Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 17, 2018

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A convergence of weather and market conditions have put a number of  Texas beef producers…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 10, 2018

Bollworm emergence causing problems in cotton Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton producers who planted Bt pest-resistant varieties in some parts…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 3, 2018

Texas facing long, hot summer Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions continue to persist in much of the state as…

Texas Crop and Weather Report

Consumers should find good prices, options for Fourth of July grilling Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu      Bill Thompson, 325-653-4576, w-thompson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 12, 2018

Texas watermelon, cantaloupe producers fare well due to growing conditions, demand Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu CARRIZO SPRINGS – Conditions have been ideal for…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – June 5, 2018

Crop, cattle conditions declining around much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, curtis.adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Emerging drought…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 30, 2018

Texas citrus growers produce bumper crop for 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-348-4914, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.edu WESLACO – Texas citrus growers produced a bumper 2017-2018 crop, and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 22, 2018

Corn, sorghum producers face weather, market uncertainties Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Corn and sorghum producers could be in for a…

Volunteers needed to help lay flags at each grave Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  Land Commissioner and Veterans Land Board Commissioner George P. Bush is encouraging Texans across the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 1, 2018

Lack of rain and low temperatures hinder warm-season crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – State Climatologist John Nielsen-Gammon, College Station,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 24, 2018

Viticulture experts: Grape expectations ripe for 2018 Writers: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu  Fran Pontasch, 979-458-0131, fmpontasch@tamu.edu  Brianna Hoge, 830-990-4046, brianna.hoge@ag.tamu.edu…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 17, 2018

Hay producers should hold fertilizer application until temperatures rise Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Warm-season grasses are breaking dormancy but not actively growing…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 10, 2018

Drought conditions affecting herd stocking rates in West Texas, Panhandle Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bruce Carpenter, 432-336-8585, bb-carpenter@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – April 3, 2018

Adequate chill hours setting fruit crops nicely Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Adequate chill hours and good spring conditions have peach and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 27, 2018

Most planted sorghum fields in good shape, unplanted areas dealing with drought Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Sorghum fields have…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 20

Danger of frost has passed for much of the state Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joe Masabni, 903-834-6191, joe.masabni@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Commercial and amateur vegetable growers are actively…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 13, 2018

Good domestic, export demands for beef continue Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Continued good export and domestic demands for beef has…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…