Guadalupe County Master Gardener class open for registration

Instruction will be Tuesdays, Aug. 8-Dec. 5 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kay McElveen, 479-790-2933, hkaymcelveen@gmail.com SEGUIN – Guadalupe County residents interested in learning more about gardening and sharing…

Growing organic rice for market niche not simple

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Shane Zhou, 409-752-2741, xzhou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Fugen Dou, 409-752-2741, f-dou@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Mo Way, 409-658-2186, moway@aesrg.tamu.edu Dr. Muthu, Bagavathiannan, 979-845-3041, muthu.bagavathiannan@tamu.edu BEAUMONT —  A market…

Chiggers, fleas more noticeable in summer

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu CENTRAL TEXAS – As people become more active in summer, so do a few familiar pests…

Tuesday Afternoon Power Outage In College Station

Update: As of 6:08 p.m., College Station Utilities reported all power has been restored. Original story: More than 4,400 hundred College Station electric customers were without power Tuesday afternoon. College…

Texas Crop and Weather Report — July 18

Forage pests active in improved pastures Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Forage producers should be on the watch for and ready to…

Texas A&M entomologist hot on the trail to stop global locust devastation

  Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Hojun Song, 979-845-2481, hsong@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – From time immemorial, man has suffered from the devastation wrought by locust swarms of biblical…

Stocker cattle, wheat conference set for Aug. 1 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941 ext. 233, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Oklahoma – With low wheat prices, stocker cattle options for farmers and…

Nursing group looking for new members

Area nurses have formed a Brazos Valley chapter of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. The chapter promotes educational and volunteer opportunities for the community. For membership information, contact…

Fight over copper mining in northern Minnesota heats up

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — The fight over whether to allow copper-nickel mining near the Boundary Waters Canoe Area of northeastern Minnesota is shifting to the capital city as the U.S. Forest…

Wildfire recovery meetings set Aug. 3 in northeastern Texas Panhandle

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Danny Nusser, 806-677-5600, dnusser@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Almost five months after wildfires ripped across much of the northeastern Texas Panhandle, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension…

Stranger Forces His Way Into A CS Apartment And Attacks The Resident

News release from College Station police: On 7-12-17, at approximately 2322 hrs, College Station Police were dispatched to the report of a Burglary of Habitation in progress call at an…

Texas A&M AgriLife celebrates 50 years in Overton

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Long, 903-834-6191, charles.long@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Overton celebrated its 50th year of research, innovation…

Teens Arrested for Theft of a Firearm

Two teenagers were arrested early this morning after College Station police officers found them in the area of Brentwood and Cornell Street looking into vehicles with flashlights. According to the…

Dallas turf breeder reelected to Texas A&M University System research council

Writer: Gabe Saldana, 956-408-5040, gabe.saldana@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ambika Chandra, 972-952-9218, ambika.chandra@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ambika Chandra DALLAS – Dr. Ambika Chandra, lead scientist of the turfgrass breeding program at the Texas A&M…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 11

Bollworms mount attack on some Texas cotton, grain sorghum Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Insect damage to crops is ramping up…

Bryan P&Z Postpones Recommendation On Proposed Residential-Commercial Development

Last Thursday, the Bryan Planning and Zoning commission postponed action on a zoning change request to create a residential and commercial development in the area of Boonville and Briarcrest. That’s…

Vietnam Veterans hand out scholarships

The Vietnam Veterans of America Chapter No. 937 in Bryan recently awarded $500 academic scholarships to area high school students. The students demonstrated academic excellence, involvement in community activities and…

Kids learn manners at annual etiquette and dance class

Sixty-eight children from the Bryan-College Station area recently participated in the annual Class Act Etiquette & Dance Camps, practicing their manners, dance skills and etiquette at the College Station Hilton. …

“Well Educated” training for well owners set for July 27 in Wimberley

Contact: Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu WIMBERLEY– Anyone interested in private water well management is invited to a Texas Well Owner Network “Well Educated” training July 27 in Wimberley. The training,…

Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp provides youth with leadership skills

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Shawnte Clawson, 806-677-5600, sfclawson@ag.tamu.edu FLOYDADA – About 90 youth from the Panhandle and South Plains districts attended the annual Xcel Energy/4-H Power Camp June…