New computer model uses decades of data to help producers predict wheat forage success

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Prem Woli, 903-834-6191, prem.woli@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Monte Rouquette, 903-834-6191, monte.rouquette@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A new, pioneering forage wheat model could provide a valuable technique to…

Scandal-plagued CBS grants $20M to 18 women's rights groups

NEW YORK (AP) — CBS on Friday pledged to give $20 million to 18 organizations dedicated to eliminating sexual harassment in the workplace as the network tries to recover from…

Longtime AgriLife Research economist Dr. James Richardson to retire

Originator of farm simulation model used to analyze farm bills since 1980s Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Since the mid-1980s, the simulation model developed by a…

Water quality training in New Braunfels to focus on Geronimo, Alligator creeks

Contacts: Troy Luepke, 830-620-3440, troy.luepke@ag.tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu NEW BRAUNFELS – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to Geronimo and Alligator creeks will…

City Of Bryan Now Has Temporary Control Of Grandview Cemetery

The Bryan city council this week unanimously voted to take temporary control of the privately owned Grandview Cemetery, which has had no official ownership since 1972. A new non-profit organization…

Brazos Central Appraisal District Is Moving To Its New Office Building

Two years after the Brazos Central Appraisal District (BCAD) received the green light from its members, the move in has been scheduled to its own office building. Chief appraiser Mark…

Remotely controlled EV home chargers – the threats and vulnerabilities

We are now seeing signs of a possible shift in the field of personal transport. Recent events such as the ‘dieselgate’ scandal undermine customer and government confidence in combustion engines…

NASA has selected Analytical Mechanics Associates in Hampton, Virginia, and New Horizons Aeronautics in Chantilly, Virginia, to perform engineering and technical support services (ETSS) for the agency’s Armstrong Flight Research…

Congress already funded nearly 75% of the government back in October, which’ll leave most of the government open & operating Investors Business Daily — President Trump brashly announced “I’m proud to shut down government”…

New chemistries tested for weed control in corn

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While producers may find newer corn herbicides on the market, it is important to look herbicide performance under…

Pierson at conference: Plant microbiomes could hold key to higher yields

Writer: Laura Muntean, 979-847-9211, laura.muntean@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Betsy Pierson, 979-862-1307, eapierson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Betsy Pierson, professor in the department of horticulture sciences for Texas A&M University, spoke at…

Zero-day in Windows Kernel Transaction Manager (CVE-2018-8611)

Executive summary In October 2018, our AEP (Automatic Exploit Prevention) systems detected an attempt to exploit a vulnerability in the Microsoft Windows operating system. Further analysis led us to uncover…

Mark Faries: My name is Dr. Mark Farris, I’m here with Tim Schnettler. We got a good question today, as we discussed, a very common question, this idea that we…

“Our residents lose thousands of dollars a year and suffer from ruined credit scores, as well as a general sense of anxiety regarding their identity,” –Attorney General Paxton Texas Insider…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) issued a total of 933 original drilling permits in November 2018 compared to 1,187 in November 2017. The…

Wild pig control program in Atlanta Jan. 10

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jessica Rymel, 903-756-5391, Jessica.rymel@ag.tamu.edu ATLANTA – A wild pig management program will be held Jan. 10 at the Cass County Expo Center, U.S. Highway…

Lashmet’s ‘Ag Law in the Field’ podcast earns ABA top 100 web resources ranking

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tdowell@tamu.edu Tiffany Dowell Lashmet is recognized for her Ag Law in the Field podcast. (Courtesy photo) AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife…

TEXAS READS: New books offer glimpse into home decor, architecture

New books by Joanna Gaines and Elmer Kelton head this week’s lineup, but I also will touch on several others that you might want to read or give this holiday…

A look at where companies stand on marijuana business

NEW YORK (AP) — When Canada legalized recreational marijuana in October, it emerged as the world leader in the industry — and U.S. companies are scrambling to get in on…

Texas Enterprise Fund prize estimated to have $2.5+ billion impact over the next 20 years Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “I thank the PGA of America for the new jobs…