AgriLife Extension pilots High Plains multi-county positions

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.eduDr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is piloting positions for two multi-county agronomy agents and…

Urban riparian, stream restoration workshop set for Nov. 7 in San Antonio

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 8:30…

After historic Texas flooding, officials will likely open more floodgates on Central Texas dam

Record rainfall in Llano and Burnet counties in the Texas Hill Country caused major flooding in Marble Falls on Oct. 16, 2016. Bob Daemmrich for The Texas Tribune Across Central…

National scientists, professionals, enthusiasts converge at Texas A&M turfgrass, landscape field day

Dr. Ambika Chandra, Texas A&M AgriLife Research associate professor in Dallas, leads a discussion on her team’s latest turfgrass varieties and breeding initiatives. (Texas A&M AgriLife photo by Sarah Pyatt)…

Symposium focuses on human diet, ‘cross-talk’ between gut microbes and host physiology

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Robert S. Chapkin, 979-845-0419, r-chapkin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Scientists at Texas A&M University recently participated in the day-long Grand Challenges Symposium…

AgriLife Extension experts offer tips for safer, healthier Halloween

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300,mailto:Castevens@ag.tamu.edu Elaine Montemayor-Gonzalez, 361-668-5705, elaine.montemayor-gonzalez@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN – While Halloween means children dressing in costume and going through the neighborhood in search of…

Restaurant Monitor: Oct. 17

The Restaurant Monitor is a weekly listing of scores for restaurants inspected by the Brazos County Health Department. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

Researchers used people’s Facebook data and their medical records to detect early symptoms of a mental health problem. Source: Science News

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Governor Greg Abbott has ordered the Texas State Operations Center (SOC) to elevate its readiness level as severe weather and flooding continue to impact…

Protein derived from cottonseed for human nutrition one step closer to reality

Texas A&M receives USDA-APHIS deregulation approval Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677- 5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduDr. Keerti Rathore, 979-862-4795, rathore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cottonseed ground into flour to deliver protein to millions of people,…

Sheep, goat conference set Nov. 14 in Lamesa

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Gary Roschetzky, 806-872-3444, gary.roschetzky@ag.tamu.edu LAMESA – A Sheep and Goat Production Conference hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Dawson County will…

How Washington unleashed fossil-fuel exports and sold out on climate

The Trump White House has capitalized on fossil-fuel exports made possible by the Obama administration. Energy Secretary Rick Perry is shown here on Aug. 2, 2017 welcoming his predecessor, Ernest…

Lorrie Coop named national Extension Educator of the Year

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Lorrie Coop, 940-459-2651, ljcoop@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Lorrie Coop, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and community health agent in Knox County has been named…

Mark Benden, PhD, director of the Ergonomics Center at Texas A&M, explains the science of how people work and how we can all be healthier doing so. (Hint: Move more!)…

Precision agriculture, nutrition discussed during tour of AgriLife center in Temple

Personnel share info on a variety of local, regional, global activities Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Gerik, 254-774-6128, tgerik@brc.tamus.edu TEMPLE — Dr. Patrick Stover, vice chancellor for…

By State Rep. Todd Hunter Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Each year, the month of October is recognized as Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Spearheaded by the National Breast Cancer Foundation,…

As oil and gas exports surge, West Texas becomes the world’s “extraction colony”

Vehicles pass oil pumpjacks at sunrise in the Permian Basin region of West Texas. Jerod Foster for The Texas Tribune MIDLAND — Drilling booms have come and gone in this…

The two most likely Election Results, and what they’d mean for the country By Matt Mackowiak Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Every time an election comes around, candidates call…

Restaurant Monitor: Oct. 10

The Restaurant Monitor is a weekly listing of scores for restaurants inspected by the Brazos County Health Department. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle