Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 17, 2018

Hay producers should hold fertilizer application until temperatures rise Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Warm-season grasses are breaking dormancy but not actively growing…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 27, 2018

Recent rains help planting conditions, but drought persists in some areas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan,  gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Recent rainfall has set up much…

The Texas coastline is slowly disappearing. Here's how one community is coping.

The banana water lilies that once filled Jefferson County’s Salt Bayou marsh started dying off years ago. The aquatic plants, with their elegant white and yellow blooms, used to pepper…

Texas 4-H awards grants to clubs in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey

Almost $125,000 provided for rebuilding 4-H clubs, communities Contacts: Dr. Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Sarah Hamm, 979-845-1213, sarah.hamm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas 4-H Youth…

Master Gardeners throughout Texas receive vegetable specialist training

Three-day training in San Antonio included classroom, outdoor learning Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Texas Master Gardeners from…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 3, 2017

Pumpkin crop looks good, but delayed by rains Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cristen Brooks, 806-983-4912, cristen.brooks@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – Wet weather has put a damper on the Panhandle pumpkin…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 26, 2017

Conditions brewing for warm, dry winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions around the state could worsen over the next…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 19, 2017

Sugarcane aphids not a major problem for prepared Texas sorghum producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu; Danielle Sekula, 956-878-8317, danielle.sekula@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most sorghum…

Neighborly love: Hay, animal supplies trucked in from all over to assist Texas Hurricane Harvey ag producers

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu NOME – The outpouring of support from neighboring states has been overwhelming, said Mike Doguet, owner of Doguet’s Diamond D Ranch Turf Farm in Nome,…

Free testing for private water well owners in Hurricane Harvey flood area

Contacts: Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu John W. Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others are collaborating to offer multiple…

Plans to Visit a Dozen Storm-Ravaged Counties Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – (HOUSTON) – Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick will continue visiting counties impacted by Hurricane Harvey and the subsequent flooding.…

Animal Supply Points seeking livestock-related donations

Animal Supply Point Phone Bank number for donating is 979-845-7800. Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Andy Vestal, 979-862-3013, t-vestal@tamu.edu Dr. Jeff Ripley, 979-845-7896, Jeffrey.Ripley@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 22, 2017

Overall forage production good despite wet weather, pests, weeds Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Plentiful rains have been good and bad for…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 25

Texas pecan crop projected to exceed 50 million pounds Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas pecan growers expect to increase production this…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 11

Bollworms mount attack on some Texas cotton, grain sorghum Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Insect damage to crops is ramping up…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 6

Hail damage across High Plains being evaluated Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Waves of hail storms across…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — April 25

Conditions good for crawfish producers amid an expanding Texas market Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-845-7471, todd.sink@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas crawfish producers are expected to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Feb. 7

Wet weather headed to Texas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A pattern of wet weather lies ahead for much of the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 29

Pecan producers seeing mixed results for quality, quantity Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Pecan producers expected better yields and quality, but 2016…