Women’s land stewardship conference offered Oct. 1-2 in Fredericksburg

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a two-day land stewardship conference, “Empowering Women – New Stewardship…

Bexar County Sheriff Asks For Money To Hire A Staff Psychologist After 18 Deputies Are Fired

SAN ANTONIO (AP) _ A Texas sheriff who’s seen 18 deputies arrested this year on various charges says a staff psychologist will be hired to better screen applicants. Bexar (bayr)…

Texas Master Gardeners converge in San Antonio for advanced training

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – About 50 Master Gardeners from 27 counties throughout Texas recently came to…

We’ve entered the home stretch of what is sometimes referred to in Austin as “The Interim.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — It’s been just a little over a year since…

AgriLife Extension to provide private applicator training Sept. 6 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present the Private Applicator Pesticide Training program Sept. 6 at…

Rainwater harvesting, turf management training Sept. 20-21 in Boerne, San Antonio

Contacts: John W Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-3041, bgrubbs@tamu.edu Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Reagan Hejl, 979-845-5252, Reagan.hejl@tamu.edu Lee Marlowe, 210-302-3624, lmarlow@sara-tx.org SAN ANTONIO – Texas A&M AgriLife…

Private water well screening set for Sept. 18 in San Antonio

Contact: John Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas Well Owner Network is hosting a water well screening Sept. 18 in San Antonio to give area residents the opportunity…

For Juntos 4-H ‘Day in the Life’ contest winner, the sky’s the limit

Trip to Florida, Kennedy Space Center tour part of reward for first-place essay Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — David Tierranegra, winner…

Growing edibles in landscape focus of Aug. 18 program in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service office in Bexar County will present the Growing Edibles in Your…

Backyard Basics Expo in San Antonio helps attendees learn self-sufficiency

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Leyba Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 100 people attended the biannual…

Bexar County employees complete Walk Across Texas

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 245 Bexar County employees recently completed the eight-week Walk Across Texas health and…

Forage Management Workshop set Aug. 30 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, Sam.Womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its Forage Management Workshop Aug. 30 at its office…

EPA: San Antonio ozone levels too high under new standard

Ozone, a key component of smog, forms when emissions from cars, coal plants and the like mix with other airborne compounds in the presence of sunlight. Responding to a court…

AgriLife Extension sets Backyard Basics Expo for Aug. 3 in san Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its Backyard Basics Expo Aug. 3 in San Antonio.…

As Trump backlash continues, STEM professionals in Texas run for office

Clockwise from bottom left: Allison Lami Sawyer, Michelle Beckley, Joseph Kopser, Carla Morton, and Rick Kennedy are Democrats with backgrounds in STEM running for office this year. Marjorie Kamys Cotera:…

Earth-Kind gardening series to be offered in San Antonio

Seminars to be from August to October Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County and Bexar…

Hot, dry summer has scorpions in South, Central Texas heading indoors

Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – With rising Texas summer temperatures, humans aren’t the only life forms trying to find…

Rudy Ruedas joins AgriLife Extension in Bexar County as youth outreach educator

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Nelda Lebya Speller, 210-631-0400, nlspeller@ag.tamu.edu Rudy Ruedas, 210-631-0400, rudy.ruedas@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — Rudy Ruedas is the new youth outreach educator for the Texas A&M…

Juntos 4-H’er wins National 4-H “Day in the Life” award

Contact: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-631-0400, melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — David Tierranegra, a sophomore at Harlandale High School, was presented the National 4-H “Day in the Life” award during the recent…

Junior Master Gardener Adult Leader Training July 25-27 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.eduContact: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, Ruby.Zavala@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Youth Gardens Program of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service for Bexar County is now accepting applications for its 12th…