Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic Jan. 3 in Cameron

Contact: Floyd Ingram, 254-697-7045, floyd.ingram@ag.tamu.edu CAMERON –  The Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic, one of the longest-running programs offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, is scheduled for Jan. 3…

Cruz-led bipartisan legislation responds to Nicaragua crisis and holds regime accountable for human rights abuses Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) today issued the following…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Sen. John Cornyn Today U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) issued the following statement after former President George H.W. Bush passed away: “Today the nation…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 27, 2018

Texas peanut production acreage down 43 percent from 2017 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Fewer planted acres, summer drought and late-season rains…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Mary Leigh Meyer: Howdy, this is Mary Leigh Meyer. Sam Craft: And I’m her co-host, Sam Craft. Mary Leigh Meyer: And welcome to Sounds Like Health. We are here with…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

They wish there were more jobs, but rural Texans are happy where they are, poll finds

Texans in the rural counties that make up the vast majority of the state’s geography are overwhelmingly happy with their quality of life, about their public schools and the quality…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 6, 2018

Statewide pecan crop looks good despite losses from rain Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – An above-average production year for pecan growers could…

We’re living with too many bad decisions that the folks who’re involved have forced upon us By Dennis E. Nixon Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — If you ask any of…

Coufal named to Glockzin Jr. Professorship

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Contact: Dr. Craig Coufal, 979-845-4319, cdcoufal@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Craig Coufal, associate professor and Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service specialist, was appointed as…

“To hear my Democrat opponent say that Sanctuary Cities are important, and that he favors them, is unbelievable.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “Border Security is something that’s on…

Tom Green County team takes first place in National 4-H Food Challenge

Contacts: Dr. Morgan Treadwell, 325-653-4576, morgan.treadwell@ag.tamu.edu Courtney Redman, 325-659-6527, cjbarbee@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – A team from Tom Green County won the National 4-H Food Challenge held recently at the State…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 30, 2018

Texas experiences record-setting wet fall Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas weather conditions emerged from one of the hottest, driest summers…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 23, 2018

Rains delay harvests, planting schedules Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Recent rain events are delaying harvests…

Things are improving, and nobody can seriously dismiss that reality. By Guy Benson Fox News is out with a new National Poll, and it contains a few morsels that each political party…

He’s blunt, simple, willing to fight, and mistrustful of intellectuals By David Gelernter Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Democrats have no issues. The economy is booming and America’s…

Williamson County Youth Fair will be Dec. 3-6 in Taylor

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Chelsea Stevens, 512-943-3300, castevens@ag.tamu.edu TAYLOR — The 39th annual Williamson County Youth Fair will be held Dec. 3-6 at the Williamson County Expo Center,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced the Texas General Land Office (GLO) has approved all nine methods of distribution (MODs) proposed by…