23 had Re-Entered after having been previously deported Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Officers with the U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement’s (ICE) Enforcement & Removal Operations (ERO) arrested 89 Criminal…

It’s wheat tour time in West Central Texas

Multi-county events set May 3 in Millersview, May 4 in Taylor, Callahan, Jones counties Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Karl Winge, 325-854-5835, karl.winge@ag.tamu.edu MILLERSVIEW –…

AgriLife Extension sets Cotton Marketing Workshop April 4 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Cotton Marketing Workshop on April 4 in…

AgriLife Extension sets Lower Rolling Plains Ag Conference for April 4 in Snyder

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Greg Gruben, 325-573-5423, g-gruben@tamu.edu SNYDER – The Lower Rolling Plains Ag Conference is scheduled from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. April 4 in the Scurry…

AgriLife Extension sets strawberry field day on April 21 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Russ Wallace, 806-746-6101, rwwallace@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Those new to strawberry production and old pros alike can catch up on the latest developments…

Fisher County Cotton Workshop slated for March 26 in Roby

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Nick Dickson, 325-776-3259, Nick.Dickson@ag.tamu.edu ROBY – The Fisher County Cotton Workshop conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set from 9…

Texas Republicans reject hypocrisy, wasted resources & dishonest mailers    Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “I think the Republican Party has gone too knee-jerk right in Texas. There are a…

AgriPlex Ag Day set March 27 in Ballinger

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Vahlenkamp, 325-365-2219, marty.vahlenkamp@ag.tamu.edu BALLINGER – The regional AgriPlex Ag Day conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set for 9…

Challenger Leal takes harder line to rein in Property Taxes than Seliger Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The Midland County Republican Women’s Club had the chance to meet Senate District…

“A lot of Texas Voters are looking at this and asking, ‘What’ is going on here?“ Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “The phrase that keeps coming up about the…

Chemigation control of sugarcane aphids a viable option

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Producers might hear a term from the past when they begin looking for solutions to treat the sugarcane…

AgriLife Extension cotton trial results released for High Plains, Rolling Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, Seth.Byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Just in time for cotton…

From our first conversation I thought to myself, “We really need this guy in public office.” By Larry Combest Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — I’m often asked how I go…

AgriLife Extension sets three profitability workshops in Lubbock beginning Feb. 13

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has set three crop profitability workshops — one per month…

New AgriLife Extension statewide cotton pest management guide is now available

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Suhas Vyavhare, 806-746-6101, Suhas.Vyavhare@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Entomologists with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service have just released a new statewide guide on managing…

Castro County Crop Conference set Feb. 15 in Dimmitt

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Craig Campbell, 806-647-4115, craig.campbell@ag.tamu.edu DIMMITT – A reflection on the 2017 crop year and an idea exchange for 2018 will highlight the Texas…

AgriLife Research survey: Triticum a major player in wheat crop diseases

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Knowing what diseases are turning wheat fields yellow is half the battle, according to a Texas A&M…

AgriLife Research survey: Triticum a major player in wheat crop diseases

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Knowing what diseases are turning wheat fields yellow is half the battle, according to a Texas A&M…

AgriLife study sheds light on nodulation in legume crop guar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.Adams@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Texas A&M AgriLife scientists are conducting several research projects to improve producers’ understanding of guar and the…

Ornamental plant, turf conference scheduled Feb. 13 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rick Auckerman, 806-364-3573, r-auckerman@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas Department of Agriculture will conduct the annual ornamental plant and…