Ag experts discuss handling big data in agriculture at Houston conference

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu HOUSTON –  Agricultural experts at a Houston conference praised the advancements in unmanned aerial vehicles, sensors and data-collecting technology used in precision crop production…

Media Advisory: Tariffs, cattle market outlook highlight Beef Cattle Short Course Aug. 6-8 in College Station

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Beef export markets and their importance to cow-calf producers will highlight the general session of the 64th Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short…

Big data in agriculture focus of Houston conference Aug. 20-21

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu HOUSTON – High-tech devices in agriculture such as unmanned aerial vehicles and sensors are leading to immense growth in data collection and deployment, and…

Annual East Texas Horticultural Field Day draws ornamental, vegetable gardeners

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, brent.pemberton@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – White pentas were among the highlights for Kathy Harris, one of the more than 300 attendees…

Extension Epsilon Sigma Phi-Alpha Zeta Chapter hosts career conference

Contact: Sonja Stueart-Davis, 713-274-0950, sstueart@ag.tamu.edu CONROE — “Leading Your Career” was the theme for the recent conference held by the Epsilon Sigma Phi-Texas Alpha Zeta chapter, a national organization dedicated to…

Farm bill, new crop technologies featured at 55th Stiles Farm Field Day

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu TAYLOR – Despite tropical weather forcing the 55th Stiles Farm Field Day indoors to nearby Taylor, there was plenty of discussion on farm issues and…

What’s seen everywhere that there’s full fencing or a wall is that illegals overwhelmingly avoid those areas. By John Hawkins As Congress is gearing up to discuss a new amnesty,…

Beef market, weather outlook to be featured at Texas A&M Beef Cattle Short Course

Media Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The outlook for consumer beef demand as well as price forecasts for the cattle market will…

Texas Crop and Weather Report

Consumers should find good prices, options for Fourth of July grilling Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu      Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Wednesday Was The Bryan Cemetery’s 150th Birthday

The Bryan city cemetery’s celebrated its 150th anniversary Wednesday with a look back and a ribbon cutting that opens space for the future. Henry Mayo of the Brazos County historical…

‘Paid Time-Off’, ‘Fair-Chance Hiring’, ‘Predictive Scheduling’ and ‘Expedited Permitting’ are just the latest in a series of ordinances Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “Paid ‘Sick-Leave’ should really be more accurately described as ‘Paid…

I know where your pet is

Kaspersky Lab’s many years of cyberthreat research would suggest that any device with access to the Internet will inevitably be hacked. In recent years, we have seen hacked toys, kettles,…

After anti-wall website launches on the border, Texas Farm Bureau fires off cease-and-desist letter

A group of Texans that has opened up a new front in the battle against President Donald Trump’s proposed wall on the southern border have already prompted one interest group to…

More American Women have chance to Save, Invest & Improve their Financial Security. By Hadley Heath Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Although the Tax Cuts & Jobs Act (TCJA)…

Economist: Marketing plans can help Central Texas farmers capitalize on grain markets

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu  Dr. Scott Nolte, 979-845-4880, scott.nolte@tamu.edu  Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu   McGREGOR – The impacts of potential trade tariffs…

Dallas Urban Quail Appreciation Day May 18

Texas A&M Natural Resources Institute associate Amanda Gobeli with Kirby Quail (AgriLife Illustration by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Amanda Gobeli, 720-333-6224, amanda.gobeli@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576,…

Path to the Plate event slated for April 14 in Robstown

Program connects local agriculture to health, nutrition Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Ott, 361-767-5217. j-ott@ag.tamu.edu ROBSTOWN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Nueces County will…

It is time to start working as a government, with 3 Independent Branches By Adryana Aldeen Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Many of us know that the Deferred Action for…

Time of death? A therapeutic postmortem of connected medicine

At last year’s Security Analyst Summit 2017 we predicted that medical networks would be a titbit for cybercriminals. Unfortunately, we were right. The numbers of medical data breaches and leaks…

Annual Brown County Ag Day set March 15 in Brownwood

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The annual Brown County Ag Day program conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is set March…