AgriLife study: High biomass sorghums can compete under water-stressed circumstances

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Bioenergy or high biomass sorghum can be grown in water-stressed situations and still produce good yields, according to a Texas…

AgriLife Research study: Fumonisin not detrimental to beef cattle diets

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jenny Jennings, 806-677-5600, Jenny.Jennings@ag.tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Increasing levels of dietary fumonisin do not adversely affect feedlot cattle performance, according to…

Forage sorghum field day demonstrates high yielding varieties, sugarcane update

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service forage sorghum trials west of Amarillo provide…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

Forage, grain sorghum hybrids to be featured at Sept. 13 field day near Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu BUSHLAND – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present the Bushland Forage Sorghum Silage Field Day Sept. 13. Forage…

Texas A&M AgriLife’s High Plains wheat ‘Top Picks’ list released

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Each year, experts with the Texas A&M…

42nd annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour set Aug. 28

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu   CANYON – The 42nd annual Randall County Ag Day and Crops Tour hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife…

20th annual Wheatheart Wheat Conference set Aug. 9 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, sstrawn@ad.tamu.edu PERRYTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host the 20th annual Wheatheart Wheat Conference at 8:30 a.m. Aug.…

Dryland cotton suffering while irrigated cotton looks good

Lack of moisture causes some producers to replant Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.eduDr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Much like producers’ fields across the…

Post-emergent herbicide timing key in corn production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Weed control in corn is important to profitability, but producers need to be aware of herbicide application…

Critical Texas drought forecast may alter summer crop planting decisions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains is under extreme drought and if current conditions continue, producers need to make…

Grain-grading workshops set for May 1, May 2 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Two grain-grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service — one May 1 and one May…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

Cotton planting management highlighted in two AgriLife Extension studies

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – New and returning cotton producers may want to carefully consider…

AgriLife Extension cotton trial results released for High Plains, Rolling Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, Seth.Byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Just in time for cotton…

Castro County Crop Conference set Feb. 15 in Dimmitt

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Craig Campbell, 806-647-4115, craig.campbell@ag.tamu.edu DIMMITT – A reflection on the 2017 crop year and an idea exchange for 2018 will highlight the Texas…

Pre-Plant Producer Update set for Feb. 8 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Randall County will conduct the annual Pre-Plant Producer Update…

High Plains Grain Elevator Workshop set for Feb. 15 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ronda Fisher, 806-677-5600, rkfisher@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains Grain Elevator Workshop will be Feb. 15 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

Economic risk management program offered for crop producers Jan. 23 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Seeking Solutions: Managing Economic Risks will be hosted by the North Region of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

East Central Panhandle Ag Program set Jan. 22 in Pampa

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Wilkes, 806-868-3191, mcwilkes@ag.tamu.edu Mike Jeffcoat, 806-669-8033, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu Jody Bradford, 806-537-3882, jody.bradford@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – The East Central Panhandle Ag Program will be Jan. 22…