Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day set Oct. 12 near Noodle

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Steve Estes, 325-823-2432, saestes@ag.tamu.edu            NOODLE – The Rolling Plains Cotton and Precision Ag Field Day is set for 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Oct. 12…

Emergency meetings scheduled following reports of fumonisin in Texas corn

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu AMARILLO — Meetings have been scheduled on Sept. 27 in Dimmitt and Dumas to…

Emergency meetings scheduled following reports of fumonisin in Texas corn

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5663, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tom Isakeit, 979-862-1340, t-isakeit@tamu.edu AMARILLO — Meetings have been scheduled on Sept. 27 in Dumas and Dalhart to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 19, 2017

Sugarcane aphids not a major problem for prepared Texas sorghum producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ed Bynum, 806-677-5600, ebynum@ag.tamu.edu; Danielle Sekula, 956-878-8317, danielle.sekula@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Most sorghum…

Do You Know This Man?

From College Station police: On August 29, 2017 at approximately 4:30 PM a small tan colored truck turned left from the middle lane of southbound Texas Ave onto Walton and…

International beef initiative launched by Texas A&M animal science

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Cliff Lamb, 979-845-1543, gclamb@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new international beef initiative is underway by the Texas A&M University department of animal science,…

Two Texas A&M System Officials Move To The Governor’s Office

Governor Abbott has announced the hiring of two officials who were at the headquarters office of the Texas A&M System in College Station. According to a news release from the…

Former Public Agency Executives Are In New Places

Two former leaders of local public agencies are now in new places. The former president of the Research Valley Partnership, Todd McDaniel, is now with the city of Bryan as…

Water well owner training set for Sept. 26 in New Braunfels

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu NEW BRAUNFELS — Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network training Sept. 26…

Centex Beef Symposium Sept. 29 at Swinging B Ranch in Axtell

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AXTELL – Live cattle demonstrations, a ranch tour and ribeye steak dinner will be the featured activities at the Centex Beef Cattle Symposium Sept. 29…

B/CS Home Sales and Median Price Rise, but Slower than Before

Texas home sales volume, home prices and listings activity experienced strong gains in the first half of the year, according to the midyear report released by the Texas Association of…

Citizen Reports Suspected Vehicle Burglars to College Station Police

Two 18 year olds were arrested by College Station police early Monday morning on charges of breaking into six vehicles. According to a citizen’s report shortly after 2 a.m., the…

Texas, out-of-state 4-H’ers pitch in on Hurricane Harvey recovery efforts

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Candace Moeller, 361-526-2825, candace.moeller@ag.tamu.edu Kyle McManus, 361-767-5223, kyle.mcmanus@ag.tamu.edu Meredith Miller, 361-265-9203, meredith.miller@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Hundreds of youth in…

Rainwater harvesting turf management training rescheduled to Oct. 5 in Seguin

Contacts: John W Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Reagan Hejl, 979-845-5252, Reagan.hejl@tamu.edu Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Ben Wherley, 979-845-1591, b-wherley@tamu.edu Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

Researchers stumped by plants with multiple chromosomes set January meeting to collaborate

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. David Byrne, 979-845-9500, dbyrne@tamu.edu               COLLEGE STATION — Some of the world’s most beloved plants — coffee, bananas, potatoes, chrysanthemums and…

UPDATE: Surveillance Video Shows Bryan Man Who Was Shot In A Hotel Parking Lot

Photo of WIlliam Thomas Currie III from https://jailsearch.brazoscountytx.gov/JailSearch/default.aspx Friday update: A shooting early Thursday morning that killed a Bryan man took place in a hotel parking lot. According to the…

New Texas A&M Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building grand opening celebrated at College Station

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sept. 15 marked the grand opening of the new Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building at 534 John Kimbrough Blvd. on…

New Texas A&M Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building grand opening celebrated at College Station

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Sept. 15 marked the grand opening of the new Wildlife, Fisheries and Ecological Sciences Building at 534 John Kimbrough Blvd. on…

Military veteran and beginning farmer, rancher entrepreneurial training Oct. 14-15 in Navasota

Applications accepted through Sept. 29 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, erin.kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Mackenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, makenzie.mclaurin@ag.tamu.edu NAVASOTA — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, in cooperation with…

UPDATE: Arrest Has Been Made Connected With Thursday’s Shooting Death Of A Bryan Man

Photo of WIlliam Thomas Currie III from https://jailsearch.brazoscountytx.gov/JailSearch/default.aspx Thursday update 6:50 p.m. Bryan police announced the arrest of William Thomas Currie III at an address on Spring Loop in College…