Guy Fieri hosts 4-H cook-off, Carnival donates $20K at state fair

Celebrity chef Guy Fieri coaches Dallas County 4-H member and cooking contest winner Harper Burt at the State Fair of Texas in Dallas, where Carnival Cruise Line donated $20,000 to…

Are we blinding ourselves to this threat of democracy? Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Simply put, American elections are vulnerable and fraudsters know it. Not content to leave their…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Oct. 17, 2017

Conditions cause concern for High Plains corn producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu               Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011,…

AgriLife Extension publishes sheep, goat how-to validation YouTube video series

  Series meant to simplify statewide show-animal process Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published a…

AgriLife Extension touts food education at State Fair of Texas

The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service booth display at the 2017 State Fair of Texas (AgriLife photo by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Larry Pierce, 903-834-6191, lpierce@ag.tamu.edu…

Water rights seminar to address who gets dwindling reserves

Contact: Dr. Guy Fipps, 979-845-7454, g-fipps@tamu.edu McALLEN – A powerhouse speaker’s panel highlights the 2017 Seminar on Water Rights and Public Policy – The Waters of the Rio Grande to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Oct. 11

EDITOR’S NOTE: This week’s report was delayed due to the Columbus Day holiday. Cool, cloudy, wet weather creates problems for Panhandle cotton production Writers: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Paul Schattenberg,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 3, 2017

Pumpkin crop looks good, but delayed by rains Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Cristen Brooks, 806-983-4912, cristen.brooks@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – Wet weather has put a damper on the Panhandle pumpkin…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 26, 2017

Conditions brewing for warm, dry winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions around the state could worsen over the next…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 19, 2017

Sugarcane aphids not a major problem for prepared Texas sorghum producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu; Danielle Sekula, 956-878-8317, danielle.sekula@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most sorghum…

By Michael Brown The city of Berkeley was on alert. Barriers were erected to stop violent protesters. Bank of America boarded up windows. Police were authorized to use pepper spray…

Texas, out-of-state 4-H’ers pitch in on Hurricane Harvey recovery efforts

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Candace Moeller, 361-526-2825, candace.moeller@ag.tamu.edu Kyle McManus, 361-767-5223, kyle.mcmanus@ag.tamu.edu Meredith Miller, 361-265-9203, meredith.miller@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Hundreds of youth in…

The “Forgotten Americans” had legitimate grievances, which Democrats still ignore By Marc A. Thiessen  Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Now she has put the blame on a new scapegoat: millions of bigoted…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 13, 2017

Wheat acres likely to remain static or decrease slightly Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cneely@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Low wheat prices likely mean planted acreage…

Satoshi Bomb

Let us discuss what defines the profitability of bitcoin mining, what principles for mining speed adaptation were initially embedded into it, and why these principles can lead to the failure…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Attorney General Ken Paxton today announced that Texas, Nevada and 19 other states, won a final judgment from a federal district court ruling that invalidates…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 22, 2017

Overall forage production good despite wet weather, pests, weeds Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Plentiful rains have been good and bad for…

Millions consumed potentially unsafe water in the past 10 years

WOLFFORTH, Texas – As many as 63 million people – nearly a fifth of the country – from rural central California to the boroughs of New York City, were exposed…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 15, 2017

Texas vineyards poised for banner year Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jim Kamas, 830-990-4046, jim.kamas@ag.tamu.edu Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, michael.cook@ag.tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – Texas vineyards could experience a banner year as…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 8, 2017

Panhandle cotton fields look good following timely rains Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Seth Byrd, 806-746-6101, seth.byrd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Despite a poor start…