AgriLife Extension pilots High Plains multi-county positions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.eduDr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is piloting positions for two multi-county agronomy agents and…

Holloway receives range management society Grass Roots Award

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Andy Holloway, 806323-0114, andy.holloway@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Andy Holloway, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agriculture and natural resources agent in Hemphill County, received the Grass Roots…

Kimura named AgriLife Extension state peanut specialist

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Emi Kimura has been named the state peanut specialist for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Dr.…

AgriLife Extension to offer Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training Oct. 16 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training will be held Oct. 16 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

AgriLife Extension to offer Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training Oct. 16 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – A Seed Cotton Farm Bill Training will be held Oct. 16 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

Building Strong Families Conference set Oct. 25 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, kay.davis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The 23rd anniversary of the Building Strong Families Conference for parents is set for Oct. 25 at the Broadway…

Maeda joins AgriLife Extension cotton program in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Murilo Maeda, 806-746-6101, mmaeda@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Dr. Murilo Maeda is returning to his roots when he trades the Texas coast for the South…

Food managers certification, training set Oct. 11-12 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kay Davis, 806-775-1740, kay.davis@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Lubbock County will offer a Professional Food Manager Certification Training Course Oct.…

New AgriLife Extension horticulture agent hired in Lubbock County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Christina Reid, 806-775-1740, ext. 1747, christina.reid@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Christina Reid knew when she moved back to Lubbock she wanted to work as the Texas…

Texas A&M AgriLife high tunnel study expands

Team to add flower, vegetable seed production Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Many interested producers showed up to learn more about high tunnels at…

We’ve entered the home stretch of what is sometimes referred to in Austin as “The Interim.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — It’s been just a little over a year since…

AgriLife Research sorghum breeder Gary Peterson retires after 36 years

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Dr. Gary Peterson’s career with Texas A&M AgriLife Research has come full circle as he puts the wraps on 36 years in sorghum…

Swisher County Corn and Sorghum Tour set for Sept. 11 in Tulia

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skedbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Villalba, 806-995-3721, john.villalba@ag.tamu.edu TULIA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Swisher County Ag Committee will host a corn and sorghum tour…

AgriLife Research’s Marek recognized with ASABE John Deere Gold Medal

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Marek, 806-677-5600, tmarek@tamu.edu DETROIT – Thomas Marek is the 2018 recipient of the John Deere Gold Medal, recognized for his outstanding contributions to…

Texas A&M AgriLife’s High Plains wheat ‘Top Picks’ list released

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Each year, experts with the Texas A&M…

AgriLife Extension sets free farm bill workshop Aug. 28-29 at Lubbock

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a free two-day workshop at Lubbock that will cover the…

Guar, wheat integration focus of new Texas A&M AgriLife study

Environmental, economic benefits anticipated Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-77-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.adams@ag.tamu.eduDr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu   VERNON – A team of scientists from Texas A&M AgriLife and…

Dr. Patrick Stover appointed sole finalist for Texas A&M AgriLife Research director

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The sole finalist for director of Texas A&M AgriLife Research said he will strengthen long-standing commitments to applied and fundamental research…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…

AgriLife Extension names two South Plains county agents

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Michael Clawson, 806-746-6101, m-clawson@tamu.edu                LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service announced two new staff changes within the agency’s 20-county South Plains District…