christmas Lunch and Learn series

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-341-4884, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu LITTLEFIELD – Simply Christmas Lunch and Learn is a holiday-themed series to be conducted by the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2017

Prices on wholesale holiday turkeys, hams at five-year low Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Texas 4-H awards grants to clubs in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey

Almost $125,000 provided for rebuilding 4-H clubs, communities Contacts: Dr. Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Sarah Hamm, 979-845-1213, sarah.hamm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas 4-H Youth…

Sunday Night Armed Robbery North of Northgate

From Bryan police: On November 12, 2017 at approximately 10:00 p.m., Officers from the Bryan Police Department responded to the Double Quick Mart, located at 4501 Wellborn, for an aggravated…

CS Council Approves Another Developer’s Request Over Homeowner Opposition

The College Station city council has again approved on a split vote, a land use change for a business development over the opposition of neighboring homeowners. Objections from the Eastgate…

Third Floor Collapses At A Denton Home During A University Of North Texas Homecoming Party

DENTON, Texas (AP) – Police say at least six people suffered minor injuries when part of the floor in a third-story apartment collapsed during a homecoming party at a North…

An old Hollywood Refrain, but the world may not be a safe place By Marc L. Flaster NEW YORK, New York (Texas Insider Report) — Tweet, Tweet, Twitter, Twitter… Our President takes…

Texas A&M Corps Of Cadets To Conduct Military Review In Honor Of Veterans

Two weeks ago, the Texas A&M Corps of Cadets marched through west campus before the Aggie football game for the first time ever. This Saturday, they will conduct their annual Military…

Texas A&M scientists synthesize historical tick models to help curb the pest globally

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Pete Teel, 979-845-3253, pteel@tamu.edu                COLLEGE STATION – The battle against fever ticks rages on, and a group of Texas A&M University and French…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 7, 2017

Texas peanut crop looks promising Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Woodward, 806-746-6101, jewoodward@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Peanut harvest has started across the state, and harvested acres provided good…

Man Accused Of Sutherland Springs Church Shooting Should Not Have Been Allowed To Buy Guns Due To A Bad Conduct Discharge

Representatives of multiple agencies involved in Sunday’s church shooting in Sutherland Springs updated reporters Monday morning. There was evidence of a domestic family situation involving the suspect and his mother-in-law,…

CS Council Agrees On Location Of Next Gateway Monument

The College Station city council has enthusiastically given its nod to proceeding with the construction of the next gateway monument. Pending state approval, what will be seen by motorists entering…

Cattle Trails Cow-Calf Conference set Dec. 1 in Wichita Falls

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu WICHITA FALLS – The annual Cattle Trails Cow-Calf Conference – Driving Your Cattle…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 31, 2017

Armyworms plaguing pastures, winter forages Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Cool temperatures and wet weather created prime conditions for fall armyworms and major…

German experts work to free ship grounded after storm

BERLIN (AP) — German rescue experts were working to free a cargo ship that ran aground on a North Sea sandbank during a weekend storm, while the country’s railway pressed…

Gaza Cybergang – updated activity in 2017:

1. Summary information The Gaza cybergang is an Arabic-language, politically-motivated cybercriminal group, operating since 2012 and actively targeting the MENA (Middle East North Africa) region. The Gaza cybergang’s attacks have…

Ibrahim, Smith named Fellows by Crop Sciences Society of America

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Amir Ibrahim, 979-845-8274, aibrahim@tamu.edu Dr. Gerald Smith, 903-834-6191, gerald.smith@ag.tamu.edu TAMPA, Florida – Two Texas A&M AgriLife Research professors were honored for their professional achievements…