Bipartisan Budget Act changes to cotton program require producer action

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Decisions must be made for the 2018 cotton crop being planted now, according to a Texas A&M…

Resistant varieties, beneficial predators can help producers win sugarcane aphid battle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ada Szczepaniec, 806-354-5806, ada.szczepaniec@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – While sugarcane aphids have been difficult to suppress in past years due to their natural traits and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Farm bill effects on cotton producers to be discussed at May 14-16 meetings

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Smith, 806-746-6101, j-smith34@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host a series of cotton meetings…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

Critical Texas drought forecast may alter summer crop planting decisions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas High Plains is under extreme drought and if current conditions continue, producers need to make…

Feedyard greenhouse gas study analyzes emissions, mitigation factors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Casey, 806-677-5600, kdcasey@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – A week spent in a feedyard pen is helping researchers gain a better understanding of greenhouse gas…

Dryland wheat crop hanging on; root development is key

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, QXue@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The dryland wheat crop is hanging on by a thread, of sorts. Root development on wheat plants…

Drones help researchers monitor High Plains wheat

Moisture-deficient winter offers prime drought-tolerance measurements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research dryland wheat variety nursery near Bushland…

Beef influence on dairy cattle could improve marketing options, bottom line

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ted.mccollum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dairy owners might be able to add more to their bottom line if they introduce a beef…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 20

Danger of frost has passed for much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Commercial and amateur vegetable growers are actively…

AgriLife Extension offers publications for wildfire preparation, safety

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Tim Steffens, 806-651-2781, tsteffens@wtamu.edu Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, morgan.russell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Preparing for wildfire response ahead of time is one of the most…

Panel highlights importance of dairy workforce training, documentation

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, e-jordan2@tamu.eduTiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tdowell@tamu.edu AMARILLO – After a number of U.S. Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, or ICE, audits…

AgriLife expert: New farm bill may get pushed through this year

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Ask the man who has completed six farm bill cycles when a new bill will be pushed through…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

Cotton planting management highlighted in two AgriLife Extension studies

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – New and returning cotton producers may want to carefully consider…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 27, 2018

Recent rains help planting conditions, but drought persists in some areas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan,  gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Recent rainfall has set up much…

Chemigation control of sugarcane aphids a viable option

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Producers might hear a term from the past when they begin looking for solutions to treat the sugarcane…

Texas A&M AgriLife bids farewell to Vice Chancellor, Dean Mark A. Hussey

West campus agriculture complex, teaching gardens among AgriLife career highlights Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Mark A. Hussey is quick to credit the people of Texas…

AgriLife Extension cotton trial results released for High Plains, Rolling Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, Seth.Byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Just in time for cotton…