AgriLife entomologists: Exclusion best protection from winter insect ‘home invasion’

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9606, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu AUSTIN – Like all living things, insects are constantly searching for food, water and shelter, so…

AgriLife Extension to provide private applicator training Dec. 6 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present a Private Applicator Pesticide Training Dec. 6 at the agency’s office…

Beef Cattle Short Course set for Jan. 8, Jan. 15 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Bexar County Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee will present the…

Kids, Kows and More event in San Antonio brings agriculture to urban youth

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 1,000 third- and fourth-grade students from elementary schools throughout Bexar County attended the recent two-day…

AgriLife Extension horticulturist: Protect, select, plant with colder weather in mind

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – With the mercury dropping in South Central Texas, a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service horticulturist said it’s…

AgriLife Extension offers continuing education units Nov. 30 in San Antonio

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present its annual winter continuing education program on Nov. 30…

Incredible Edible Insect Event in San Antonio a ‘tasteful’ experience

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 300 people attended the recent Incredible Edible Insect Event held in the culinary garden area of…

Incredible Edible Insect Event in San Antonio a ‘tasteful’ experience

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 300 people attended the recent Incredible Edible Insect Event held in the culinary garden area of…

Incredible Edible Insect Event in San Antonio a ‘tasteful’ experience

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — More than 300 people attended the recent Incredible Edible Insect Event held in the culinary garden area of…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – Governor Greg Abbott today announced that OKIN BPS, a.s. is opening its new U.S. headquarters in San Antonio, Texas. The new headquarters in San…

AgriLife Extension reaches senior citizens through Healthy Cooking School

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 120 people, primarily senior citizens, attended the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Dinner Tonight! Healthy…

AgriLife Extension, TAMU-SA announce program partnership to help at-risk youth

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Melinda Garcia, 210-954-3331, Melinda.garcia@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County and Texas A&M University-San Antonio have announced…

Urban riparian, stream restoration workshop set for Nov. 7 in San Antonio

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host a workshop from 8:30…

Riparian, stream ecosystem workshop set for Nov. 6 in San Antonio

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 ext. 205, Clare.Entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Aarin Teague, 210-302-3660, ateague@sara-tx.org SAN ANTONIO – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a Texas Riparian and Stream Ecosystem Education…

Incredible Edible Insect Event set for Oct. 20 in San Antonio

Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and San Antonio Botanical Garden will present the Incredible Edible Insect Event at 10:30 a.m. and…

Brown patch, large patch diseases plague Texas lawns in cool, wet September

Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-0603, bgrubbs@tamu.edu Contact: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu Symptoms of large patch manifest in residential St. Augustine (top) and zoysia (bottom) under…

Women’s land stewardship conference offered Oct. 1-2 in Fredericksburg

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu FREDERICKSBURG – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will offer a two-day land stewardship conference, “Empowering Women – New Stewardship…

Bexar County Sheriff Asks For Money To Hire A Staff Psychologist After 18 Deputies Are Fired

SAN ANTONIO (AP) _ A Texas sheriff who’s seen 18 deputies arrested this year on various charges says a staff psychologist will be hired to better screen applicants. Bexar (bayr)…

Texas Master Gardeners converge in San Antonio for advanced training

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Larry Stein, 830-278-9151, larry.stein@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – About 50 Master Gardeners from 27 counties throughout Texas recently came to…

We’ve entered the home stretch of what is sometimes referred to in Austin as “The Interim.” Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — It’s been just a little over a year since…