Summer Foods Summer Meals program feeds, educates South Texas youths

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melissa De Leon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SOUTH TEXAS — An ongoing free meal program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is nourishing the bodies and minds of…

By squeezing fluids into flat sheets, researchers can get a handle on the strange ways that turbulence feeds energy into a system instead of eating it away. Source: Science News

Beef Cattle Rebuilding Workshop slated for May 4 in Floresville

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu FLORESVILLE – A Beef Cattle Rebuilding Workshop will be conducted from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. May 4 at the…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for May 19 in Mercedes

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, brad.cowan@ag.tamu.edu MERCEDES — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship, or CRSNC, will present the South…

AgriLife Extension sets Multi-County Wildlife Field Day April 5 in Doss

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Brad Roeder, 830-997-3452, Brad.Roeder@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu DOSS – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a Multi-County Wildlife Field Day April…

Bingo, Amigo! Jackpotting: ATM malware from Latin America to the World

Introduction Of all the forms of attack against financial institutions around the world, the one that brings traditional crime and cybercrime together the most is the malicious ecosystem that exists…

Cedar Bayou water quality training rescheduled for Feb. 8

Contacts: Tyler Fitzgerald, 409-374-2123, tsfitzgerald@ag.tamu.edu Justin Bower, 713-499-6653, justin.bower@h-gac.com Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu MONT BELVIEU – Due to inclement weather, the Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – Over the last two weeks, U.S. Representative Bill Flores (R-Texas) hosted two multimedia town hall events to discuss the work being done in Washington…

Water quality training Jan. 17 to focus on Cedar Bayou watershed

Contacts: Tyler Fitzgerald, 409-374-2123, tsfitzgerald@ag.tamu.edu Justin Bower, 713-499-6653, justin.bower@h-gac.com Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu MONT BELVIEU – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the Cedar Bayou watershed…

Android commercial spyware

There’s certainly no shortage of commercial spying apps for Android, with most positioned as parental control tools. In reality, however, these apps barely differ from spyware, with the exception perhaps…

Ranch sorting school, competition set for Dec. 9 in Jourdanton

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rankin, 830-569-0034, dale.rankin@ag.tamu.edu JOURDANTON — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Atascosa County, Cinch Ranch Sorting National Championship and Cowboy Fellowship…

It takes a village … a city, a world

Scientists seek global collaborations to find ways to feed growing population Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mo Way, 409-658-2186, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu BEAUMONT — Aditi Pandey is one of more…

Reports of tainted Texas corn raise concern among some deer hunters

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu                 Dr. Cat Barr, 979-845-3414, acbarr@tvmdl.tamu.edu                 THRALL – Concerns over corn tainted with Fusarium fungi, which can produce…

Landowner workshop to review property protection laws, practices

Contact: Dr. John M. Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu LLANO – An Oct. 6 workshop in Llano will serve as a landowner’s crash course on the legal aspects of property protection, program…

AgConnect simulation exercise draws national animal health leaders

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Veterinary health practitioners, federal and state officials, and others from across Texas and the U.S. recently participated in a two-day animal…

Crapemyrtle pest to be targeted by $3.3 million grant to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mengmeng Gu, 979-845-8567, mgu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The most popular flowering shrub in the U.S. has a new ally in a fight against…

AgriLife Extension EFNEP summer program feeds children’s bodies, minds

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Oscar Zamora, 956-399-4015, Oscar.Zamora@ag.tamu.edu Melissa DeLeon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SAN BENITO/EDINBURG – This summer, low-income and underserved children in the Lower Rio Grande Valley received a…

Neutralization reaction

 Incident Response Guide (PDF) Despite there being no revolutionary changes to the cyberthreat landscape in the last few years, the growing informatization of business processes provides cybercriminals with numerous opportunities…

Watermelon trial provides useful information for Texas producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service melon trials at the San Antonio…

Invasive Bagrada bug may cause ‘stink’ in South Central Texas

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN MARCOS — The Bagrada bug, Bagrada hilaris, an invasive stink bug that has been slowly spreading through the southwestern…