Mark Faries: Welcome to Health Hullabaloo. I’m here with Tim Schnettler. Hey Tim. Tim Schnettler: Hey Dr. Faries, how are you? Mark Faries: Good. Again, my name is Dr. Mark…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 20, 2018

Consumers could find good deals on holiday dinner fare Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumers could see lower prices on holiday…

Kids, Kows and More event in San Antonio brings agriculture to urban youth

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Natalie Cervantes, 210-631-0400, ntcervantes@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – More than 1,000 third- and fourth-grade students from elementary schools throughout Bexar County attended the recent two-day…

Mary Leigh Meyer: Howdy, this is Mary Leigh Meyer. Sam Craft: And I’m her co-host, Sam Craft. Mary Leigh Meyer: And welcome to Sounds Like Health. We are here with…

Urban stream processes, restoration workshop set for Nov. 29 in Belton

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BELTON – The Texas Water Resources Institute’s Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program will host the Urban Stream Processes…

Battleground to Breaking Ground Entrepreneurial Training Project now taking applications

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, erin.pilosi@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, makenzie.mclaurin@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Applications are being accepted now through Dec. 5 for the Battleground to Breaking…

Low-Impact Development Workshop set for Nov. 27 in Seguin

Contact: Ward Ling, 979-845-6980, wling@tamu.edu SEGUIN — The Geronimo and Alligator Creeks Watershed Partnership will host a Low-Impact Development Workshop from 8:30 a.m. to noon Nov. 27 at the Irma…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 14, 2018

Wet conditions continue to slow cotton harvest, reduce quality Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Gaylon Morgan, 979-845-0870, gdmorgan@tamu.edu Dr. John Robinson, 979-845-8011, jrcr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Rain continues…

Texas Enterprise Fund attracts more than $853 million in new investments, 16,500+ new jobs across Texas Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — “Texas is a leader in the establishment of…

Reef restoration projects aim to bolster Texas' record-low oyster population

Oyster shells along the Gulf Intercoastal Waterway. An oyster restoration project is underway in Matagorda Bay. Jerod Foster for The Nature Conservancy With oyster populations in Texas at historic lows,…

Registration open for Birding the Border program

April 22-26 program to feature sites in Kinney, Val Verde counties Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Maureen Frank, 830-278-9151, mgfrank@tamu.edu Emily Grant, 830-774-7591, emily.grant@ag.tamu.edu DEL RIO – Registration is open…

Gunfire In A Bryan Bar Follows An Argument Over A Game Of Dominoes

An argument over a game of dominoes in a Bryan bar Sunday afternoon resulted in a shooting that put one man in the hospital and a second man in jail.…

Gunfire In A Bryan Bar Follows An Argument Over A Game Of Dominoes

An argument over a game of dominoes in a Bryan bar Sunday afternoon resulted in a shooting that put one man in the hospital and a second man in jail.…

Drilling overwhelms agency protecting America’s lands

A flare burns on May 24, 2018 atop a drill pad on land near Carlsbad, N.M., that Wayne Smith leased for ranching before his death in October. The development covered…

They wish there were more jobs, but rural Texans are happy where they are, poll finds

Texans in the rural counties that make up the vast majority of the state’s geography are overwhelmingly happy with their quality of life, about their public schools and the quality…

IT threat evolution Q3 2018

Targeted attacks and malware campaigns Lazarus targets cryptocurrency exchange Lazarus is a well-established threat actor that has conducted cyber-espionage and cybersabotage campaigns since at least 2009. In recent years, the…

Water quality training Dec. 11 in Jonesboro to focus on Leon River

Contacts: Bruce Boyd, 254-386-3919, bruce.boyd@ag.tamu.edu Robert Ferguson, 254-865-2414, robert.ferguson@ag.tamu.edu Andy James, 254-223-3056, andy.james@tamu.edu Michael Kuitu, 979-862-4457, mkuitu@tamu.edu JONESBORO – A Texas Watershed Steward workshop on water quality related to the Leon…

Pesticide applicator training in Overton Nov. 29

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – A Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service pesticide applicator training program is scheduled for Nov. 29 in Overton.…

Wildlife disease ecology specialist joins AgriLife center in Uvalde

Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Tammi Johnson, 830-278-9151 x242, tammi.johnson@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE — Dr. Tammi Johnson has joined the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Uvalde as its…

“I didn’t vote for him for his character. I voted for him for his positions.”Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — “President Trump wants to protect this country. And he wants…