As Hurricane Florence bears down on East Coast, Texas faces flooding from Gulf Coast disturbance

A wide swath of Texas could experience flooding from a Gulf Coast disturbance this weekend. National Weather Service Hurricane Florence is smashing the East Coast with near 100-mph sustained winds…

Texas Keeps Landing New Businesses & Expanding Facilities By Steve Stackhouse-Kaelble Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Economic development incentives are, of course, central to a lot of big deals —…

Hurricane Harvey becomes focal point in Houston-area races for Congress

Jeremy Boutor removes personal items on an air mattress from his home in a neighborhood along Eldridge Parkway, flooded by waters released from Addicks Reservoir on Wednesday, Aug. 30, 2017,…

She's tasked with emergency planning at the Port of Corpus Christi. A year after Harvey, her community continues to rebuild.

Danielle Hale and her son, Conner, 8 help friends rebuild their home damaged by Hurricane Harvey, on August 11, 2018. Eddie Seal for The Texas Tribune CORPUS CHRISTI — Danielle…

"Mother Nature is very resilient": A year after Hurricane Harvey, coastal ecosystems are thriving

The Nueces River near Corpus Christi and the Gulf of Mexico. Courtesy Texas A&M-Corpus Christi CORPUS CHRISTI — When Larry McKinney steers his boat around the bays near Corpus Christi,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 10, 2018

Bollworm emergence causing problems in cotton Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton producers who planted Bt pest-resistant varieties in some parts…

Applauds U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s decision to approve the State Action Plan to help Texans recover from Hurricane Harvey Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. –Today, U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas)…

AgriLife Extension expert talks Bermuda grass 101

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Not all Bermuda grasses are created equal, but varieties are often confused as their own separate species, said…

Hurricane season starts June 1. Here are some ways Texans can prepare.

Hey, Texplainer: How can I prepare for the upcoming hurricane season? Hurricane season is coming — and it can be deadly. Texas got its most recent glimpse of that during…

Residents, AgriLife Extension, others work to ‘Harvey-proof’ Houston-area community

Effort leads to new Exploration Green nature park that will detain floodwater, clean runoff Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu CLEAR…

Livestream: A symposium on rebuilding after Hurricane Harvey

The Texas Tribune is presenting a symposium on rebuilding the Gulf Coast after Hurricane Harvey. During this daylong event in Corpus Christi, we will explore the storm’s effects on the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

Students from Coral Gables, Florida, and the Texas Gulf Coast will talk with astronauts aboard the International Space Station next week as part of NASA’s Year of Education on Station. …

San Antonio students travel to Padre Island to participate in beach cleanup

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu PADRE ISLAND – More than 50 students and parents from 4-H programs at Leal Middle School, Harlandale High School…

Federal judge rules Trump administration can continue building border wall

The Trump administration will be able to move ahead with building a wall along the country’s southern border after a federal judge ruled the administration could continue waiving environmental regulations…

Abbott and FEMA are using Harvey to reinvent disaster response. Some say that makes displaced Texans "guinea pigs."

ROCKPORT — In the weeks immediately after Hurricane Harvey, thousands of Texans lingered in emergency shelters, small coastal communities scrambled to restore electricity and entire neighborhoods sat swamped with moldy…

AgriLife Extension playing key role in Rebuild Texas efforts

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Susan Ballabina, 979-862-3932, sgballabina@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — As thousands of Texans still strive to rebound from the damage…

National Weather Service, AccuWeather trade blame for false tsunami warning that alarmed Texans

Around 7:30 a.m. Tuesday, residents of Texas’ Gulf Coast — as well as many on the East Coast and in the Caribbean — woke to a tsunami warning. Thirty minutes…

Experts: Use safe practices when processing, cooking feral hogs

Parasites, such as hookworms can be found in feral hogs Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Tom Hairgrove, 979-845-5419, tbhairgrove@tamu.edu Dr. Tom Craig, 979-845-3414, thomas.craig@tvmdl.tamu.edu Dr. Dan Hale, 979-845-3935,…