Ground-penetrating radar could help producers dig potatoes early

Water savings, premium markets could be realized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Dirk Hays, 979-458-0032, dbhays@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ground-penetrating radar might help the potato industry save water,…

Guadalupe County Master Gardener class open for registration

Instruction will be Tuesdays, Aug. 8-Dec. 5 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kay McElveen, 479-790-2933, hkaymcelveen@gmail.com SEGUIN – Guadalupe County residents interested in learning more about gardening and sharing…

Different Decisions On Pay Raises By Local School Boards As A Brazos Valley Lawmaker Calls To Add Teacher Retirement Benefits To The Special Session

The Bryan school board has not decided on all pay raises for next year. Action was postponed on what teachers and other professionals receive. The board sided with the recommendation…

Master Marketer Program to be presented Sept. 18-Oct. 31 in Castroville

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Rob Hogan, 432-940-6777, RHogan@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu CASTROVILLE — The Master Marketer Program will be held in two-week intervals from Sept.…

Growing organic rice for market niche not simple

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shane Zhou, 409-752-2741, xzhou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Fugen Dou, 409-752-2741, f-dou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Mo Way, 409-658-2186, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Muthu, Bagavathiannan, 979-845-3041, muthu.bagavathiannan@tamu.edu BEAUMONT —  A market…

AgriLife Extension brings Worksite Wellness program to High Plains

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Angela Burkham, 806-677-5600, aburkham@tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is taking its wellness programs to work sites across the High…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 18

Forage pests active in improved pastures Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Forage producers should be on the watch for and ready to…

Texas-bred potatoes headed to grower fields, marketplace

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Creighton Miller, 979-219-3388, jcmillerjr@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – Texas-bred potatoes were highlighted recently at the 26th annual Texas A&M Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program…

Private water well screenings set for San Jacinto, Liberty, Chambers counties

Contact: John Smith, 979-845-2761, jwsmith@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas Well Owner Network will present water well screenings in July and August in San Jacinto, Liberty and Chambers counties to…

Texas A&M entomologist hot on the trail to stop global locust devastation

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Hojun Song, 979-845-2481, hsong@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – From time immemorial, man has suffered from the devastation wrought by locust swarms of biblical…

Spray drift damage: What landowners need to know

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5600, tiffany.dowell@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – With summer crop production in full swing, pesticide spray drift can cause damage to neighboring property owners,…

Beekeeping workshops offered July 24-26 in Perryton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Scott Strawn, 806-435-4501, Scott.Strawn@ag.tamu.edu PERRYTON – Three days of beekeeping information will be offered July 24-26 at workshops hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Nursing group looking for new members

Area nurses have formed a Brazos Valley chapter of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. The chapter promotes educational and volunteer opportunities for the community. For membership information, contact…

Tomato growers workshop set for July 28 in College Station

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.eduContact: Dr. Kevin Crosby, 979-845-7012, k-crosby@tamu.edu  COLLEGE STATION — Tomato growers, whether at-home or commercial, are encouraged to attend a workshop on production improvement from 9…

Wildfire recovery meetings set Aug. 3 in northeastern Texas Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Almost five months after wildfires ripped across much of the northeastern Texas Panhandle, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Food safety greater concern during summer outings

AgriLife Extension expert recommends more care in  handling, preparing, storing foods Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rebecca Dittmar, 830-257-6568, rdittmar@ag.tamu.edu KERRVILLE — Ants aren’t the only tiny creatures that can…

Stranger Forces His Way Into A CS Apartment And Attacks The Resident

News release from College Station police: On 7-12-17, at approximately 2322 hrs, College Station Police were dispatched to the report of a Burglary of Habitation in progress call at an…

Texas A&M AgriLife celebrates 50 years in Overton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Long, 903-834-6191, charles.long@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Overton celebrated its 50th year of research, innovation…

Institute to hold July 18 meeting on improving water quality in Mid and Lower Cibolo Creeks

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext 110, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Patricia Carvajal, 210-302-3672, pmcarvajal@sara-tx.org LA VERNIA – The Texas Water Resources Institute is hosting a meeting July 18 for anyone interested in becoming involved…

Agricultural leases to be covered by AgriLife Extension in four workshops

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tiffany Dowell Lashmet, 806-677-5668, tiffany.dowelllashmet@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – After such a positive response last year, four new Rancher Leasing Workshops covering grazing, hunting and livestock…