CHI St. Joseph Health Announces New Market President And CEO

News release from CHI St. Joseph Health: The CHI Texas Division has appointed Theron Park Market President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of CHI St. Joseph Health (CHI St. Joseph)…

AgriLife Extension to present summer, fall wellness workshop series

Programs at Millwood, Little Walnut Creek public libraries Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sonia Coyle, 512-854-9600, sonia.coyle@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will…

Walk Across Texas participants learn about additional health, wellness offerings at midway event

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Eighty-two Bexar County employees learned about a variety of free health and…

Restauant Monitor

The Restaurant Monitor is a weekly listing of scores for restaurants inspected by the Brazos County Health Department. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

Agriculture workshop, farm tour slated June 29-30 in the San Antonio area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862.1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agency’s Texas AgrAbility program will…

The billion-dollar, 10-year All of Us initiative promises to sequence and study the health of 1 million Americans. But will they represent the diversity of the country’s population? Source: Science…

Temple center welcomes producers, industry professionals during field day

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Gerik, 254-774-6128, t-gerik@tamu.edu TEMPLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center and U.S. Department of Agriculture Grassland Soil and Water…

TRICARE mental health care changes highlight June 13 webinar

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a free 60-minute professional…

Seven Speakers Ask The Bryan City Council To Eliminate Most Exemptions To Smoking Ban

During the public comment portion of the May 15, 2018 Bryan city council meeting, seven people spoke in support of eliminating most exemptions to the city’s smoking ban in public…

Community Resource Expo set June 14 in Booker

Others planned in the Panhandle through November Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is partnering with Panhandle…

Avoid foodborne illness while picnicking

AgriLife Extension expert offers tips on outdoor food safety Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Rebecca Dittmar, 830-896-9037, rsdittmar@ag.tamu.edu KERRVILLE – Foodborne bacteria can multiply quickly in hot temperatures, and a…

“The previous ruling not only cost a life, but could have paved the way for extending American citizens’ rights to all unlawfully-present aliens with no substantial connection to this country.”…

Engineered cotton uses weed-suppression chemical as nutrient

AgriLife Research battles herbicide-resistant weeds Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677- 5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Keerti Rathore, 979-862-4795, rathore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A newly developed fertilizer system will provide nutrition to engineered cotton…

Measures to improve school safety include increased school security and addressing mental health issues Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  (CARROLLTON) – Representative Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton) commended Governor Greg Abbott’s…

Experts remind Texans to protect children from vehicular heat death

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Bev Kellner, 979-862-1782, bkellner@ag.tamu.edu Johnny Humphreys, 512-422-7085, humphreys.johnny@gmail.com COLLEGE STATION — With summer temperatures climbing to triple digits, now is a good time to…

XIT Arts and Crafts Show accepting vendors

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Kay Rogers, 806-244-4434, kwrogers@ag.tamu.edu DALHART – The XIT Arts and Crafts Show, hosted Aug. 4 by the Texas Extension Education Association in Dallam County, promises to…

AgriLife Extension makes two county appointment announcements

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has announced two personnel appointments — a transfer and a new…

Robertson County Couple Sues The State Health Department Over The Definition of Pickled Products

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) _ A Texas couple claims in a lawsuit that burdensome state regulations have put them in a pickle because they’re prevented from supplementing their income by selling…

AgriLife Extension agent receives Texas Division of Emergency Management award

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kelly Jobe, 409-283-8284, kelly.jobe@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Kelly Jobe, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service family and community health agent, Tyler County, received the 2018…

“The Conservative Coalition has about 65 of the 95 House Republicans as members, and we’re discussing what needs to be done next session.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “There are…