Emails show cooperation among EPA, climate-change deniers

WASHINGTON (AP) — Newly released emails show senior Environmental Protection Agency officials working closely with a conservative group that dismisses climate change to rally like-minded people for public hearings on…

Fundamentals of developing water quality monitoring plan focus of Austin workshop

Program for watershed coordinators, water professionals June 4-5 Contact: Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN –The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, is hosting a Fundamentals of Developing a Water Quality Monitoring…

EPA accepts Tres Palacios Creek watershed protection plan

Contact: Michael Schramm, 979- 458-9191, michael.schramm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Tracy, 979-862-7221, john.tracy@ag.tamu.edu Tres Palacios. (Texas Water Resources Institute photo) COLLEGE STATION — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has accepted the Tres…

Water well owner training set for May 31 in Hamilton

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu HAMILTON — A Texas Well Owner Network training offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has been scheduled for May 31 in Hamilton.…

Pruitt to hear economic arguments in enforcing Clean Air Act

WASHINGTON (AP) — Environmental Protection Agency chief Scott Pruitt on Thursday announced a major shift in enforcement of the landmark Clean Air Act to include feedback from state and local…

Lone Star Healthy Streams program set for May 24 in Seguin

Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN — The Geronimo and Alligator Creeks Watershed Partnership is hosting a Lone Star Healthy Streams Workshop May 24 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration program workshop set May 15 in Houston

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu THE WOODLANDS – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. May 15…

EPA security chief, Superfund head leave amid ethics probes

WASHINGTON (AP) — The two top officials in charge of security and toxic-waste cleanups at the Environmental Protection Agency have abruptly left their jobs, days after EPA administrator Scott Pruitt…

Water quality training May 15 in Cameron will focus on Big Elm Creek

Contact: Floyd Ingram, 254-697-7045, floyd.ingram@ag.tamu.edu Ed Rhodes, 979-458-5663, edward.rhodes@agnet.tamu.edu   Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu CAMERON – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to Big Elm Creek will be…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set May 8 in Bay City

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Marshall Trigg, 512-578-3315, marshall.trigg@lcra.org Bill Balboa, 979-245-4100, bill.balboa@ag.tamu.edu BAY CITY – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a free workshop…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Training set for May 1 in Killeen

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu KILLEEN – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. May 1…

Lobbyist tied to condo met with EPA chief, despite denials

WASHINGTON (AP) — Environmental Protection Agency chief Scott Pruitt met in his office last year with a veteran Washington lobbyist tied to the bargain-priced condo where Pruitt was living. Source:…

Volunteers clean Geronimo, Alligator creeks watershed area at annual event

More than 1,800 pounds of debris cleared   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN – In spite of a cold front that blew in, volunteers came…

Houston-area toxic waste site removed from priority cleanup list

A pit of toxic sludge along the San Jacinto River east of Houston is no longer on a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency priority cleanup list, the agency announced Monday. The…

Lampasas River Watershed Partnership meeting April 19 in Lampasas

Contact: Lisa Prcin, 254-774-6008, lprcin@brc.tamus.edu LAMPASAS – Those interested in the Lampasas River Watershed Protection Plan are invited to attend the Lampasas River Watershed Partnership meeting April 19. The meeting,…

Water well owner training April 24 in Stephenville

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE — A Texas Well Owner Network training has been scheduled for April 24 in Stephenville. The training, which is free and open to…

Trump offers support to embattled EPA head

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Donald Trump is offering strong support for Scott Pruitt, the head of the Environmental Protection Agency who is at the center of swirling ethics questions, the…

As lawsuits over Texas chemical disaster add up, advocates blame Arkema and rules regulating it

CROSBY — Most of the houses along Crosby Eastgate Road and its neighboring streets are one-story outfits on sprawling green lots. In their driveways are spare trucks, old armchairs or…

Urban riparian, stream restoration workshop set for April 11 in Austin

Registration deadline April 9 Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistile@ag.tamu.eduDr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The Texas Water Resources Institute Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop…

Texas Well Owner Network honored with prestigious state environmental award

Program earns 2018 Texas Environmental Excellence award in education. Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.eduDr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.eduJohn W. Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…