Economy keeps growing even with rising oil prices

DALLAS (AP) — America’s rediscovered prowess in oil production is shaking up old notions about the impact of higher crude prices on the U.S. economy. Source: Business – The Eagle

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

Farm Day at the Fair welcomes school groups for hands-on agriculture education

The the official registration webpage for Farm Day at the Fair is available online at https://tinyurl.com/statefairfarmday. Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.eduContact: Elizabeth Rudd, 214-904-3056, Elizabeth.Rudd@ag.tamu.edu     DALLAS — The Texas…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop Sept. 27 in Bryan

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – The Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host…

Texas A&M turfgrass, landscape field day set Oct. 10 in Dallas

The Texas A&M Turfgrass and Landscape Field Day welcomes experts and enthusiasts for technical discussions, industry networking and research facility tours. (Texas A&M AgriLife video by Gabe Saldana) Professional CEUs…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Attorney General Ken Paxton today announced that he has appointed current Texas Assistant Solicitor General Kyle Hawkins to serve as Solicitor General. Hawkins succeeds…

Landscape irrigation short courses set for Sept. 19-20 in Dallas

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Charles Swanson, 979-845-5614, clswanson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M School of Irrigation will be conducting two one-day short courses dedicated to smart…

Texas Master Gardeners converge in San Antonio for advanced training

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – About 50 Master Gardeners from 27 counties throughout Texas recently came to…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for Sept. 19 in Corsicana

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Michelle Wood-Ramirez, 817-720-4552, michelle.wood-ramirez@trwd.com Page Bishop, 903-654-3075, page.bishop@ag.tamu.edu CORSICANA – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a free Texas Riparian…

Turfgrass expert clips last blades of grass for research purposes

Dr. Richard White retires from Texas A&M Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Richard White intends to sit back and let the grass grow under his feet…

Video: How to treat crapemyrtle bark scale at home

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service urban entomologist Dr. Mike Merchant walks viewers through the proper steps for treating crapemyrtle bark scale, or CMBS. (Texas A&M AgriLife video) Writer: Gabe Saldana,…

Mary Starnes completes study abroad in Rome

• Mary Starnes of Bryan completed the spring 2018 semester studying abroad at the University of Dallas Eugene Constantin Campus in Rome. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

Two University of Dallas students from Caldwell, Bryan named to Honor Roll

• Tera Espinsa of Caldwell and Melanie Savala of Bryan have been named to the Honor Roll for the spring 2018 semester at the University of Dallas in Irving after…

Renovated facility to be hub for AgriLife Extension urban health, wellness, agriculture education in Dallas County

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Richard Davis, 214-904-3050, richard.davis@ag.tamu.edu Stephen Hudkins, 214-904-3050, stephen.hudkins@ag.tamu.edu GARLAND – Collaboration with Dallas County commissioners at a renovated road and bridge office site has…

Texas Keeps Landing New Businesses & Expanding Facilities By Steve Stackhouse-Kaelble Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Economic development incentives are, of course, central to a lot of big deals —…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – (DALLAS, Texas) – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) on Saturday marked the first anniversary of Hurricane Harvey’s landfall with a visit to Rockport, where he…

Texas A&M vice chancellor: Agriculture must battle chronic disease

Dr. Patrick Stover, Texas A&M University System vice chancellor and dean for agriculture and life sciences, discusses his vision for agriculture systems that address preventable chronic disease. (Texas A&M AgriLife…

States’ 4-H International Exchange brings 23 Japanese youth to Texas

Program helps with greater global awareness, understanding Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Darlene Locke, 979-845-1023, dlocke@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Twenty-three youth and two adult chaperones from Japan recently…

Texas releases plan for how more than $209 million from Volkswagen settlement will be spent

A U.S. flag flutters in the wind above a Volkswagen dealership in Carlsbad, California, U.S. May 2, 2016. REUTERS/Mike Blake Texas wants to use more than $209 million from a…

"The door to the future": How Eddie Bernice Johnson could make history if Democrats win back the House

U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson, D-Dallas, in her Washington, D.C. office on July 18, 2018. Leigh Vogel for The Texas Tribune WASHINGTON — Silhouetted against the window of U.S. Rep.…