Manhunt Shuts Down Consolidated High School And The Surrounding Area

8 p.m. update Bryan police has announced the suspension of a manhunt in College Station. BPD reports an arrest warrant was issued for 25 year old Marcel Demond Oliver of…

Junior Master Gardener Learn, Grow, Eat & Go! Program takes shape in Houston schools

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu HOUSTON – Houston Independent School District elementary students are learning how to plant, tend and harvest nutritious vegetables thanks to the Learn, Grow, Eat &…

Search Area Widens For Missing Hempstead Man

The Texas Center for the Missing has widened its search for a missing Hempstead man described as an “endangered adult”. 24 year old Tyrone Andre Adams was last seen on…

10th Anniversary Celebrated Of Brazos Valley-Belgium Economic Development Partnership

As many as 21 corporations based in Belgium are interested in locating in the Bryan/College Station area. That was one of the takeaways from a trade mission held in the…

Not just animal feed: Sorghum packs nutritious punch for people

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.eduContact; Lizabeth Gresham, 806-373-0713, lizabeth.gresham@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – “How many of y’all eat sorghum?” Lizabeth Gresham, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service agent in Potter County, discusses the…

Why the Lower Colorado River Authority needs groundwater rights in Bastrop County By Phil Wilson Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA) been serving Texans for…

Farm Tour, agriculture program slated Oct. 19-20 in San Angelo area

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Erin Kimbrough, 979-847-6185, Erin.Kimbrough@ag.tamu.edu Makenzie McLaurin, 979-862-1913, Makenzie.McLaurin@ag.tamu.edu The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service helps current and former military service members with information and…

Makes good on first ever GOP Caucus endorsement in open seat with strong support from Lt. Governor, et al . . . Flores is the first Hispanic Republican Senator and his…

Dedication Of $8 Million Dollar Sand Mine Investment In The Northern Brazos Valley

For more than 50 years, a mine has been operating in the northern Brazos Valley east of Kosse. U.S. Silica has owned the sand mine since 1987. But the mine…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – Sept. 18, 2018

Producers, homeowners battling armyworms Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, 903-834-6191, vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – Hay and forage producers and homeowners around the state are battling armyworms following…

New AgriLife Extension horticulture agent hired in Lubbock County

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Christina Reid, 806-775-1740, ext. 1747, christina.reid@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Christina Reid knew when she moved back to Lubbock she wanted to work as the Texas…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program workshop Sept. 27 in Bryan

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292, ext. 205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 972-952-9672, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu BRYAN – The Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration Program of the Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host…

AgriLife Extension: Texans should prepare for flooding, high winds

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Monty Dozier, 979-458-9271, monty.dozier@ag.tamu.edu Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu David Smith, 979-862-1989, dwsmith93@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – With the probability of extensive rain and high winds,…

As Hurricane Florence bears down on East Coast, Texas faces flooding from Gulf Coast disturbance

A wide swath of Texas could experience flooding from a Gulf Coast disturbance this weekend. National Weather Service Hurricane Florence is smashing the East Coast with near 100-mph sustained winds…

Double-cropping, longer-term cover crops options in Rolling Plains wheat systems

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pbdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Double cropping may be another consideration for producers who have used cover crops in wheat systems within…

Brush management topic of Sept. 18 meeting in Post

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Tarlton Holloway, 806-495-4400, tarlton.holloway@ag.tamu.edu POST – Producers from the Central Texas and South Plains area can hear the latest information on brush management at…

PART I: THE STATE OF THE BORDER By Dennis E. Nixon Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — The flow of immigrants who illegally enter the United States through the Mexican border…

“This election is about jobs, it’s about safety and jobs,” Texas Insider Report: WASHINGTON, D.C. — With blue-collar jobs growing at their fastest rate in more than 30 years, and…

Texas A&M AgriLife high tunnel study expands

Team to add flower, vegetable seed production Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charlie Rush, 806-354-5804, crush@tamu.edu Many interested producers showed up to learn more about high tunnels at…

Report: Texas criteria for polluted site cleanup 'significantly weaker' than neighboring states

The San Jacinto River Waste Pits, an EPA Superfund site that is contaminated with dioxins, is located off Interstate 10 east of Houston. Michael Stravato The criteria Texas uses to…