Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 17, 2018

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A convergence of weather and market conditions have put a number of  Texas beef producers…

Conroe Woman Arrested For Biting Off Part Of Another Woman’s Nose

HOUSTON (AP) _ A woman is accused of biting off and swallowing part of another woman’s nose after being asked to leave the victim’s home in Southeast Texas. Station KTRK-TV…

Houston Urban Food Production Conference July 27

Contact: Skip Richter, 713-274-0950, rrichter@ag.tamu.edu HOUSTON –  The Houston Urban Food Production Conference, covering commercial and backyard food growing, as well as selling produce, will be held from 8 a.m.…

Institute to host urban best management training July 25

Contacts: Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu. Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host an Urban Best Management Practices for Watershed Planning Training…

As Trump backlash continues, STEM professionals in Texas run for office

Clockwise from bottom left: Allison Lami Sawyer, Michelle Beckley, Joseph Kopser, Carla Morton, and Rick Kennedy are Democrats with backgrounds in STEM running for office this year. Marjorie Kamys Cotera:…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 10, 2018

Bollworm emergence causing problems in cotton Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton producers who planted Bt pest-resistant varieties in some parts…

NASA has selected six women and men to join the elite corps of flight directors who will lead mission control for a variety of new operations at the agency’s Johnson…

Henly new Texas 4-H communications, marketing specialist

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu Callie Henly 979-458-2508, callie.henly@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Callie Henly is the new marketing and communications specialist for the Texas…

Is a massive tunnel system the answer to Houston’s flood woes?

Picture this: Another massive rainstorm overtakes Houston, but instead of inundating homes and businesses, much of the floodwater funnels into a massive underground tunnel system that whisks it away to the…

Trump administration announces nearly $5 billion for Texas flood control projects

The Theater District in downtown Houston on Sunday, Aug 27, 2017, is flooded by water from Buffalo Bayou.  Michael Stravato for The Texas Tribune Almost a year after Hurricane Harvey…

Flash flooding in Houston sparks memories of Harvey

Hurricane Harvey left Ty Boufford’s home with 8 inches of water when it struck the Houston area last August. For several days after, Boufford and his family were trapped in…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 3, 2018

Texas facing long, hot summer Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions continue to persist in much of the state as…

Hays County residents fear the fight to protect their water was all for nothing

Hays County residents thought their water was saved. Houston-based Electro Purification had plans to pump 5.3 million gallons of water per day from the Trinity Aquifer. The area wasn’t regulated by…

Patil elected new horticulture for human health chair

Newly created division part of International Society for Horticultural Sciences Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Bhimu Patil, head of the Vegetable and Fruit Improvement Center…

4-H’ers awarded $2.4M in scholarships at Texas 4-H Roundup

Contact: Sarah Hamm, 979-845-1213, sarah.hamm@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Texas 4-H’ers took home more than $2.4 million in scholarships during the 71st annual Texas 4-H Roundup held at Texas A&M University…

Coastal forecast should remind Texans to be vigilant, prepared for floods

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Steven Mikulencak, 607-592-3115, smikulencak@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With days…

Beef market, weather outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course

Media Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The outlook for consumer beef demand as well as price forecasts for the cattle market will…

Texas Crop and Weather Report

Consumers should find good prices, options for Fourth of July grilling Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu      Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Harris County sets election over $2.5 billion bond to fund flood protection projects after Harvey

A $2.5 billion bond proposal that would fund flood protection projects in the Houston area will go to Harris County voters on Aug. 25, the one-year anniversary of when Hurricane…