AgriLife Extension pilots High Plains multi-county positions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.eduDr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is piloting positions for two multi-county agronomy agents and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

AgriLife Research study: Fumonisin not detrimental to beef cattle diets

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jenny Jennings, 806-677-5600, Jenny.Jennings@ag.tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Increasing levels of dietary fumonisin do not adversely affect feedlot cattle performance, according to…

Maeda joins AgriLife Extension cotton program in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Murilo Maeda, 806-746-6101, mmaeda@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Dr. Murilo Maeda is returning to his roots when he trades the Texas coast for the South…

Forage sorghum field day demonstrates high yielding varieties, sugarcane update

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service forage sorghum trials west of Amarillo provide…

AgriLife Extension hires plant pathologist to serve Amarillo region

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ken Obasa, 806-677-5600, ken.obasa@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Ken Obasa has been hired as a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service plant pathology specialist in…

Texas A&M AgriLife high tunnel study expands

Team to add flower, vegetable seed production Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Many interested producers showed up to learn more about high tunnels at…

AgriLife Extension to offer Building Healthy Workplaces training Oct. 17 in Amarillo

Conference offers blueprint for improving employee wellness Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Miquela Smith, 806-677-5600, miquela.smith@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host “Building a Healthy Workplace:…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

AgriLife Research’s Marek recognized with ASABE John Deere Gold Medal

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Marek, 806-677-5600, tmarek@tamu.edu DETROIT – Thomas Marek is the 2018 recipient of the John Deere Gold Medal, recognized for his outstanding contributions to…

Texas A&M AgriLife’s High Plains wheat ‘Top Picks’ list released

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Each year, experts with the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 31, 2018

Pest numbers climbing in South Plains,Panhandle summer crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Infestations of damaging pests are increasing on corn,…

High tunnel vegetable, flower seed production highlight Aug. 9 special event

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Vegetable Production and High Value Horticultural Crop Seed Production will be a special afternoon breakout session Aug. 9…

Dryland cotton suffering while irrigated cotton looks good

Lack of moisture causes some producers to replant Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.eduDr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Much like producers’ fields across the…

Sugarcane aphid populations popping up in High Plains sorghum fields

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Like the popup showers that have dotted the state, the sugarcane aphid is starting to show up all…

Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day set Aug. 9 at Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, qxue@ag.tamu.edu BUSHLAND – A Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife and the…

New AgriLife Extension dairy specialist located in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Piñeiro, 806-677-5600, juan.pineiro@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Juan Piñeiro, veterinarian, joined the faculty at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in…

Connecting agriculture to human health mission of new Texas A&M vice chancellor

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Most people don’t understand the role agriculture plays in their health and daily lives, but Texas A&M University’s new vice chancellor for Agriculture…

Annual Texas A&M potato breeding field day set July 12 near Springlake

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Creighton Miller, 979-219-3388, jcmiller@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – The Texas Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program field day in the High Plains will be July…

Farm bill discussions set for High Plains cotton producers June 19-20, July 12

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host another round of cotton meetings in the High Plains June…