Institute asking for input on Lower Rio Grande Valley water conservation

Producers, water district personnel requested to participate in survey     Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, lfgregory@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, Texas…

AgriLife Extension posts cotton variety trial results in East, South, Central Texas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-2425, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The 2017 Replicated Agronomic Cotton Evaluation or RACE trial results from South, East and Central Texas…

Water rights seminar to address who gets dwindling reserves

Contact: Dr. Guy Fipps, 979-845-7454, g-fipps@tamu.edu McALLEN – A powerhouse speaker’s panel highlights the 2017 Seminar on Water Rights and Public Policy – The Waters of the Rio Grande to…

New citrus planting method stops bugs, yields additional benefits

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Olufemi Alabi, 956-968-5581, olufemi.alabi@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mamoudou Sétamou, 956-447-3370, mamoudou.setamou@tamuk.edu WESLACO — A planting design that outwitted a weevil in Texas citrus groves has…

AgriLife Extension EFNEP summer program feeds children’s bodies, minds

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Oscar Zamora, 956-399-4015, Oscar.Zamora@ag.tamu.edu Melissa DeLeon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SAN BENITO/EDINBURG – This summer, low-income and underserved children in the Lower Rio Grande Valley received a…

Anti-wall activists march to protect church in Rio Grande Valley

It’s supposed to be God, not government, that decides when a Catholic church that’s been welcoming parishioners since 1899 should burn its last candle. But as the sun’s light slowly…

Watermelon trial provides useful information for Texas producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service melon trials at the San Antonio…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 13

Texas watermelon crop looks good and on schedule for Fourth of July Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Despite typical troubles for individual…

New sugarcane aphid early warning system debuts

  AgriLife Extension effort monitors pests’ seasonal movement Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-651-4824, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Allen Knutson, 972-952-9222, Allen.Knutson@ag.tamu.edu                DALLAS – A minuscule pest few Texas farmers had ever heard…

Lower Rio Grande Valley group to examine season’s climate projections

  Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Catherine Simpson, 956-973-3002, Catherine.Simpson@tamuk.edu WESLACO — Water, weather and the climate outlook will be on the agenda for a one-day workshop…

Citrus grower education program slated for May 9 in Mission

Program will focus on practical aspects of new water conservation technologies Contacts: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, LFGregory@ag.tamu.edu Shad Nelson, 361-593-3712, shad.nelson@tamuk.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MISSION – An educational program for…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — April 4

Early emergence of insects expected due to unseasonable winter and spring conditions Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Above-average temperatures throughout late…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Feb. 7

Wet weather headed to Texas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A pattern of wet weather lies ahead for much of the…

Agriculture tells the history of the Rio Grande Valley

Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Ribera, 956-373-5086, lribera@tamu.edu WESLACO — As the 1800s rolled into the 1900s, agriculture in the Lower Rio Grande Valley was in…

Lower Rio Grande Valley soil testing campaign runs through January

  Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contacts: Enrique Perez, 956-361-8236, eperez@ag.tamu.edu Matthew Rodriguez, 956-689-2412, matthew.rodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, b-cowan@tamu.edu Victor Gutierrez, 956-969-5615, victor.gutierrez@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO  —  The Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas wheat variety ‘Picks’ for High Plains, Rolling Plains released

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.eduDr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.eduDr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife…

South Texas irrigation training manual published

WESLACO – South Texas agricultural irrigators have a new resource available to help them improve irrigation management and water conservation, according to a Texas Water Resources Institute official. The “South…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — May 3

AgriLife Extension specialist: Recent rainfall improved soil conditions for the bulk of Texas’ cotton fields By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION — Most…

AgriLife Extension experts say sorghum producers can now use Transform

WESLACO — Texas forage and grain sorghum growers now have state and federal permission to use a pesticide this year that has been highly effective against their most troublesome pest,…

Grain sorghum growers urged to look out for sugarcane aphids

WESLACO  —  Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service experts in South Texas are warning grain sorghum growers to keep a sharp eye out for populations of sugarcane aphids. The tiny insects…