Critical Texas drought forecast may alter summer crop planting decisions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains is under extreme drought and if current conditions continue, producers need to make…

Grain-grading workshops set for May 1, May 2 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Two grain-grading workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service — one May 1 and one May…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

Cotton planting management highlighted in two AgriLife Extension studies

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – New and returning cotton producers may want to carefully consider…

AgriLife Extension cotton trial results released for High Plains, Rolling Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, Seth.Byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Just in time for cotton…

Castro County Crop Conference set Feb. 15 in Dimmitt

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Craig Campbell, 806-647-4115, craig.campbell@ag.tamu.edu DIMMITT – A reflection on the 2017 crop year and an idea exchange for 2018 will highlight the Texas…

Pre-Plant Producer Update set for Feb. 8 in Canyon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. J. D. Ragland, 806-468-5543, j-ragland@tamu.edu CANYON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Randall County will conduct the annual Pre-Plant Producer Update…

High Plains Grain Elevator Workshop set for Feb. 15 in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ronda Fisher, 806-677-5600, rkfisher@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains Grain Elevator Workshop will be Feb. 15 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

Economic risk management program offered for crop producers Jan. 23 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Seeking Solutions: Managing Economic Risks will be hosted by the North Region of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

East Central Panhandle Ag Program set Jan. 22 in Pampa

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Wilkes, 806-868-3191, mcwilkes@ag.tamu.edu Mike Jeffcoat, 806-669-8033, mike.jeffcoat@ag.tamu.edu Jody Bradford, 806-537-3882, jody.bradford@ag.tamu.edu PAMPA – The East Central Panhandle Ag Program will be Jan. 22…

Area AgriLife Extension Agronomics Meeting set Jan. 18 in Dumas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Marcel Fischbacher, 806-935-2594, mhfischbacher@ag.tamu.edu Mike Bragg, 806-244-4434, mhbragg@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – An Area AgriLife Extension Agronomics Meeting will be hosted Jan. 18 by the Texas…

Fumonisin not expected to be major yearly problem for corn producers

More research needed for corn growers, cattle feeders Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu David Gibson, 806-763-2676, dgibson@texascorn.org DUMAS – A “perfect storm” brewed up…

AgriLife Extension to offer three trainings for dicamba-tolerant cotton, soybean use

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Special training will be required in 2018 for new dicamba formulations applied on tolerant cotton and soybean…

Fumonisin update meetings set Dec. 19 in Dumas, Dimmitt

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas Corn Producers and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host two update meetings Dec. 19…

Swisher County Ag Day is Dec. 7 in Tulia

  Swisher County Ag Day is Dec. 7 in Tulia Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: John Villalba, 806-995-3726, john.villalba@ag.tamu.edu TULIA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Swisher County…

Water use, drought-tolerant hybrids still key to dryland crop production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, Qingwu.xue@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Risk management is the name of the…

AgriLife Extension sets High Plains Ag Conference Dec. 8 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the annual High Plains Ag Conference from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Dec.…

Panhandle Farm and Ranch Management Symposium set for Nov. 28

Annual training to kick-off Amarillo Farm and Ranch ShowWriter: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-376-0051, d-nusser@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer two sessions…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Oct. 17, 2017

Conditions cause concern for High Plains corn producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu               Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011,…

AgriLife Research project to examine, educate on organic wheat systems

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.Adams@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Organic wheat and beef may not be for everyone, but one Texas A&M AgriLife team is going to…