Summer Foods Summer Meals program feeds, educates South Texas youths

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melissa De Leon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SOUTH TEXAS — An ongoing free meal program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is nourishing the bodies and minds of…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 1, 2018

Lack of rain and low temperatures hinder warm-season crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – State Climatologist John Nielsen-Gammon, College Station,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

After years of living alongside troops, border residents see little impact from Trump's deployment so far

HIDALGO, Texas – Ron and Janella Frankl Reicks had just finished an early steak dinner when they stepped outside of their home here and chuckled about snow falling back in their native Iowa while they enjoyed…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for May 19 in Mercedes

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MERCEDES — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship, or CRSNC, will present the South…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 17, 2018

Hay producers should hold fertilizer application until temperatures rise Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Warm-season grasses are breaking dormancy but not actively growing…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 10, 2018

Drought conditions affecting herd stocking rates in West Texas, Panhandle Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bruce Carpenter, 432-336-8585, bb-carpenter@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 3, 2018

Adequate chill hours setting fruit crops nicely Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Adequate chill hours and good spring conditions have peach and…

Grape Growing and Wine Festival set April 7 in Monte Alto

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MONTE ALTO – The Grape Growing and Wine Festival 2018 will be from 4:30-8 p.m. April 7 at Rio Farms…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 27, 2018

Most planted sorghum fields in good shape, unplanted areas dealing with drought Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Sorghum fields have…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 20

Danger of frost has passed for much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Commercial and amateur vegetable growers are actively…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Feb. 27, 2018

Recent rains help planting conditions, but drought persists in some areas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan,  gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Recent rainfall has set up much…

Vegetable grower education program March 6 in Mission

Practical aspects of new water conservation technologies to be highlighted                                       Contact: Lucas Gregory, 979-845-7869, LFGregory@ag.tamu.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MISSION – An education program for Rio Grande Valley vegetable…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Arminda​ ​”Mindy”​ ​Garza, ​a ​small​ ​Business​ ​owner​ ​and​ ​Immigration​ ​consultant,​ ​has​ ​filed for​ ​Justice​ ​of​ ​The​ ​Peace​ ​for​ ​Precinct​ ​3,​ ​Place​ ​2,​ ​according​ ​to​ ​a​…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 28, 2017

Low grain prices bad for farmers but good for livestock producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Plentiful grain supplies likely mean…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2017

Prices on wholesale holiday turkeys, hams at five-year low Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…