Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop Sept. 27 in Bryan

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – The Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Attorney General Ken Paxton today announced that he has appointed current Texas Assistant Solicitor General Kyle Hawkins to serve as Solicitor General. Hawkins succeeds…

Report: Texas criteria for polluted site cleanup 'significantly weaker' than neighboring states

The San Jacinto River Waste Pits, an EPA Superfund site that is contaminated with dioxins, is located off Interstate 10 east of Houston. Michael Stravato The criteria Texas uses to…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for Sept. 19 in Corsicana

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Michelle Wood-Ramirez, 817-720-4552, michelle.wood-ramirez@trwd.com Page Bishop, 903-654-3075, page.bishop@ag.tamu.edu CORSICANA – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a free Texas Riparian…

Water well owner training set for Sept. 25 in Carthage

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu CARTHAGE — A Texas Well Owner Network. or TWON, training has been scheduled for Sept. 25 in Carthage. The training, which is free and…

Texas Water Resources Institute protection plan for Lavaca River accepted by EPA

Contact: Michael Schramm, 979- 458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recently accepted the Lavaca River Watershed Protection Plan developed by the…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Joined by Louisiana and Mississippi, Attorney General Ken Paxton late yesterday filed a motion in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of…

The Environmental Protection Agency says the new plan will result in more air pollution deaths. Source: Science News

Trump unveils major rollback of Obama's Clean Power Plan

The Big Brown power plant in Fairfield, Texas Robert W. Hart The Trump administration on Tuesday unveiled a plan that will drastically curtail an Obama-era regulation that would’ve required states…

Rainwater harvesting, turf management training Sept. 20-21 in Boerne, San Antonio

Contacts: John W Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-3041, bgrubbs@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Reagan Hejl, 979-845-5252, Reagan.hejl@tamu.edu Lee Marlowe, 210-302-3624, lmarlow@sara-tx.org SAN ANTONIO – Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas Water Resources Institute to hold water quality meeting Aug. 23 in Belton

Contacts: Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu Ed Rhodes, 979-458-5663, edward.rhodes@ag.tamu.edu BELTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, is hosting a meeting Aug. 23 in Belton for anyone interested in…

Water sample screening campaign in August in Burleson, Milam counties

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network is hosting a water sample screening campaign in August for Burleson and Milam counties to give…

"The door to the future": How Eddie Bernice Johnson could make history if Democrats win back the House

U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson, D-Dallas, in her Washington, D.C. office on July 18, 2018. Leigh Vogel for The Texas Tribune WASHINGTON — Silhouetted against the window of U.S. Rep.…

Well owner training slated for Aug. 22 in San Angelo

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO — A Texas Well Owner Network training has been scheduled for Aug. 22 in San Angelo. The Texas Well Owner Network, or…

Water well owner training set for Aug. 21 in Odessa

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu ODESSA — A Texas Well Owner Network training has been scheduled for Aug. 21 in Odessa. The Well Educated training, which is free and…

Exploration Green receives 2018 Excellence in Green Infrastructure Award

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu HOUSTON – A multifaceted project to help reduce flooding and provide recreation for  thousands…

Urban riparian, stream restoration workshop set Aug. 16 in The Woodlands

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu THE WOODLANDS–The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 9 a.m.-4:30…

EPA: San Antonio ozone levels too high under new standard

Ozone, a key component of smog, forms when emissions from cars, coal plants and the like mix with other airborne compounds in the presence of sunlight. Responding to a court…

Institute to host urban best management training July 25

Contacts: Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu. Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host an Urban Best Management Practices for Watershed Planning Training…

Corpus Christi water tests clean after years of problems

The shelves in the bottled water section of a Walmart in Corpus Christi were nearly empty on the morning of Dec. 15, 2016. Nearly two years after the city’s water…