Texas A&M releases new Ace cowpea

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gerald Smith, 903-834-6191, gerald.smith@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A new forage cowpea variety – Ace – blends a number of desirable characteristics into into a…

Potential “Censure Resolution” will Define Texas’ GOP Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Historically, state political conventions come and go with little consequence — other than a few embarrassing headlines…

As cities sprawl, more Texans are exposed to tornadoes

Mark Fox cringes every time he relives the day his worst weather nightmare came true. April 3, 2012 was a hot and humid day in North Texas, and the unstable…

AgriLife Extension expert: Grow tomatoes all season long

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Timing and variety choice can help tomato aficionados avoid production gaps during the dog days of summer,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 1, 2018

Lack of rain and low temperatures hinder warm-season crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – State Climatologist John Nielsen-Gammon, College Station,…

Jury Convicts And Sentences North Texas Mother For Causing The Deaths Of Her Children

WEATHERFORD, Texas (AP) – A North Texas mother whose two toddlers died in a hot car last May has been sentenced to two 20-year prison terms to be served simultaneously.…

Don’t let fire ants ruin your summer, take steps this spring

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Allen Knutson, 972-952-9222, allen.knutson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, michael.merchant@ag.tamu.edu       DALLAS – Dealing with fire ants is no picnic, but getting rid…

AgriLife Extension program bolsters Texas schools’ pest management approach

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service school IPM specialist Janet Hurley leads a group of North Texas school pest control professionals on a course about pest habitats. (Texas A&M AgriLife photo…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research, Extension converge at EarthX April 20-22

Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – Texas A&M AgriLife Research and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will showcase environmental initiatives in more than 2,400 square feet of display…

23 had Re-Entered after having been previously deported Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Officers with the U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement’s (ICE) Enforcement & Removal Operations (ERO) arrested 89 Criminal…

North Texas Wine Sensory Short Course at Kiepersol Winery May 11

RSVP by May 4 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m.cook@tamu.edu TYLER – Winemakers and wine lovers can learn about how a variety of red and white…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 20

Danger of frost has passed for much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Commercial and amateur vegetable growers are actively…

Correction: Chemical Plant Fire-Texas story

CRESSON, Texas (AP) — In a story March 15 about an explosion and fire at a North Texas chemical plant, The Associated Press reported erroneously that a missing worker is…

Women driving North Texas research seek sustainable solutions for urban living

From left: Dr. Ambika Chandra, Dr. Jeanmarie Verchot and Dr. Qingyi Yu. (Texas A&M AgriLife photos by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jeanmarie Verchot, 972-952-9224, jm.verchot@ag.tamu.edu…

Texas close to gaining first reservoir in 20 years

Life in the rural, North Texas county of Fannin is about to change in a big way as construction begins on Texas’ first new reservoir in nearly two decades. The…

Abbott and FEMA are using Harvey to reinvent disaster response. Some say that makes displaced Texans "guinea pigs."

ROCKPORT — In the weeks immediately after Hurricane Harvey, thousands of Texans lingered in emergency shelters, small coastal communities scrambled to restore electricity and entire neighborhoods sat swamped with moldy…

A&M AgriLife researchers in Dallas study Texas’ first federally endangered mussel species

From left: Dr. Kentaro Inoue, Dr. Charles Randklev and Michael Hart with the Texas hornshell, the state’s first freshwater mussel to be listed under the U.S. Endangered Species Act. (Texas…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration program workshop set for Feb. 21 in Lewisville

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistile@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu LEWISVILLE – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4…

North Texas gardening courses offer comprehensive ‘newcomer’ instruction

Newcomers Guide to Gardening in North Texas course flyers (Texas A&M AgriLife Illustration by Sarah Pyatt) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daniel Cunningham, 972-952-9223, daniel.cunningham@ag.tamu.edu Patrick Dickinson, 972-952-9673, patrick.dickinson@ag.tamu.edu…

Registration open for Texas Brigades summer youth camps

Applications accepted until March 15 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Natalie Wolff, 210-556-1391, camps@texasbrigades.org   Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas Brigades, a series of seven youth…