Outcrossing between johnsongrass, sorghum studied

AgriLife Research scientists don’t want weed picking up novel crop traits Contact: Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan, 979-845-5375, muthu@tamu.edu Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Johnsongrass and sorghum might be…

Study: Deadly Wimberley floods rooted in weather patterns, intensified by development

The 40-foot wall of water that gushed down the Blanco River in May 2015, wiping out parts of Wimberley and killing more than a dozen people, was largely a natural…

Texas milk production goes west over the past 30 years

Weather, animal welfare, economics and producer quality of life factors Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ellen Jordan, 972-952-9212, ellen.jordan@ag.tamu.edu COMO – A rusted, padlocked gate marks the entry…

Parts of the state enter wildfire season earlier than usual

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Andy Vestal, 979-229-5710, t-vestal@exchange.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Wildfire season has arrived earlier than usual due to high fuel availability, drought and other environmental…

AgriLife Extension employees in South Central Texas earn top agency award

Superior Service Award garnered by personnel in Bexar, Gonzales, Uvalde, Wilson counties Contact: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN — Employees of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service serving the South…

Camp Brisket helps novice pitmasters feed masses

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jeff Savell, 979-845-3992, j-savell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Nothing beats good brisket and Texas barbecue, but smoking brisket on a barbecue pit can be…

Low temperatures will help some producers, cause minimal damage for others

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cold temperatures should not negatively impact Texas crops and could benefit some, according to Texas…

Texas Native Seeds project expanding to meet demand ecosystem restoration

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Forrest Smith, 361-593-4525, forrest.smith@tamuk.edu Dr. Jim Muir, 254-968-4144, j-muir@tamu.edu STEPHENVILLE – The statewide search for seeds from native Texas grasses and forbs is expected…

Third Milam County Employee In Two Years Accused Of Taking Money

TEMPLE, Texas (AP) – Authorities say a Central Texas jailer has been charged with stealing funds. Milam County Sheriff David Greene on Tuesday told the Temple Daily Telegram that Milam…

Christmas Tree in House Chamber displayed until January 2nd By Texas Speaker Joe Straus Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — In the middle of the Texas House Chamber on the…

AgriLife Extension posts cotton variety trial results in East, South, Central Texas

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-2425, gdmorgan@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The 2017 Replicated Agronomic Cotton Evaluation or RACE trial results from South, East and Central Texas…

Central Texas Cow/Calf Clinic set Jan. 5 in Cameron

Contact: Floyd Ingram, 254-697-7045, floyd.ingram@ag.tamu.edu CAMERON — The 37th annual Central Texas Cow/Calf Clinic will be Jan. 5 at the Milam County Youth Exposition Building, 301 S. Houston St. in…

Natural Gas Pipeline Fire Near Somerville

A natural gas pipeline that caught fire near Somervile Wednesday morning remains under investigation. The Burleson County sheriff’s office reports no one was hurt. The fire, which was reported about…

San Marcos Police Officer Killed While Delivering A Warrant

Update: SAN MARCOS, Texas (AP) _ Police have revealed the identity of an officer shot and killed while serving a warrant in Central Texas. A statement issued by San Marcos,…

Winners Of 91st B/CS Christmas Parade

Here are the winners of the 91st B/CS Christmas Parade, posted on the parade’s Facebook parade Sunday evening: Grand Prize: Aggieland Scuba – The Little Mermaid Judge’s Award: SPJST –…

AgriLife Extension’s Taylor County Marketing Club sets Dec. 8 commodity workshop

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s Taylor County Marketing Club has set their annual public workshop for 8:30…

Tri-county range, livestock clinic slated for Dec. 7 in Brady

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu BRADY – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Tri-County Range and Livestock Clinic…

Appeals Court Hears History Making Case At Blinn College Bryan Campus

The sixth annual visit by the Texas 10th court of appeals to the Blinn College campus in Bryan including a historical event. The director of Blinn’s paralegal program, Robert Stanberry,…

Calf market trends, forage production highlight South Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu BRENHAM – Beef cattle producers from throughout the South Central Texas region learned more about producing calves that fit…

Buda voters to decide whether to reintroduce fluoride to tap water

Buda voters on Tuesday will decide whether the Central Texas city should again add fluoride to its water supply. The widespread and decades-old practice of fluoridation — roughly two-thirds of Americans live in communities…