Agricultural economists recommend ‘SPA’ for cattle producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Rob Hogan, 830-278-9151. ext. 270, RHogan@ag.tamu.edu Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, bill.thompson@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – The Standardized Performance Analysis, or SPA, program is an indispensable tool…

Calisto Trojan for macOS

An interesting aspect of studying a particular piece of malware is tracing its evolution and observing how the creators gradually add new monetization or entrenchment techniques. Also of interest are…

Hidalgo County 4-H members recognized at 2018 4-H Roundup

July 18, 2018 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-467-6575, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Luis Saldana, 956-968-5581, luis.saldana@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO – Four Hidalgo County 4-H’ers were standouts at the 2018 Texas 4-H Roundup held recently in…

Forage Management Workshop set Aug. 30 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, Sam.Womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its Forage Management Workshop Aug. 30 at its office…

School of Irrigation to provide hands-on training in irrigation management

Contact: Charles Swanson, 979-845-5614, clswanson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION  – Texas A&M’s School of Irrigation will hold a training series for professionals through August in response to drought conditions now prevailing through…

College Station Man Admits To Aggravated Sexual Assault Of A Ten Year Old Girl

A College Station man has admitted to illegal sexual contact with a ten year old girl two and a half years ago. 44 yer old Reginald Ellison entered a plea…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 17, 2018

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A convergence of weather and market conditions have put a number of  Texas beef producers…

Three 2018 Urban Wildlife Series sessions to be presented in July, August

Native plants, water conservation and Medina River tour among offerings   July 17, 2018 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

Texas A&M potato breeding trials offer reds to russets, babies to bakers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Isabel Vales, 541-740-4437, isabel.vales@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – When Kelly Kuball walked the Texas A&M Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program variety display trials near…

Houston Urban Food Production Conference July 27

Contact: Skip Richter, 713-274-0950, rrichter@ag.tamu.edu HOUSTON –  The Houston Urban Food Production Conference, covering commercial and backyard food growing, as well as selling produce, will be held from 8 a.m.…

Texas A&M releases new Ace cowpea

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gerald Smith, 903-834-6191, gerald.smith@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A new forage cowpea variety – Ace – blends a number of desirable characteristics into into a…

Institute to host urban best management training July 25

Contacts: Nathan Glavy, 979-458-5915, nathan.glavy@ag.tamu.edu. Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host an Urban Best Management Practices for Watershed Planning Training…

New AgriLife Extension specialist touts turfgrass practices for environmental, human health

Dr. Lindsey Hoffman (Texas A&M AgriLife photo by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Lindsey Hoffman, 972-952-9212 Lindsey.Hoffman@ag.tamu.edu DALLAS — Efficient varieties and informed management practices can help…

AgriLife Extension sets Backyard Basics Expo for Aug. 3 in san Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its Backyard Basics Expo Aug. 3 in San Antonio.…

Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day set Aug. 9 at Bushland

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Qingwu Xue, 806-354-5803, qxue@ag.tamu.edu BUSHLAND – A Summer Crops/OAP Center Pivot Irrigation Field Day will be hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife and the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 10, 2018

Bollworm emergence causing problems in cotton Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton producers who planted Bt pest-resistant varieties in some parts…

Summer Foods Summer Meals program feeds, educates South Texas youths

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melissa De Leon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SOUTH TEXAS — An ongoing free meal program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is nourishing the bodies and minds of…

APT Trends Report Q2 2018

In the second quarter of 2017, Kaspersky Lab’s Global Research and Analysis Team (GReAT) began publishing summaries of the quarter’s private threat intelligence reports, in an effort to make the…

New AgriLife Extension dairy specialist located in Amarillo

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Piñeiro, 806-677-5600, juan.pineiro@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Dr. Juan Piñeiro, veterinarian, joined the faculty at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in…

Continued drought could lead to culling herds

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Beef producers should be making plans regarding their herds in case drought conditions continue, said a Texas…