Trump unveils major rollback of Obama's Clean Power Plan

The Big Brown power plant in Fairfield, Texas Robert W. Hart The Trump administration on Tuesday unveiled a plan that will drastically curtail an Obama-era regulation that would’ve required states…

Small Acreage Horticulture Conference set Aug. 23 in Weslaco

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu WESLACO – The Small Acreage Horticulture Conference will be from 9 a.m. to 2:45 p.m. Aug. 23 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

Guar, wheat integration focus of new Texas A&M AgriLife study

Environmental, economic benefits anticipated Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-77-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.adams@ag.tamu.eduDr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu   VERNON – A team of scientists from Texas A&M AgriLife and…

Facebook Working on Wellness Challenge to begin Sept. 10

Six-week online challenge will address body, mind   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Raquel Rodriguez, 830-774-7591, raquel.rodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Stacy Drury, 830-796-7755, stacy.drury@ag.tamu.edu DEL RIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

Brazos County Crime Stoppers Sponsors Smartphone App

Brazos County Crimestoppers has provided funding for a smartphone app that allows anyone to anonymously submit tips to the Bryan and College Station school districts and local law enforcement. Sheriff…

Republican Party farm team provides strong candidates for key races By Newt Gingrich Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Tuesday’s primaries had three big lessons. The first is that President…

Dr. Patrick Stover appointed sole finalist for Texas A&M AgriLife Research director

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The sole finalist for director of Texas A&M AgriLife Research said he will strengthen long-standing commitments to applied and fundamental research…

Restaurant Monitor: Aug. 15

The Restaurant Monitor is a weekly listing of scores for restaurants inspected by the Brazos County Health Department. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

Disaster-resilient communities focus of Aug. 25 conference in La Marque

Half-day conference will address mental, physical, financial health after a disaster Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jymann Davis, 281-309-5049, Jymann.davis@ag.tamu.edu. Charriss York, 281-694-5508, cyork@tamu.edu LA MARQUE – The Texas…

Rolling Plains soil health, conservation field tour set Aug. 29 near Vernon

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pbdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – The Rolling Plains field tour, Practices to Improve Soil Health…

Water sample screening campaign in August in Burleson, Milam counties

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network is hosting a water sample screening campaign in August for Burleson and Milam counties to give…

Court orders ban on harmful pesticide, says EPA violated law

WASHINGTON (AP) — A federal appeals court ruled Thursday that the Trump administration endangered public health by keeping a widely used pesticide on the market despite extensive scientific evidence that…

Texas releases plan for how more than $209 million from Volkswagen settlement will be spent

A U.S. flag flutters in the wind above a Volkswagen dealership in Carlsbad, California, U.S. May 2, 2016. REUTERS/Mike Blake Texas wants to use more than $209 million from a…

Dinner Tonight has tips, tricks for healthier, safer back-to-school lunches

Contact: Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300, castevens@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN – While time pressures often make it difficult for parents and caretakers to think of lunch ideas or pack healthful lunches, the Texas A&M…

Growing edibles in landscape focus of Aug. 18 program in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Bexar County will present the Growing Edibles in Your…

Backyard Basics Expo in San Antonio helps attendees learn self-sufficiency

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Leyba Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 100 people attended the biannual…

Restaurant Monitor: Aug. 8

The Restaurant Monitor is a weekly listing of scores for restaurants inspected by the Brazos County Health Department. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…

Experts advise cattle producers to keep watchful eye on export markets

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The impact of U.S. beef exports on calf prices continues to rise as experts advise ranchers…

What may strike next, the World Health Organization fears, is something no doctor has ever heard of or knows how to treat. It’s come to be known as Disease X.  …