Sugarcane aphid populations popping up in High Plains sorghum fields

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Like the popup showers that have dotted the state, the sugarcane aphid is starting to show up all…

Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day set Aug. 9 at Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, qxue@ag.tamu.edu BUSHLAND – A Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife and the…

AgriLife Extension names veteran agent to Taylor County post

Cody Hill transfers from Borden County Aug. 1 Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has named Cody Hill…

Connecting agriculture to human health mission of new Texas A&M vice chancellor

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Most people don’t understand the role agriculture plays in their health and daily lives, but Texas A&M University’s new vice chancellor for Agriculture…

New Texas A&M AgriLife leader continues Texas tour

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M’s new vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences is touring the state for a first-hand look at…

Guar producer uses Texas A&M AgriLife support to prompt revisions in NRCS guidelines

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.Adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – When a Texas Rolling Plains guar producer found himself to be potentially out…

‘Basket of Fire’ pepper latest Texas Superstar release

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Russell Plowman, 806-834-0647, russell.d.plowman@ttu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new pepper variety — Basket of Fire – which combines ornamental and edible variety characteristics, is…

AgriLife helps Texas tomato producers make better connections through grafting

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – A team of Texas A&M AgriLife researchers and horticulturists are investigating how successful integration of vegetable grafting…

Twenty three graduate from Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership program

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Twenty-three agricultural industry leaders completed a two-year commitment as part of the Governor Dolph Briscoe Jr. Texas Agricultural Lifetime Leadership Cohort XV…

Vogel hired to support AgriLife Extension vet sciences certificate program

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Tyler Vogel, 806-677-5600, tyler.vogel@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Tyler Vogel hopes to help youth pursue their passion for veterinary sciences as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

AgriLife Extension makes two county appointment announcements

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has announced two personnel appointments — a transfer and a new…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 22, 2018

Corn, sorghum producers face weather, market uncertainties Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Corn and sorghum producers could be in for a…

Brittni Littlejohn receives 2018 Sorensen Achievement Award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Brittni Littlejohn, a Texas A&M University department of animal science graduate research assistant at the Texas A&M…

As cities sprawl, more Texans are exposed to tornadoes

Mark Fox cringes every time he relives the day his worst weather nightmare came true. April 3, 2012 was a hot and humid day in North Texas, and the unstable…

Viticulture Short Course set for June 4-5 in Bryan

Registration ends May 29 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu BRYAN – A two-day Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service advanced viticulture short course is scheduled June…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Congressman Jodey Arrington Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – As I continue my work in Congress, a few of my most important policy priorities for our region include advocating for…

Farm bill effects on cotton producers to be discussed at May 14-16 meetings

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a series of cotton meetings…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

AgriLife Extension announces two South Plains county agent transfers

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu   LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has announced two personnel transfers within the agency’s South Plains…