Speaker Ryan talking tax reform at New Balance shoe factory

LAWRENCE, Mass. (AP) — House Speaker Paul Ryan is pitching Republican plans for overhauling the nation’s tax code as his party looks to reset amid its struggles on repealing and…

Different Decisions On Pay Raises By Local School Boards As A Brazos Valley Lawmaker Calls To Add Teacher Retirement Benefits To The Special Session

The Bryan school board has not decided on all pay raises for next year. Action was postponed on what teachers and other professionals receive. The board sided with the recommendation…

AgriLife Extension brings Worksite Wellness program to High Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is taking its wellness programs to work sites across the High…

Last week, HHS abruptly canceled two years and $213 million worth of grants meant to aid teen pregnancy prevention, stunning public health researchers around the country. Source: Science News

'Let Obamacare fail,' Trump declares as GOP plan collapses

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Donald Trump declared Tuesday it’s time to “let Obamacare fail” after the latest GOP health care plan crashed and burned in the Senate, a stunning failure…

Stocker cattle, wheat conference set for Aug. 1 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Oklahoma – With low wheat prices, stocker cattle options for farmers and…

Natural Gas Line Hit By Contractor Closes Texas A&M’s Beutel Health Center

Texas A&M issued a Code Maroon alert Thursday afternoon shortly before 2 p.m. due to a natural gas leak that closed the Beutel Health Center. A spokesman at Atmos Energy…

Military veteran-oriented farm tour, workshop slated for Aug. 4-5 in Dallas

Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu A Texas AgrAbility farm tour and From Battleground to Breaking Ground workshop will be held Aug. 4-5 in Dallas. (Texas A&M…

Restaurant Monitor for July 12

The Restaurant Monitor is a weekly listing of scores for restaurants inspected by the Brazos County Health Department. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

Using smartphones to study public health requires reliable data—and researchers, even at well-connected universities like Stanford, still have a hard time getting their hands on the truly good stuff. Source:…

Food safety training for farmers offered July 27 in Prairie View

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu PRAIRIE VIEW — Fruit and vegetable growers are encouraged to attend a food safety training July 27 at the…

Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp provides youth with leadership skills

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Shawnte Clawson, 806-677-5600, sfclawson@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – About 90 youth from the Panhandle and South Plains districts attended the annual Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp June…

WV reliance on Obama law makes it tough for GOP senator

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (AP) — West Virginia likes to say it’s “almost heaven.” Less idyllic is the spot its Republican senator, Shelley Moore Capito, is in as she decides whether to…

Senator Cruz Comments On Health Care Reform

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) – Sen. Ted Cruz is expressing doubt about whether the Republican-backed plan to repeal and replace former President Barack Obama’s health care law will pass the Senate.…

AgriLife Extension’s reach is rooted in East Texas

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu SMITH COUNTY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Overton will celebrate 50 years serving Texans on July 12. AgriLife Extension has…

Blinn College Trustees Approve Expanding Footprint On The RELLIS Campus

Blinn College’s board of trustees have approved the administration’s request to negotiate an agreement with the Texas A&M system to share another new building at the RELLIS campus. The 40,000…

Walk Across Texas helps Texans make strides toward better health

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu Michael Lopez, 979-845-6631, mllopez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – While the Walk Across Texas program activities continue throughout the state, some groups…

Beef Cattle Short Course animal health sessions Aug 7-9 in College Station

Issues to be addressed include fever tick, trichomoniasis Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Tom Hairgrove, 979-845-3216, tbhairgrove@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION  – Animal health issues…

AgriLife Research in Amarillo taking to the skies with drones

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Brent Auvermann, 806-677-5600, b-auvermann@tamu.edu Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The maiden voyage of the first unmanned aerial system or drone by…

Grazing to improve soil health, producer profits

Texas A&M AgriLife researcher leads effort to find optimum management strategies Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Richard Teague, 940-552-9941, Richard.Teague@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Dr. Richard Teague might be considered…