Texas A&M entomologist hot on the trail to stop global locust devastation

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Hojun Song, 979-845-2481, hsong@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – From time immemorial, man has suffered from the devastation wrought by locust swarms of biblical…

Spray drift damage: What landowners need to know

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tiffany.dowell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – With summer crop production in full swing, pesticide spray drift can cause damage to neighboring property owners,…

UPDATE: Interview With Bryan Lawyer Chosen To Lead The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Photo of retired general Bentley Nettles from the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. A friend made who suggested looking into the opening, started the path that led to Bryan lawyer Bentley…

Texas A&M AgriLife celebrates 50 years in Overton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Long, 903-834-6191, charles.long@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Overton celebrated its 50th year of research, innovation…

Bryan Lawyer Chosen To Lead The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

The Bryan city council ended Tuesday night’s meeting by applauding the choice of the next executive director of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC). The applause followed city manager Kean…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 11

Bollworms mount attack on some Texas cotton, grain sorghum Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Insect damage to crops is ramping up…

Bitscout – The Free Remote Digital Forensics Tool Builder

Being a malware researcher means you are always busy with the struggle against mountains of malware and cyberattacks around the world. Over the past decade, the number of daily new…

Schroedinger’s Pet(ya)

Earlier today (June 27th), we received reports about a new wave of ransomware attacks spreading around the world, primarily targeting businesses in Ukraine, Russia and Western Europe. If you were…

New Texas A&M AgriLife sweetclover variety – Silver River Sweetclover – paradise for pollinators

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gerald Smith, 903-834-6191, gerald.smith@ag.tamu.edu TALOGA, OKLAHOMA – Donning his beekeeper suit, Charles Touchstone, of Arapaho, Oklahoma, stepped a few feet inside a buzzing…

Every Saturday we round up the biggest cybersecurity news of the week. Source: Science News

AgriLife Extension announces new 2017 crop hail-out and replant guide

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The latest Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service crop hail-damage assessment and replant guide is now available,…

Ztorg: from rooting to SMS

I’ve been monitoring Google Play Store for new Ztorg Trojans since September 2016, and have so far found several dozen new malicious apps. All of them were rooting malware that…

AgriLife Extension, El Progreso Memorial Library to present month-long quail appreciation program

July program in Uvalde will include visual, reading, hands-on activities Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Samantha Korzekwa, 830-591-9046, Samantha.Korzekwa@ag.tamu.edu Amanda Gobeli, 979-845-1851, Amanda.Gobeli@ag.tamu.edu Mendell…

New knitting club forms in Bryan-College Station

A new knitting club has formed in Bryan-College Station. The Close Knit Friends Knitting Group meets every Tuesday at 12:30 p.m. in the Quilters Cafe at CHI St. Joseph hospital,…

Freshen wood with two-tone makeover

Around my house, many makeovers happen out of necessity. We have a lovely eat-in bar at our kitchen island that my young ones belly up to every morning for breakfast.…

Barbecue Summer Camp teaches finer aspects of smoking meat

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Davey Griffin, 979-845-3935, dgriff@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Who says summer camp is just for youth? At Texas A&M University, adults flocked to summer…

Dvmap: the first Android malware with code injection

In April 2017 we started observing new rooting malware being distributed through the Google Play Store. Unlike other rooting malware, this Trojan not only installs its modules into the system,…

New Blue Bell President Speaks At Leadership Brazos Alumni Association Luncheon

In the next couple of years, expect to see the old Blue Bell back. Three months into his new position as Blue Bell president, Ricky Dickson spoke at Wednesday’s Leadership…

Field day opens Temple research center to the public

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Tom Gerik, 254-774-6128, t-gerik@tamu.edu TEMPLE – The first field day at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Temple and U.S.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 6

Moisture levels and water availability looking good for most of Texas Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Moisture levels in most of…