Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 28, 2017

Low grain prices bad for farmers but good for livestock producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Plentiful grain supplies likely mean…

Water use, drought-tolerant hybrids still key to dryland crop production

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, Qingwu.xue@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Risk management is the name of the…

New cookbook a tool in statewide preventative health initiative

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension agents and specialists pass out samples from a cooking demonstration of recipes from the agency’s new Essentials cookbook and Healthy Texas initiative at the State Fair…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Nov. 21, 2017

Catfish production down but Texas producers faring well Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Todd Sink, 979-845-7471, todd.sink@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas catfish production is down, but that’s not…

“I’m telling my story, because there may be others.” Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Democrat Senators scrambled and quickly went into damage control mode to contain the fallout of…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2017

Prices on wholesale holiday turkeys, hams at five-year low Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Texas 4-H awards grants to clubs in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey

Almost $125,000 provided for rebuilding 4-H clubs, communities Contacts: Dr. Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Sarah Hamm, 979-845-1213, sarah.hamm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas 4-H Youth…

Calf market trends, forage production highlight South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu BRENHAM – Beef cattle producers from throughout the South Central Texas region learned more about producing calves that fit…

Prime Minister Hun Sen must free Kem Sokha immediately Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) today issued the following statement regarding a letter the Cambodian Embassy sent…

“I have a proven record of delivering conservative results to make our government more effective, while limiting its powers.” Texas Insider Report: HOUSTON, Texas — “Congressman Poe has been a…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 7, 2017

Texas peanut crop looks promising Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Woodward, 806-746-6101, jewoodward@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Peanut harvest has started across the state, and harvested acres provided good…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 31, 2017

Armyworms plaguing pastures, winter forages Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Cool temperatures and wet weather created prime conditions for fall armyworms and major…

Tales from the blockchain

Cryptocurrency has gradually evolved from an element of a new world, utopian economy to a business that has affected even those sectors of society least involved in information technology. At…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 24, 2017

Deer season expected to provide good opportunities for hunters Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: John Tomecek, 325-657-7311, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The general hunting season for white-tailed deer opens…

Guy Fieri hosts 4-H cook-off, Carnival donates $20K at state fair

Celebrity chef Guy Fieri coaches Dallas County 4-H member and cooking contest winner Harper Burt at the State Fair of Texas in Dallas, where Carnival Cruise Line donated $20,000 to…

Are we blinding ourselves to this threat of democracy? Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — Simply put, American elections are vulnerable and fraudsters know it. Not content to leave their…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Oct. 17, 2017

Conditions cause concern for High Plains corn producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu               Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011,…

AgriLife Extension publishes sheep, goat how-to validation YouTube video series

  Series meant to simplify statewide show-animal process Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marty Gibbs, 325-653-4576, mj-gibbs@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published a…

AgriLife Extension touts food education at State Fair of Texas

The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service booth display at the 2017 State Fair of Texas (AgriLife photo by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Larry Pierce, 903-834-6191, lpierce@ag.tamu.edu…

Water rights seminar to address who gets dwindling reserves

Contact: Dr. Guy Fipps, 979-845-7454, g-fipps@tamu.edu McALLEN – A powerhouse speaker’s panel highlights the 2017 Seminar on Water Rights and Public Policy – The Waters of the Rio Grande to…