Why the Lower Colorado River Authority needs groundwater rights in Bastrop County By Phil Wilson Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA) been serving Texans for…

Study shows ‘precision nutrition’ may help prevent non-alcoholic fatty liver disease

Texas A&M, Central Texas Veterans Health Care Systems, others collaborate on study Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Chaodong Wu, 979-458-1521, cdwu@tamu.edu Dr. Gianfranco Alpini, 254-743-1044, galpini@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

10th Annual CenTex Beef Cattle Symposium Sept. 28 in Cleburne

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Justin Hale, 817-556-6370, justin.hale@ag.tamu.edu CLEBURNE – Central Texas cattle producers will hear the latest updates on the cattle market and beef demand, plus herd…

Texas Crop and Weather – Sept. 11, 2018

El Niño weather patterns expected to bring wetter conditions through winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Texas is emerging from one…

Brush management topic of Sept. 18 meeting in Post

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tarlton Holloway, 806-495-4400, tarlton.holloway@ag.tamu.edu POST – Producers from the Central Texas and South Plains area can hear the latest information on brush management at…

North Central Texas Cattleman’s Clinic set for Oct. 10 in Graham

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContacts: Justin Rogers, 940-549-0737 or Justin.rogers@ag.tamu.eduJason Westbrook, 940-659-1228, jason.westbrook@ag.tamu.eduCharlie Martin, 940-567-2132, cpmartin@ag.tamu.edu GRAHAM – The annual North Central Texas Cattleman’s Clinic, hosted by the Texas A&M…

Texas Task Force 1 Deploys Around The State Due To Flooding Threat

From Texas Task Force 1: Texas Task Force 1 (TX-TF1), sponsored by the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service, has deployed Water Rescue Teams in advance of a cold front system…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – (AUSTIN, TEXAS) – Congressman Roger Williams (R-Austin), attended the activation ceremony for the Army Futures Command, alongside the Secretary of Army, Dr. Mark T. Esper, and…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and John Cornyn (R-Texas) sent a letter to Secretary of the Air Force Heather Wilson today urging the Air…

Texas Water Resources Institute to hold water quality meeting Aug. 23 in Belton

Contacts: Allen Berthold, 979-845-2028, taberthold@ag.tamu.edu Ed Rhodes, 979-458-5663, edward.rhodes@ag.tamu.edu BELTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, is hosting a meeting Aug. 23 in Belton for anyone interested in…

2018 Texas A&M Beef Tour Sept. 12-14 to give attendees access to top ranches, facilities

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Randy Reeves, 903-236-8429, randy.reeves@ag.tamu.edu LONGVIEW – A three-day educational tour of working cattle operations and Texas A&M AgriLife facilities across East and Central Texas…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Aug. 7, 2018

Wine grape yields down due to drought, but good quality expected Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Michael Cook, 940-349-2896, m-cook@tamu.edu            Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu            Brianna Hoge,…

Rolling Plains Sheep and Goat University set Aug. 9 in Seymour

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Josh Kouns, 940-889-5581, josh.Kouns@ag.tamu.edu SEYMOUR – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will host the second annual Rolling Plains Sheep and Goat University Aug.…

Skype A Scientist program lets NRI research associate connect to new audience

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Melissa Meierhofer, 920-203-3668, mbm030@tamu.edu Dr. Jim Cathey, 979-458-2565, james.cathey@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –  What are bat wings made of? How are bats different from birds?…

Girl Scouts of Central Texas get new leader

Paula Bookidis, a business leader in Austin, has been named the new CEO of Girl Scouts of Central Texas, which includes Waco. Source: The Eagle Culture & Lifestyle

As Trump backlash continues, STEM professionals in Texas run for office

Clockwise from bottom left: Allison Lami Sawyer, Michelle Beckley, Joseph Kopser, Carla Morton, and Rick Kennedy are Democrats with backgrounds in STEM running for office this year. Marjorie Kamys Cotera:…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 3, 2018

Texas facing long, hot summer Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions continue to persist in much of the state as…

Hot, dry summer has scorpions in South, Central Texas heading indoors

Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – With rising Texas summer temperatures, humans aren’t the only life forms trying to find…

Brazos County sheriff swears in new deputies

Brazos County Sheriff Chris Kirk swore in the newest deputies to join the Sheriff’s Office on June 8 after Christopher Greiner and Jonathan James graduated from the TEEX Central Texas…