Dozens of groups ask Trump administration for more time to comment on border wall

More than three dozen environmental, faith-based and immigrant rights groups are urging the federal government to extend the public-comment period for construction of the border wall, arguing that the U.S. Department…

Exploration Green receives 2018 Excellence in Green Infrastructure Award

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu HOUSTON – A multifaceted project to help reduce flooding and provide recreation for  thousands…

State lawmaker to Trump: Don't overlook Mexican water treaty

The Rio Grande at the New Mexico-Texas border on Monday, December 9, 2013 in El Paso. Ivan Pierre Aguirre A top Texas lawmaker is asking President Donald Trump to renegotiate…

Lesser prairie-chicken population on the rise, but advocates say it's not enough

The lesser prairie-chicken is a medium-sized, grayish brown grouse that lives in eco-regions spanning Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Greg Kramos / USFWS The number of lesser prairie-chickens…

AgriLife Extension’s Kimble County 4-H team named national wool judging champions

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Pascual Hernandez, 325-387-3101, p-hernandez@tamu.edu SONORA – The Kimble County 4-H senior wool judging team took top honors at the 58th National 4-H Wool Judging…

Texas-New Mexico water fight could be impacted by SCOTUS ruling

A U.S. Supreme Court decision on Wednesday in a water fight between Florida and Georgia could have implications for a similar legal battle between Texas and New Mexico over the Rio…

El Paso Sector seized more than $35 million in Narcotics during Fiscal Year 2017  Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Border Patrol Agents seized more than $1.1 million in narcotics…

Environmental groups ask feds to protect threatened West Texas lizard

Over the objections of the oil and gas industry, two environmental groups are asking the federal government to protect a tiny West Texas reptile amid the failure of a state-crafted…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

New AgriLife Extension specialist hired to expand health programs in the Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Miquela Smith, 806-677-5600, miquela.smith@ag.tamu.edu Rusty Hohlt, 979-458-7553, rrhohlt@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Regional support for chronic disease prevention education is expanding into the Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas regulator says "misunderstanding" is making millennials shun oilfield jobs

If you ask Wayne Christian, the biggest threat to the oil and gas industry in Texas is millennials — and a general public that’s been brainwashed into thinking that fossil…

NASA has awarded a contract to L&M Technologies Inc. of Albuquerque, New Mexico, to provide logistics support services at the agency’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama. Source: NASA

NASA has awarded a contract to Navarro Research and Engineering, Inc., of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, for continued environmental compliance and operation services at the agency’s White Sands Test Facility in…

NASA has awarded an 8(a) small business set-aside contract to Metis Flight Research Associates LLC of Albuquerque, New Mexico, for support of aerospace systems modeling and simulation facilities at the…

How Donald Trump's border wall fared in the $1.3 trillion spending bill he just signed

After flirting with the prospect of vetoing an omnibus spending bill because it fell short of funding for his proposed border wall, President Donald Trump on Friday eventually gave the…

New Mexico regulators OK massive wind farms near Texas

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) — New Mexico regulators on Wednesday approved a $1.6 billion plan that calls for building two massive wind farms along the Texas-New Mexico border. Source: Business –…

Panel highlights importance of dairy workforce training, documentation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.eduTiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – After a number of U.S. Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, or ICE, audits…

The presence of one could signal identity theft By Dinah Wisenberg Brin Parents place the utmost attention on their children’s safety, education, health and happiness, but even the most conscientious parent may…

Federal government may fight alongside Texas in water dispute, U.S. Supreme Court rules

Editor’s note: This story has been updated with a statement from Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton. In the fight against New Mexico over the critical Rio Grande water supply, Texas…

Students from six schools in Alamogordo, New Mexico, will speak with a NASA astronaut living, working and doing research aboard the International Space Station at 11 a.m. EST Wednesday, Feb.…