Ranchers Leasing Workshop set May 22 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tdowell@tamu.edu PERRYTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s popular Ranchers Leasing Workshop will come to Perryton on May 22.…

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service receives emergency management award

(From right) Dr. Andy Vestal, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service special assistant, College Station, accepted the award from Chief Nim Kidd, Texas Emergency Management, at the 2019 Emergency Management Council…

Water quality training May 22 in Lufkin will focus on area water resources

LUFKIN – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the La Nana Bayou, Angelina and middle Neches Rivers will be held from 8 a.m.-noon on May 22.…

Vegetable feasibility analysis developed for High Plains producers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Justin Benavediz, 806-677-5600, justin.benavediz@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Dr. Bridget Guerrero, 806-651-2614, bguerrero@wtamu.edu High Plains vegetable growers will soon have some economic…

AgriLife Extension’s Kara Matheney receives Cattle Raisers honor

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu FORT WORTH –– Kara Matheney, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent for Washington County, received the Outstanding Beef County Extension Agent award at the…

11th annual Quail Field Day set May 24 in Roby

Writer: Susan Himes, 325- 657-7315, Susan.Himes@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dale Rollins, 325-650-0311, d-rollins@tamu.edu The 11th annual Quail Field Day takes place May 24 in Roby. (photo RPQRF) ROBY – The Texas A&M…

Texas Community Futures Forum scheduled in Lubbock April 22

Writer: Susan Himes, 325-657-7315, Susan.Himes@ag,tamu.edu Contact: Ronda Alexander, 806-775-1740, Ronda.Alexander@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas Community Futures Forum will be April 22 in Lubbock County. The forum is designed to assist…

Pigg new coordinator of Texas Well Owner Network program

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Joel Pigg, 979-845-1461, j-pigg@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Joel Pigg is combining his Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and water…

AgriLife Extension to hold May wellness workshops in Austin

Programs at Lake Travis UMC to focus on healthy choices, portion control, nutrition fact labels AUSTIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Travis County will present three wellness…

2018 agricultural custom rate survey now available online

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259,  b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Steven Klose, 979-458-1807, sklose@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has published online the 2018 Texas Agricultural Custom Rates survey…

Private water well screening set May 13 in Victoria

VICTORIA — The Texas Well Owner Network is hosting a water well screening for area residents May 13 in Victoria. The Texas Well Owner Network will present a water well…

Two new wheat varieties announced by Texas A&M AgriLife

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jackie Rudd, 806-677-5600, jcrudd@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Richard Vierling, 940-552-9941, richard.vierling@ag.tamu.edu One of the newest wheat varieties to be released by Texas A&M AgriLife Research…

TWRI hosting on-site sewage facility course May 15 in Lufkin

LUFKIN–The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, is hosting an advanced treatment course for on–site sewage facility professionals May 15 in Lufkin. The course will be from 8 a.m.-5 p.m.…

Stored Grain Pest Workshop April 26 in Lubbock

Writer: Susan Himes, 325-657-7315, Susan.Himes@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Brady Arthur, 806-632-4258, bparthur@tamu.edu LUBBOCK — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office of Lubbock County and Great Plains Chemicals & Fumigation will hold…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research donates hibiscus plants to help beautify Vernon

Contact: Lileen Coulloudon, 940-552-6226, Lileen.coulloudon@ag.tamu.edu Members of the Lion’s Club in Vernon help with the Chamber of Commerce and the Tourism and Main Street Program give away of donated Texas…

AgriLife Extension grass-fed beef conference May 30-31

Topics include niche markets, consumer preferences, forage systems Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Gill, 979-845-3579, rgill@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The popular grass-fed beef conference is scheduled May…

One of the best ways to prevent it, is by talking & raising awareness about it By State Rep. Todd Hunter Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Each month, I…

Private Pesticide Applicator Training set May 3 in San Angelo

Writer: Susan Himes, 325-657-7315, Susan.Himes@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6522, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County is partnering with Angelo State University’s department…

Private Pesticide Applicator Training set May 3 in San Angelo

Writer: Susan Himes, 325-657-7315, Susan.Himes@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Josh Blanek, 325-659-6522, j-blanek@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Tom Green County is partnering with Angelo State University’s department…

Urban stream processes, restoration program set for April 23 in Pearland

PEARLAND – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. April 23 in Pearland for professionals interested in conducting stream…