Kids, Kows and More event in San Antonio brings agriculture to urban youth

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 1,000 third- and fourth-grade students from elementary schools throughout Bexar County attended the recent two-day…

Drilling overwhelms agency protecting America’s lands

A flare burns on May 24, 2018 atop a drill pad on land near Carlsbad, N.M., that Wayne Smith leased for ranching before his death in October. The development covered…

How Washington unleashed fossil-fuel exports and sold out on climate

The Trump White House has capitalized on fossil-fuel exports made possible by the Obama administration. Energy Secretary Rick Perry is shown here on Aug. 2, 2017 welcoming his predecessor, Ernest…

Netflix deal could boost all parts of New Mexico

SANTA FE, N.M. (AP) — While Albuquerque has been named as Netflix’s newest production hub, those in the industry say the benefits are likely to reach all parts of New…

As oil and gas exports surge, West Texas becomes the world’s “extraction colony”

Vehicles pass oil pumpjacks at sunrise in the Permian Basin region of West Texas. Jerod Foster for The Texas Tribune MIDLAND — Drilling booms have come and gone in this…

Anti-nuclear waste tour kicks off in Houston

Modular concrete canisters containing nuclear waste are shown at the bottom of a storage pit near Andrews, Texas. David Bowser Several Texas organizations gathered in Houston on Tuesday to kick…

The FBI ordered an evacuation at Sunspot Observatory, in New Mexico, in a child porn investigation. But that’s only one of the forces causing the town to empty out. Source:…

Report: Texas criteria for polluted site cleanup 'significantly weaker' than neighboring states

The San Jacinto River Waste Pits, an EPA Superfund site that is contaminated with dioxins, is located off Interstate 10 east of Houston. Michael Stravato The criteria Texas uses to…

13 States have Automatic Voter Registration Policies Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Thirty-eights states allow citizens who have never resided in the United States to vote. The requirements vary from…

McCollum retires from AgriLife Extension livestock specialist position

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ted.mccollum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Ted McCollum, who came to Texas A&M in 1995 and built what many describe as a “dynamic”…

Texas A&M AgriLife’s High Plains wheat ‘Top Picks’ list released

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Each year, experts with the Texas A&M…

Dozens of groups ask Trump administration for more time to comment on border wall

More than three dozen environmental, faith-based and immigrant rights groups are urging the federal government to extend the public-comment period for construction of the border wall, arguing that the U.S. Department…

Exploration Green receives 2018 Excellence in Green Infrastructure Award

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu HOUSTON – A multifaceted project to help reduce flooding and provide recreation for  thousands…

State lawmaker to Trump: Don't overlook Mexican water treaty

The Rio Grande at the New Mexico-Texas border on Monday, December 9, 2013 in El Paso. Ivan Pierre Aguirre A top Texas lawmaker is asking President Donald Trump to renegotiate…

Lesser prairie-chicken population on the rise, but advocates say it's not enough

The lesser prairie-chicken is a medium-sized, grayish brown grouse that lives in eco-regions spanning Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Greg Kramos / USFWS The number of lesser prairie-chickens…

AgriLife Extension’s Kimble County 4-H team named national wool judging champions

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Kimble County 4-H senior wool judging team took top honors at the 58th National 4-H Wool Judging…

Texas-New Mexico water fight could be impacted by SCOTUS ruling

A U.S. Supreme Court decision on Wednesday in a water fight between Florida and Georgia could have implications for a similar legal battle between Texas and New Mexico over the Rio…

El Paso Sector seized more than $35 million in Narcotics during Fiscal Year 2017  Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Border Patrol Agents seized more than $1.1 million in narcotics…

Environmental groups ask feds to protect threatened West Texas lizard

Over the objections of the oil and gas industry, two environmental groups are asking the federal government to protect a tiny West Texas reptile amid the failure of a state-crafted…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…