AgriLife to offer wool and mohair workshops in January at San Angelo

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife will conduct two separate educational programs aimed at both the novice…

Five hour agriculture, pest management CEU event set for Nov. 30 in Edna

Contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu EDNA – A Five Hour CEU event is scheduled Nov. 30 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Jackson County Services Building Auditorium, 411…

Latest crop improvement technology coming to Texas A&M AgriLife

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Johnson, 979-862-3287, Charlie@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Michael Thomson, 979-845-7526, m.thomson@tamu.edu Marco Molina, 979-458-1410, marco.molina@tamu.edu Mayra Molina, 979-458-1410, mayrafmolina@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife…

AgriLife Extension agent named in Wheeler County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Thomas Cunningham, 806-826-5243, Thomas.Cunningham@ag.tamu.edu WHEELER – Thomas Cunningham will transfer from Taylor County to Wheeler County  on Nov. 20 to fill the position of the…

Basic recipe alterations can make for more healthful holiday meals

Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jenna Anding, 979-847-9228, j-anding@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Holiday meals can be healthier and taste just as good by using some basic recipe substitutions or alterations, said…

Tri-county range, livestock clinic slated for Dec. 7 in Brady

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu BRADY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Tri-County Range and Livestock Clinic…

Human Remains Found In College Station

From College Station police: On November 18, 2017 at approximately 8:25 AM the College Station Police Department, as a part of an on-going investigation involving a missing person, with assistance…

Slight climate shifts can affect optimum water use in plant communities

Research projects plant response in ‘dry gets drier, wet gets wetter’ world Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Georgianne Moore, 979-845-3765, gwmoore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new discovery is…

Wine-grape growers workshop Dec. 15 in Canton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m.cook@tamu.edu CANTON – A workshop for prospective wine grape growers is Dec. 15 in Canton. Wine grapes grow along a fence…

Rolling Plains Applicator Training set for Dec. 5 in Burkburnett

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Graf, 806-995-3726, cdgraf@ag.tamu.edu BURKBURNETT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Wichita County will host the Rolling Plains Applicator Training Dec. 5…

AgriLife Extension sets Pesticide Management and CEU Workshop Dec. 5 in Fort Stockton

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu|Contact: Raymond Quigg, 432-693-2313, r-quigg@tamu.edu FORT STOCKTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Pesticide Management and CEU Workshop from 8 a.m.-3 p.m.…

AgriLife Extension sets High Plains Ag Conference Dec. 8 in Lubbock

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Scott, 806-775-1740, rj-scott@tamu.edu LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the annual High Plains Ag Conference from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Dec.…

Patterson fills AgriLife Extension agent position in Collingsworth County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kenny Patterson, 806-447-2313, Kenny.patterson@ag.tamu.edu WELLINGTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Kenny Patterson for the agriculture and natural resources agent position…

AgriLife Extension sets four-county South Plains Simply Christmas Lunch and Learn series

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-341-4884, aburkham@ag.tamu.edu LITTLEFIELD – Simply Christmas Lunch and Learn is a holiday-themed series to be conducted by the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2017

Prices on wholesale holiday turkeys, hams at five-year low Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Young students learn practical applications of science at AgriLife center in Uvalde

Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Madhumita Joshi, 830-278-9151, madhumita.joshi@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – About 40 students from Sacred Heart Catholic School in Uvalde recently got a firsthand look at how…

APT Trends report Q3 2017

Introduction Beginning in the second quarter of 2017, Kaspersky’s Global Research and Analysis Team (GReAT) began publishing summaries of the quarter’s private threat intelligence reports in an effort to make…

UPDATE: Missing CS Man Has Been Found Safe

Photo of Michael Bittner from College Station police. Update: College Station police reported just after 5 p.m. the missing man was found safe. CSPD reports the man was found at…

Sunday Night Armed Robbery North of Northgate

From Bryan police: On November 12, 2017 at approximately 10:00 p.m., Officers from the Bryan Police Department responded to the Double Quick Mart, located at 4501 Wellborn, for an aggravated…

Calf market trends, forage production highlight South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu BRENHAM – Beef cattle producers from throughout the South Central Texas region learned more about producing calves that fit…