Study: Deadly Wimberley floods rooted in weather patterns, intensified by development

The 40-foot wall of water that gushed down the Blanco River in May 2015, wiping out parts of Wimberley and killing more than a dozen people, was largely a natural…

Rainwater harvesting, turf management training set for Feb. 22-23 in Kyle and San Antonio

Contact: John W Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Reagan Hejl, 979-845-5252, Reagan.hejl@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Ben Wherley, 979-845-1591, b-wherley@tamu.edu Lee Marlowe, 210-302-3624, lmarlow@sara-tx.org Nick Dornak, 512-245-6697, nickdornak@plumcreekwatershed.org KYLE/SAN ANTONIO –…

San Marcos Police Officer Killed While Delivering A Warrant

Update: SAN MARCOS, Texas (AP) _ Police have revealed the identity of an officer shot and killed while serving a warrant in Central Texas. A statement issued by San Marcos,…

“I’ll fight for our liberty, our security & our future.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “A new administration promises new hope for constraining the growth of the federal government,…

Rainwater harvesting, turf management training set for Oct. 12-13 in Hill Country

Contact: John Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Reagan Hejl, 979-845-5252, Reagan.hejl@tamu.edu Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Ben Wherley, 979-845-1591, b-wherley@tamu.edu Ryan Bass, 830-248-1538, rbass@ci.boerne.tx.us Meredith Miller, 512-245-6697, mbmiller@txstate.edu BOERNE/WIMBERLEY – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

“Well Educated” training for well owners set for July 27 in Wimberley

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu WIMBERLEY– Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network “Well Educated” training July 27 in Wimberley. The training,…

Invasive Bagrada bug may cause ‘stink’ in South Central Texas

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN MARCOS — The Bagrada bug, Bagrada hilaris, an invasive stink bug that has been slowly spreading through the southwestern…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for June 1 in Wimberley

Contacts: Nikki Dictson, 979-575-4424, n-dictson@tamu.edu Katherine Romans, 512-410-9368, katherine@hillcountryalliance.org Jason Mangold, 512.393.2120, jason.mangold@ag.tamu.edu WIMBERLEY–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education Program will host a free workshop from 8…

AgriLife Extension asking South Central Texas residents to watch for pecan weevil

By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu Bill Ree, 979-845-6800, bill.reejr@ag.tamu.edu Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu   SOUTH CENTRAL TEXAS — The Texas…

Rep. Eddie Rodriguez Asks Gov. Abbott to Declare State of Disaster

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas —  November 1, 2015 — AUSTIN, TX — State Rep. Eddie Rodriguez today sent a letter to Governor Abbott regarding the floods that have affected…

New Law May Not Thwart Hays Water Project

WIMBERLEY — On a recent weeknight, nearly 200 Hays County residents packed into the Wimberley Community Center for what some described as a celebration. Six months earlier, three times as…