Laredo officials want to use border wall money to fund a riverfront project

Laredo Mayor Pete Saenz describes where the city’s River Vega project will be constructed should his administration secure funds for its construction. Saenz spoke with The Texas Tribune from his…

Summer Foods Summer Meals program feeds, educates South Texas youths

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Melissa De Leon, 956-383-5721, Melissa.DeLeon@ag.tamu.edu SOUTH TEXAS — An ongoing free meal program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is nourishing the bodies and minds of…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – March 6, 2018

Dry conditions continue to hamper wheat progress Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cbneely@tamu.eduDr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – As wheat comes out of dormancy…

AgriLife Extension, others to present fishing seminar Feb. 22 in Harlingen

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tony Reisinger, 956-361-8236, Tony.Reisinger@ag.tamu.edu HARLINGEN — A free fishing seminar will be presented from 7-9 p.m. Feb. 22 at the Harlingen Community Center, 201 E.…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Oct. 11

EDITOR’S NOTE: This week’s report was delayed due to the Columbus Day holiday. Cool, cloudy, wet weather creates problems for Panhandle cotton production Writers: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Paul Schattenberg,…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 26, 2017

Conditions brewing for warm, dry winter Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions around the state could worsen over the next…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 13, 2017

Wheat acres likely to remain static or decrease slightly Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Clark Neely, 979-862-1412, cneely@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Low wheat prices likely mean planted acreage…

Texas Extension Specialists Association presents awards

‘Outstanding Friend,’ agents, scholarship recipients recognized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Extension Specialists Association recognized Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents and associates for outstanding…

Texas Extension Specialists Association presents awards

‘Outstanding Friend,’ agents, scholarship recipients recognized Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Extension Specialists Association recognized Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agents and associates for outstanding…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 25

Texas pecan crop projected to exceed 50 million pounds Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas pecan growers expect to increase production this…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 11

Bollworms mount attack on some Texas cotton, grain sorghum Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Insect damage to crops is ramping up…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 6

Hail damage across High Plains being evaluated Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.bell@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Waves of hail storms across…

Lower Rio Grande Valley group to examine season’s climate projections

  Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu   Contact: Dr. Catherine Simpson, 956-973-3002, Catherine.Simpson@tamuk.edu WESLACO — Water, weather and the climate outlook will be on the agenda for a one-day workshop…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — March 21

Early spring conditions could extend growing season for bedding plant growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Hall, 979-458-0439, charliehall@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Early spring conditions may have…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — March 21

Early spring conditions could extend growing season for bedding plant growers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Hall, 979-458-0439, charliehall@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Early spring conditions may have…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — March 7

Rising fuel prices could mean higher costs for producers and consumers Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Mark Welch, 979-845-1751, jmwelch@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rising fuel prices could mean…

Superior Service Awards presented at Texas A&M AgriLife conference

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Suzanne Deatherage, 979-845-7970, suzanne.deatherage@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Select faculty and staff of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service received the agency’s Superior Service Award…

Valley’s Texas Master Naturalists taking applications for 2017 class

Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contacts: Tony Reisinger, 956-493-8129, e-reisinger@tamu.edu SOUTH PADRE ISLAND  —  The Texas Master Naturalists program is taking applications through December for new members interested in…

Lower Rio Grande Valley soil testing campaign runs through January

  Writer: Rod Santa Ana, 956-878-8317, r-santaana@tamu.edu Contacts: Enrique Perez, 956-361-8236, eperez@ag.tamu.edu Matthew Rodriguez, 956-689-2412, matthew.rodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Brad Cowan, 956-383-1026, b-cowan@tamu.edu Victor Gutierrez, 956-969-5615, victor.gutierrez@ag.tamu.edu WESLACO  —  The Texas A&M AgriLife…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — Aug. 24

Recent rains likely to boost hay production outlook Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4008, l-redmon@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Good quality cuttings of hay could be in…