Brazos Valley Fair & Rodeo Announces Headline Entertainers

The seventh annual Brazos Valley Fair and Rodeo has announced its headliner entertainers for this year’s event. The Emotions will be performing on Friday, October 19. Diamond Rio will be…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 14, 2018

Uncertainty surrounds exports affecting Texas producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Ribera, 979-845-3070, lribera@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ongoing negotiations regarding the North American Free Trade Agreement and…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) released the following statement after Chairman Grassley announced that the Senate Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on Judge…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…

In Wimberley, a fight bubbles up over sewage and a beloved swimming hole

Visitors enjoy spring-fed Cypress Creek at Blue Hole Regional Park on July 19, 2018. Marjorie Kamys Cotera for The Texas Tribune * Correction appended. In November 2012, more than 100,000…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 31, 2018

Pest numbers climbing in South Plains,Panhandle summer crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Infestations of damaging pests are increasing on corn,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 24

Record high temperatures around the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most areas of the state have set or tied high…

Hidalgo County 4-H members recognized at 2018 4-H Roundup

July 18, 2018 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Luis Saldana, 956-968-5581, luis.saldana@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Four Hidalgo County 4-H’ers were standouts at the 2018 Texas 4-H Roundup held recently in…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 17, 2018

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A convergence of weather and market conditions have put a number of  Texas beef producers…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 10, 2018

Bollworm emergence causing problems in cotton Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton producers who planted Bt pest-resistant varieties in some parts…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 3, 2018

Texas facing long, hot summer Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions continue to persist in much of the state as…

Texas-New Mexico water fight could be impacted by SCOTUS ruling

A U.S. Supreme Court decision on Wednesday in a water fight between Florida and Georgia could have implications for a similar legal battle between Texas and New Mexico over the Rio…

Texas Crop and Weather Report

Consumers should find good prices, options for Fourth of July grilling Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu      Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

If you want a fair fight between a lion and a human playing tug of war, you should give the lion a pair of tennis shoes. Source: Science News

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Farm bill discussions set for High Plains cotton producers June 19-20, July 12

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: DeDe Jones, 806-677-5600, dljones@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host another round of cotton meetings in the High Plains June…

Potential “Censure Resolution” will Define Texas’ GOP Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Historically, state political conventions come and go with little consequence — other than a few embarrassing headlines…

Begun under President Obama, 3 Sanctuaries added per month during his two terms Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Entire states such as California, Illinois & New York now call…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 5, 2018

Crop, cattle conditions declining around much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, curtis.adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging drought…

‘Paid Time-Off’, ‘Fair-Chance Hiring’, ‘Predictive Scheduling’ and ‘Expedited Permitting’ are just the latest in a series of ordinances Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “Paid ‘Sick-Leave’ should really be more accurately described as ‘Paid…