Seeking change & compromise in the midst of critical needs and political unrest By Mary Scott Nabers Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The collection of Toll Road Fees became such…

On a new health portal, 23andMe encourages customers to share how they manage common health conditions. It’s not hard to see who gets the better side of the deal. Source:…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research, Extension converge at EarthX April 20-22

Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS – Texas A&M AgriLife Research and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will showcase environmental initiatives in more than 2,400 square feet of display…

Lifesaving Award Presented To Five Bryan Police Officers

Five Bryan police officers recently received lifesaving awards from the department. Officer Kelley McKethan says the group assisted a man in crisis after he threatened to jump from the six…

Johnson & Johnson tops 1Q views on sales spike, but net dips

Much-higher spending and one-time charges offset a12.6 percent jump in health care giant Johnson & Johnson’s first-quarter revenue, trimming its profit by 1.2 percent, but the results still beat Wall…

Houston-area toxic waste site removed from priority cleanup list

A pit of toxic sludge along the San Jacinto River east of Houston is no longer on a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency priority cleanup list, the agency announced Monday. The…

Health Update Of Former First Lady Barbara Bush

From the office of George H.W. Bush: Following a recent series of hospitalizations, and after consulting her family and doctors, Mrs. Bush, now age 92, has decided not to seek…

US stocks edge lower as earnings season takes off

NEW YORK (AP) — U.S. indexes were mostly lower in morning trading Friday as gains for companies in the energy, health care and utility industries were offset by losses in…

Retirement Announcements Of Brazos County Health Department Director & Brazos County Expo General Manager

Two retirement announcements were made at this week’s Brazos County commissioners court meeting. Commissioner Steve Aldrich, who is the county’s representative on the health board, said director Ken Bost will…

Taste of Fiesta program April 28 in San Antonio

AgriLife Extension program will focus on peppers, salsa Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 21-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Operation Parliament, who is doing what?

Summary Kaspersky Lab has been tracking a series of attacks utilizing unknown malware since early 2017. The attacks appear to be geopolitically motivated and target high profile organizations. The objective…

Three one-day Harvey Communities Forums slated for April

Disaster rebuild, recovery programs to be in Beaumont, Rosenberg, Victoria Dr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.edu Charriss York, 281-694-5508, cyork@tamu.edu Steven Mikulencak, 607-592-3115, smikulencak@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas A&M AgriLife…

Soon, anyone curious about their health will be able to request a clinical DNA test—not just doctors. Source: Science News

FDA puts restrictions on birth control implant but no recall

WASHINGTON (AP) — U.S. health officials on Monday placed new restrictions on a permanent contraceptive implant that has been subject to reports of painful complications from thousands of women. But…

Ranchers learn about the injection-site blemishes, value of beef carcass

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Paschal, 361-265-9203, joe.paschal@ag.tamu.edu FORT WORTH – A team of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialists demonstrated how much injection–site blemishes can diminish…

Turfgrass tips to make a lawn the envy of the neighborhood

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-0603, bgrubbs@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Springtime is a good time to prepare lawns for a healthy summer as warm-season grasses come…

Agriculture under secretary Northey to speak at beef conference April 24 in Canadian

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Holloway, 806-323-9114, Andy.Holloway@ag.tamu.edu CANADIAN – U.S. Under Secretary for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Service Bill Northey will be the keynote speaker April 24…

Expert: Misplaced metal scrapie ear tags could pose risk to sheep shearer, sheep

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – A switch from plastic to metal ear tags could spell trouble for sheep shearers…

Congress shouldn’t mess with Medicare Part D success that 40 million seniors depend on By Kenneth E. Thorpe Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congress just passed a new budget deal to fund the federal…

Path to the Plate event slated for April 14 in Robstown

Program connects local agriculture to health, nutrition Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Ott, 361-767-5217. j-ott@ag.tamu.edu ROBSTOWN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Nueces County will…