Urban Quail Appreciation Day slated Oct. 5 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752 paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, Dale.Rollins@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 979-845-1851, Amanda.Gobeli@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, San Antonio…

GOP health bill offers provisions aimed at helping 2 states

WASHINGTON (AP) — Provisions shoehorned into the Republican health care bill dangle extra money for Alaska and Wisconsin, home states of one GOP senator whose vote party leaders desperately need…

Edgewood ISD elementary students get opportunity to Learn, Grow, Eat and Go!

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, ruby.zavala@ag.tamu.eduAngie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO –  More than 200 students from Alonso S. Perales Elementary School in the Edgewood Independent School…

Sorghum silage field day adds nutritional education to crop production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lizabeth Gresham, 373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – When producers showed up to the annual Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service forage…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, DC— U.S. Congressmen Mac Thornberry (R-Clarendon) and Rick Larsen (D-Everett) introduced “The Rural Veterans Travel Enhancement Act,” H.R. 3720, to assist veterans in rural areas get to…

Two Motorcyclists Injured In Hit & Run Crashes, Drivers Of Two Cars Are Arrested

Bryan police investigated two hit and run crashes last Thursday were motorcyclists were injured and the drivers of two cars were arrested. A Bryan man driving to work before sunrise…

Texas, out-of-state 4-H’ers pitch in on Hurricane Harvey recovery efforts

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Candace Moeller, 361-526-2825, candace.moeller@ag.tamu.edu Kyle McManus, 361-767-5223, kyle.mcmanus@ag.tamu.edu Meredith Miller, 361-265-9203, meredith.miller@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Hundreds of youth in…

RNA discovery could help boost plant heat, drought tolerance

Writer: Gabe Saldana, Gabe.Saldana@ag.tamu.edu, 956-408-5040 Contact: Dr. Liming Xiong, Liming.Xiong@ag.tamu.edu, 972-952-9246 DALLAS — Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists have discovered a ribonucleic acid, or RNA, that can increase the thale…

New Texas A&M Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building grand opening celebrated at College Station

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sept. 15 marked the grand opening of the new Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building at 534 John Kimbrough Blvd. on…

New Texas A&M Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building grand opening celebrated at College Station

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sept. 15 marked the grand opening of the new Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building at 534 John Kimbrough Blvd. on…

EPA won't release benzene levels collected post-Harvey; private tests show elevated levels

As a longtime resident of Manchester, Guadalupe Hernandez is used to the chemical smells that waft through his southeast Houston neighborhood, a low-income, predominantly Hispanic community near a Valero Energy…

AgConnect simulation exercise draws national animal health leaders

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Veterinary health practitioners, federal and state officials, and others from across Texas and the U.S. recently participated in a two-day animal…

Leading Through Change virtual conference set Sept. 26-29

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Military Families Learning Network military caregiving team…

Crapemyrtle pest to be targeted by $3.3 million grant to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mengmeng Gu, 979-845-8567, mgu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The most popular flowering shrub in the U.S. has a new ally in a fight against…

In post-Harvey Houston, extent of water contamination largely unknown

When Houston-based epidemiologist Winifred Hamilton spent a few days in the field last week collecting samples of the abundant floodwater Tropical Storm Harvey had left in its wake, she was…

Distributes about $40 million in Federal & State Funds Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “While $500 is only a start for a family facing the prospect of rebuilding, this…

Time will tell what Harvey did to Texas coastal landscapes

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Stephen Brueggerhoff, 979-845-0869, Stephen.Brueggerhoff@ag.tamu.edu ANGLETON — Unlike people and animals, plants can’t evacuate when threatening weather approaches, and long tenures in flood waters can…

Restaurant Monitor for Sept. 5

The Restaurant Monitor is a weekly listing of scores for restaurants inspected by the Brazos County Health Department. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

Private water well owners should test well after a flood

Contacts: Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Private water well owners whose wells flooded from the recent rains should assume that their well water is…

AgriLife Extension EFNEP summer program feeds children’s bodies, minds

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Oscar Zamora, 956-399-4015, Oscar.Zamora@ag.tamu.edu Melissa DeLeon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SAN BENITO/EDINBURG – This summer, low-income and underserved children in the Lower Rio Grande Valley received a…