Bicyclist Not Injured After Being Struck In College Station

A bicyclist was not injured after being struck Monday just before noon at Texas and Harvey Mitchell in College Station. Witnesses told College Station police the bicyclist and vehicle were…

Latest crop improvement technology coming to Texas A&M AgriLife

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Johnson, 979-862-3287, Charlie@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Michael Thomson, 979-845-7526, m.thomson@tamu.edu Marco Molina, 979-458-1410, marco.molina@tamu.edu Mayra Molina, 979-458-1410, mayrafmolina@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas A&M AgriLife…

CS Police Looking For Truck That Struck Pedestrians In Northgate

From College Station police: On 11/19/17, Officers with the College Station Police Department responded to a report of a vehicle crash involving a pedestrian in the 100 block of University…

Basic recipe alterations can make for more healthful holiday meals

Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jenna Anding, 979-847-9228, j-anding@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Holiday meals can be healthier and taste just as good by using some basic recipe substitutions or alterations, said…

Tri-county range, livestock clinic slated for Dec. 7 in Brady

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu BRADY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Tri-County Range and Livestock Clinic…

Human Remains Found In College Station

From College Station police: On November 18, 2017 at approximately 8:25 AM the College Station Police Department, as a part of an on-going investigation involving a missing person, with assistance…

Slight climate shifts can affect optimum water use in plant communities

Research projects plant response in ‘dry gets drier, wet gets wetter’ world Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Georgianne Moore, 979-845-3765, gwmoore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new discovery is…

College Station School Board Approves District Of Innovation Plan

Ten recommendations for the College Station school district to take local control of what are now state laws have been approved by the school board. The action to become a…

With the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, a Typical Middle-Income Family Will Receive a $1,182 Tax Cut Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Kevin…

Rolling Plains Applicator Training set for Dec. 5 in Burkburnett

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Graf, 806-995-3726, cdgraf@ag.tamu.edu BURKBURNETT – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Wichita County will host the Rolling Plains Applicator Training Dec. 5…

Deadline Approaching To Enter 91st B/CS Christmas Parade

A reminder that the deadline to register for the 91st Bryan/College Station Christmas parade is Friday at 5 p.m. Those who participate in the B/CS parade the afternoon of Sunday,…

One Brazos County District Court Jury Issues The Death Penalty & A Second Jury Is Dismissed Following A Guilty Plea

Photo of William Mitchell Hudson from https://jailsearch.brazoscountytx.gov/JailSearch/default.aspx BRYAN, Texas (AP) _ A man has been sentenced to death for the slayings of six people at a remote East Texas campsite…

College Station School Board Proceeds With Refurbishing Middle Schools To Separate Identities With High Schools

The College Station school board is moving ahead with giving identities to the district’s middle schools that are not related to College Station and Consolidated high schools. Tuesday night’s vote…

Some CS Council Members Not Happy With Latest Design And Cost Of New Police Department Building

Some members of the College Station city council were not happy with recommendations about the exterior design and cost of the city’s new police department. Julie Schultz offered the first…

Bryan/College Station Chamber of Commerce Holds Its Annual Banquet

More than 500 gathered Monday night at the Bryan/College Station Chamber of Commerce annual banquet. The dean of the Bush School at Texas A&M was the featured speaker. Mark Welsh…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2017

Prices on wholesale holiday turkeys, hams at five-year low Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Divided CS Council Approves Expanding Current City Hall Site

A very divided College Station city council decided to build an expanded city hall complex at its current location instead of moving south. James Benham and Jerome Rektorik were among…

Appeals Court Hears History Making Case At Blinn College Bryan Campus

The sixth annual visit by the Texas 10th court of appeals to the Blinn College campus in Bryan including a historical event. The director of Blinn’s paralegal program, Robert Stanberry,…

Young students learn practical applications of science at AgriLife center in Uvalde

Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Madhumita Joshi, 830-278-9151, madhumita.joshi@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – About 40 students from Sacred Heart Catholic School in Uvalde recently got a firsthand look at how…

Alumni receive awards at Texas A&M College of Agriculture and Life Sciences banquet

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Three former students were chosen for Outstanding Early Career Alumni awards, while four alumni were honored with Outstanding Alumni Awards during the…