Human Remains Found In College Station

From College Station police: On November 18, 2017 at approximately 8:25 AM the College Station Police Department, as a part of an on-going investigation involving a missing person, with assistance…

Slight climate shifts can affect optimum water use in plant communities

Research projects plant response in ‘dry gets drier, wet gets wetter’ world Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Georgianne Moore, 979-845-3765, gwmoore@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A new discovery is…

By Adryana Aldeen, Senior Correspondent Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — For the last several weeks, Judge Roy Moore from Alabama has been in the news with a number of accusations…

Study shows plant growth regulators can benefit onion establishment, production

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu Maria Andrea Macias Leon, 830-278-9151, mandreaml@tamu.edu UVALDE – A study by researchers at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and…

In search of a flood fix, one Houston community turned to a golf course

HOUSTON — In 50 years living in Clear Lake City, Spyros Varsos had never seen the floodwater get so high. During a historic rainstorm two years ago, he watched anxiously…

Investigation Report for the September 2014 Equation malware detection incident in the US

Background In early October, a story was published by the Wall Street Journal alleging Kaspersky Lab software was used to siphon classified data from an NSA employee’s home computer system.…

Patterson fills AgriLife Extension agent position in Collingsworth County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Kenny Patterson, 806-447-2313, Kenny.patterson@ag.tamu.edu WELLINGTON – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has hired Kenny Patterson for the agriculture and natural resources agent position…

Young students learn practical applications of science at AgriLife center in Uvalde

Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, daniel.leskovar@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Madhumita Joshi, 830-278-9151, madhumita.joshi@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – About 40 students from Sacred Heart Catholic School in Uvalde recently got a firsthand look at how…

Alumni receive awards at Texas A&M College of Agriculture and Life Sciences banquet

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Three former students were chosen for Outstanding Early Career Alumni awards, while four alumni were honored with Outstanding Alumni Awards during the…

UPDATE: Missing CS Man Has Been Found Safe

Photo of Michael Bittner from College Station police. Update: College Station police reported just after 5 p.m. the missing man was found safe. CSPD reports the man was found at…

Texas 4-H awards grants to clubs in counties affected by Hurricane Harvey

Almost $125,000 provided for rebuilding 4-H clubs, communities Contacts: Dr. Toby Lepley, 979-845-1212, toby.lepley@ag.tamu.edu Sarah Hamm, 979-845-1213, sarah.hamm@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Courtney Dodd, 979-845-1211, cfdodd@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — The Texas 4-H Youth…

CS Council Approves Another Developer’s Request Over Homeowner Opposition

The College Station city council has again approved on a split vote, a land use change for a business development over the opposition of neighboring homeowners. Objections from the Eastgate…

Two Teens Arrested for Vehicle Burglaries

News release from College Station Police: On 11-12-17, at approximately 2254 hrs, College Station Police were dispatched to the report of suspicious persons in the 1100 block of Oney Hervey;…

Experts: deforestation threatening the diversity of Amazon fish species

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.eduContacts: Dr. Kirk Winemiller, 979-862-4020, k-winemiller@tamu.eduCaroline Arantes, 979-721-1952, caroline.arantes@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A paper published in the Journal of Applied Ecology by two Texas A&M University scientists warns of impacts to…

Healthy Texas statewide effort kicks off in East Texas

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Rusty Hohlt, 979-458-7553, rrhohlt@ag.tamu.edu LUFKIN – A statewide effort to address chronic health problems and improve Texans’ health and quality of life through preventative…

IT threat evolution Q3 2017. Statistics

Q3 figures According to KSN data, Kaspersky Lab solutions detected and repelled 277,646,376 malicious attacks from online resources located in 185 countries all over the world. 72,012,219 unique URLs were…

“I have a proven record of delivering conservative results to make our government more effective, while limiting its powers.” Texas Insider Report: HOUSTON, Texas — “Congressman Poe has been a…

A&M Health Science Center Expands Its Houston Area Footprint

From the Texas A&M Health Science Center: Roderic I. Pettigrew, PhD, MD, a physician-scientist and internationally recognized leader in biomedical imaging and bioengineering, will join Texas A&M to lead Engineering…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Nov. 7, 2017

Texas peanut crop looks promising Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jason Woodward, 806-746-6101, jewoodward@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Peanut harvest has started across the state, and harvested acres provided good…

AgriLife Extension sets Prospective Grape Grower Workshop Dec. 12 at Lubbock

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Pierre Helwi, 806-723-8447, pierre.helwi@ag.tamu.edu                 LUBBOCK – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has scheduled the Prospective Grape Grower Workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4:30…