AgriLife helps Texas tomato producers make better connections through grafting

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – A team of Texas A&M AgriLife researchers and horticulturists are investigating how successful integration of vegetable grafting…

Stiles Farm Field Day set for June 19 in Thrall

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Ryan Collett, 512-898-2214, rmcollett@ag.tamu.edu THRALL – Feral hog trapping, soybean performance in the Blacklands, pecan tree management and the latest farm bill information will…

Volunteers needed to help lay flags at each grave Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas –  Land Commissioner and Veterans Land Board Commissioner George P. Bush is encouraging Texans across the…

Toth backed by gay libertarian billionaire pushing Same-Sex Marriage & Marijuana Legalization Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “Donna Davidson is a strong conservative who has the integrity, character, and…

Economist: Marketing plans can help Central Texas farmers capitalize on grain markets

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-8011, jmwelch@tamu.edu  Dr. Scott Nolte, 979-845-4880, scott.nolte@tamu.edu  Dr. Clark Neely, 979-845-3041, cbneely@tamu.edu   McGREGOR – The impacts of potential trade tariffs…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 1, 2018

Lack of rain and low temperatures hinder warm-season crops Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – State Climatologist John Nielsen-Gammon, College Station,…

Don’t let fire ants ruin your summer, take steps this spring

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Allen Knutson, 972-952-9222, allen.knutson@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Mike Merchant, 972-952-9204, michael.merchant@ag.tamu.edu       DALLAS – Dealing with fire ants is no picnic, but getting rid…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Training set for May 1 in Killeen

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu KILLEEN – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. May 1…

Dallas Urban Quail Appreciation Day May 18

Texas A&M Natural Resources Institute associate Amanda Gobeli with Kirby Quail (AgriLife Illustration by Gabe Saldana) Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Amanda Gobeli, 720-333-6224, amanda.gobeli@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576,…

Central Texas Vines and Wines program May 17 in Lorena

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu  Contact: Dr. Shane McLellan, 254-757-5180, shane.mclellan@ag.tamu.edu LORENA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in McLennan County will host the Central Texas Vines and Wines…

It’s wheat tour time in West Central Texas

Multi-county events set May 3 in Millersview, May 4 in Taylor, Callahan, Jones counties Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Justin Klinksiek, 325-597-1295, justin.klinksiek@ag.tamu.edu Karl Winge, 325-854-5835, karl.winge@ag.tamu.edu MILLERSVIEW –…

Central Texans getting more than fair share of oak pollen

Experts say pollen counts significantly higher than average   Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – Central Texas allergy sufferers are…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. – Whether you celebrate Passover or Easter, I hope you had a blessed holiday spent with friends and family. After a month-long nightmare of exploding packages throughout the…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 27, 2018

Most planted sorghum fields in good shape, unplanted areas dealing with drought Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu   COLLEGE STATION – Sorghum fields have…

AgriLife Extension Hay Production Workshop set April 18 in Menard

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu MENARD – A Hay Production Workshop conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is 9:30 a.m.-3 p.m. April…

Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, DC – Congressman Roger Williams (R – Austin) took to the House floor Wednesday afternoon to recognize Austin, Texas for being the number one place to live…

New AgriLife Extension range website, “How Grasses Grow,” now available

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Morgan Russell, 325-653-4576, Morgan.Russell@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – “How Grasses Grow,” a new website resource for ranchers, land managers and landowners, is now…

East Austin Garden Fair set for April 14

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The annual “East Austin Garden Fair: A Passion for Plants” will take place from 9 a.m. to 2…

East Austin Garden Fair set for April 14

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Daphne Richards, 512-854-9600, drichards@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – The annual “East Austin Garden Fair: A Passion for Plants” will take place from 9 a.m. to 2…

AgriLife Extension sets Lunch-N-Learn Horticulture Series in Brown County

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Scott Anderson, 325-646-0386, sa-anderson@tamu.edu BROWNWOOD – The dates for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s annual Lunch-N-Learn Horticulture Series in Brown County…