Angora goat test program to begin with Dec. 4 delivery

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife will soon be conducting an Angora goat test at the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Earth-Kind Landscape Short Course set for Dec. 17-19

Laura Muntean, 979-847-9211, laura.muntean@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mengmeng Gu, 979-845-8567, mgu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M University department of horticulture will be hosting an Earth-Kind Landscape Short Course Dec. 17-19…

Agricultural tour, workshop for military veterans, others in Williamson County

Farm tour Nov. 30 in Thrall; workshop Dec. 1 in Georgetown Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu        Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913,     Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu GEORGETOWN — Texas…

Online wine workshop welcomes industry newcomers

Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Andreea Botezatu, 979-845-8563, abotezatu@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — A full-day, online workshop for anyone thinking about entering the wine industry will cover what it…

Kaspersky Security Bulletin: Threat Predictions for 2019

There’s nothing more difficult than predicting. So, instead of gazing into a crystal ball, the idea here is to make educated guesses based on what has happened recently and where…

Simple recipe alterations can make holiday foods healthier

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jenna Anding, 979-847-9228, j-anding@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Holiday meals can be healthier and taste just as good by using basic recipe substitutions or alterations, said…

Kids, Kows and More event in San Antonio brings agriculture to urban youth

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 1,000 third- and fourth-grade students from elementary schools throughout Bexar County attended the recent two-day…

Urban stream processes, restoration workshop set for Nov. 29 in Belton

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BELTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host the Urban Stream Processes…

AgriLife Extension extends Path to the Plate program to youth

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Carolyn Prill-Bennett, 806-935-2594, Carolyn.prill@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, angela.burkham@ag.tamu.edu DUMAS – More than 700 Moore County youth and adults were the first in the…

AgriLife Extension horticulturist: Protect, select, plant with colder weather in mind

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – With the mercury dropping in South Central Texas, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulturist said it’s…

Battleground to Breaking Ground Entrepreneurial Training Project now taking applications

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, erin.pilosi@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, makenzie.mclaurin@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Applications are being accepted now through Dec. 5 for the Battleground to Breaking…

Armstrong County Fall Producers Meeting set for Dec. 11 in Claude

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Derek Williamson, 806-226-3021, mikeal.williamson@ag.tamu.edu CLAUDE – The annual Armstrong County Fall Producers Meeting sponsored by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will be held…

Low-Impact Development Workshop set for Nov. 27 in Seguin

Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN — The Geronimo and Alligator Creeks Watershed Partnership will host a Low-Impact Development Workshop from 8:30 a.m. to noon Nov. 27 at the Irma…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

AgriLife Extension offers continuing education units Nov. 30 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its annual winter continuing education program on Nov. 30…

High Plains Ag Conference set Dec. 7 in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The annual High Plains Ag Conference will be hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service on Dec.…

A new exploit for zero-day vulnerability CVE-2018-8589

Yesterday, Microsoft published its security bulletin, which patches a vulnerability discovered by our technologies. We reported it to Microsoft on October 17, 2018. The company confirmed the vulnerability and assigned…

MEDIA ADVISORY: Texas A&M Human Behavior Lab to showcase technology at Nov. 16 open house

Contacts: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Eye tracking, facial expressions and other human emotions are integral parts of consumer purchasing studies and other social science evaluations conducted by…

Registration open for Birding the Border program

April 22-26 program to feature sites in Kinney, Val Verde counties Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Emily Grant, 830-774-7591, emily.grant@ag.tamu.edu DEL RIO – Registration is open…