Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 16, 2018

Nature, market forces made 2018 tough on Texas grain producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-245-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Today Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced the Texas General Land Office (GLO) has approved all nine methods of distribution (MODs) proposed by…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 10, 2018

Cattle prices rise amid improving hay, forage conditions Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  Cattle prices have been rising following widespread rains…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Oct. 2, 2018

Drought, late summer rains among challenges for Texas cotton growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Drought and untimely late-summer rains likely…

Maeda joins AgriLife Extension cotton program in Lubbock

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Murilo Maeda, 806-746-6101, mmaeda@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Dr. Murilo Maeda is returning to his roots when he trades the Texas coast for the South…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 25, 2018

Reduced wildlife numbers expected going into hunting season Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Drought conditions throughout much of the state this summer…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

As Hurricane Florence bears down on East Coast, Texas faces flooding from Gulf Coast disturbance

A wide swath of Texas could experience flooding from a Gulf Coast disturbance this weekend. National Weather Service Hurricane Florence is smashing the East Coast with near 100-mph sustained winds…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…

PART II: Museums provide wide array of programs for schools, adults, summer camps & families. Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — In my article two weeks ago, we discussed some of the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 5, 2018

Wheat acres could rise slightly as prices trend upward; winter moisture expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

PART I: Museums contribute to Tourism, Knowledge & Coastal Bend Economy Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Over the next several weeks, I would like to take the opportunity to…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 28, 2018

Texas rice farmers experiencing bumper 2018 Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Michael Orrin Way, 409-752-2741, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu            Dr. Lee Tarpley, 409-752-2741, ltarpley@tamu.edu BEAUMONT – Texas rice farmers are…

Attend this weekend’s Day of Remembrance at Roberts Point Park in Port Aransas By State Rep. Todd Hunter Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — On August 25, 2017, one year ago,…

“We’re just trying to make sure nobody in our class feels left out, or sad, or ever thinks about Harvey.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — Camper trailers and storage…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 21, 2018

Dove season success likely to depend on food, water sources Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Dr. John Tomecek, 325-650-3520, john.tomecek@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas hunters…

She's tasked with emergency planning at the Port of Corpus Christi. A year after Harvey, her community continues to rebuild.

Danielle Hale and her son, Conner, 8 help friends rebuild their home damaged by Hurricane Harvey, on August 11, 2018. Eddie Seal for The Texas Tribune CORPUS CHRISTI — Danielle…

"Mother Nature is very resilient": A year after Hurricane Harvey, coastal ecosystems are thriving

The Nueces River near Corpus Christi and the Gulf of Mexico. Courtesy Texas A&M-Corpus Christi CORPUS CHRISTI — When Larry McKinney steers his boat around the bays near Corpus Christi,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 14, 2018

Uncertainty surrounds exports affecting Texas producers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Ribera, 979-845-3070, lribera@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Ongoing negotiations regarding the North American Free Trade Agreement and…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…