Students from six schools in Alamogordo, New Mexico, will speak with a NASA astronaut living, working and doing research aboard the International Space Station at 11 a.m. EST Wednesday, Feb.…

Rooney appointed to Texas A&M’s Borlaug-Monsanto Chair for Plant Breeding

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Bill Rooney, a Texas A&M AgriLife Research sorghum breeder in the Texas A&M department of…

Texas’ auxin-specific training now valid in Oklahoma, New Mexico

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Scott Nolte, 979-845-4880, scott.nolte@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Department of Agriculture-approved auxin-specific herbicide training, developed by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and…

A&M AgriLife researchers in Dallas study Texas’ first federally endangered mussel species

From left: Dr. Kentaro Inoue, Dr. Charles Randklev and Michael Hart with the Texas hornshell, the state’s first freshwater mussel to be listed under the U.S. Endangered Species Act. (Texas…

Spam and phishing in 2017

Figures of the year The share of spam in mail traffic came to 56.63%, down 1.68% against 2016. The biggest source of spam remains the US (13.21%). 40% of spam…

Bingo, Amigo! Jackpotting: ATM malware from Latin America to the World

Introduction Of all the forms of attack against financial institutions around the world, the one that brings traditional crime and cybercrime together the most is the malicious ecosystem that exists…

“Such a policy is inconsistent with the promises Republicans made to the voters.” Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — “I do not believe we should be granting a path to…

If Texas was a country, it would be the world’s 10th largest economy By Adryana Aldeen, Senior Correspondent Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Free trade and NAFTA are touchy subjects. Most…

Texas milk production goes west over the past 30 years

Weather, animal welfare, economics and producer quality of life factors Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, ellen.jordan@ag.tamu.edu COMO – A rusted, padlocked gate marks the entry…

AgriLife Research survey: Triticum a major player in wheat crop diseases

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Knowing what diseases are turning wheat fields yellow is half the battle, according to a Texas A&M…

AgriLife Research survey: Triticum a major player in wheat crop diseases

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Knowing what diseases are turning wheat fields yellow is half the battle, according to a Texas A&M…

U.S. agricultural trade continues to climb in value

Trade negotiations critical to fuel future economic impact Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – U.S. agricultural export trade reached $135 billion in 2016 as farm commodities were a big…

CRADDICK on  NAFTA: Mend It, Don’t End It

Texas products & innovations create opportunities, flow south in record numbers By Texas Railroad Commission Chairman Christi Craddick Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Many Texans support NAFTA based on…

Jordan honored with Texas A&M AgriLife Vice Chancellor’s Award of Excellence

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Ellen Jordan, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state dairy specialist in Dallas, was honored with the…

The Texas coastline is slowly disappearing. Here's how one community is coping.

The banana water lilies that once filled Jefferson County’s Salt Bayou marsh started dying off years ago. The aquatic plants, with their elegant white and yellow blooms, used to pepper…

Texas Native Seeds project expanding to meet demand ecosystem restoration

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Forrest Smith, 361-593-4525, forrest.smith@tamuk.edu Dr. Jim Muir, 254-968-4144, j-muir@tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – The statewide search for seeds from native Texas grasses and forbs is expected…

Publications now available on two Edwards Plateau, Concho Valley grass invaders from Mexico

  Mexican needlegrass, Mexican feathergrass increasing in area pastures Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has new…

Some lawsuits can proceed over cigarettes touted as natural

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) — A U.S. judge in New Mexico has dismissed more than two dozen complaints against the maker of American Spirit cigarettes but is allowing others to move…

Pesticide resistant, crop threatening whiteflies found in Texas

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erfan Vafaie, 903-834-6191, erfan.vafaie@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A pesticide-resistant population of common plant-damaging whiteflies has been found in Texas, according to a Texas A&M AgriLife…

After Harvey, some South Texans more wary than ever about plan to build landfill near floodplain

Nearly four months ago, Hurricane Harvey’s rainfall inundated ultra-polluted Superfund sites in and around Houston, triggering the leak of hazardous waste. Now, 300 miles south near Laredo, a company’s efforts to develop…