EPA: San Antonio ozone levels too high under new standard

Ozone, a key component of smog, forms when emissions from cars, coal plants and the like mix with other airborne compounds in the presence of sunlight. Responding to a court…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 17, 2018

  Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Anderson, 979-845-4351, danderson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A convergence of weather and market conditions have put a number of  Texas beef producers…

Three 2018 Urban Wildlife Series sessions to be presented in July, August

Native plants, water conservation and Medina River tour among offerings   July 17, 2018 Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Sam Womble, 210-631-0400, sam.womble@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service…

Texas A&M potato breeding trials offer reds to russets, babies to bakers

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Isabel Vales, 541-740-4437, isabel.vales@tamu.edu SPRINGLAKE – When Kelly Kuball walked the Texas A&M Potato Breeding and Variety Development Program variety display trials near…

July 18 webinar to highlight post-trauma changes

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Andy Crocker, 806-677-5600, abcrocker@ag.tamu.edu Rachel Brauner, 979-845-1553, rbrauner@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – The Military Families Learning Network’s Military Caregiving program will host a free  professional development…

CSPD Investigating Multiple Reports of a Man Entering Unlocked Residences

College Station police are investigating multiple reports of a man entering unlocked residences in the area of Holleman Drive South and Harvey Mitchell Parkway South during the early morning hours.…

As Trump backlash continues, STEM professionals in Texas run for office

Clockwise from bottom left: Allison Lami Sawyer, Michelle Beckley, Joseph Kopser, Carla Morton, and Rick Kennedy are Democrats with backgrounds in STEM running for office this year. Marjorie Kamys Cotera:…

Austin Murder Suspect Arrested In College Station

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) _ A third person has been arrested on charges that he conspired to fatally shoot an Austin-area jeweler in the jeweler’s home earlier this year. Twenty-one-year-old Johnny…

Corpus Christi water tests clean after years of problems

The shelves in the bottled water section of a Walmart in Corpus Christi were nearly empty on the morning of Dec. 15, 2016. Nearly two years after the city’s water…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 10, 2018

Bollworm emergence causing problems in cotton Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. David Kerns, 979-845-2516, dlkerns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Cotton producers who planted Bt pest-resistant varieties in some parts…

CSISD Superintendent Announces Two New Central Office Administrator Recommendations

From the College Station school district: College Station ISD Superintendent Clark Ealy named Jeff Mann Director of Instruction and Leadership Development and Lindsey Fuentes Director of Special Services today. Mann,…

Cattle Trails Wheat and Stocker Cattle Conference set July 31 in Lawton

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Emi Kimura, 940-552-9941, emi.kimura@ag.tamu.edu Marty New, 580-255-0546, marty.new@okstate.edu LAWTON, Oklahoma – Parts of Texas and Oklahoma are suffering under drought conditions, said a…

Is a massive tunnel system the answer to Houston’s flood woes?

Picture this: Another massive rainstorm overtakes Houston, but instead of inundating homes and businesses, much of the floodwater funnels into a massive underground tunnel system that whisks it away to the…

Trump administration announces nearly $5 billion for Texas flood control projects

The Theater District in downtown Houston on Sunday, Aug 27, 2017, is flooded by water from Buffalo Bayou.  Michael Stravato for The Texas Tribune Almost a year after Hurricane Harvey…

Flash flooding in Houston sparks memories of Harvey

Hurricane Harvey left Ty Boufford’s home with 8 inches of water when it struck the Houston area last August. For several days after, Boufford and his family were trapped in…

Earth-Kind gardening series to be offered in San Antonio

Seminars to be from August to October Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County and Bexar…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – July 3, 2018

Texas facing long, hot summer Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, 979-862-2248, n-g@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dry conditions continue to persist in much of the state as…

Healthy Texas Youth Ambassador summits to be held in July

Summits will be in Stephenville, San Angelo, Plainview, San Antonio Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Julie Gardner, 979-845-1484, Julie.gardner@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION –The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will present…

Hot, dry summer has scorpions in South, Central Texas heading indoors

Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Molly Keck, 210-631-0400, mekeck@ag.tamu.edu Wizzie Brown, 512-854-9600, ebrown@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – With rising Texas summer temperatures, humans aren’t the only life forms trying to find…

Connecting agriculture to human health mission of new Texas A&M vice chancellor

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu AMARILLO – Most people don’t understand the role agriculture plays in their health and daily lives, but Texas A&M University’s new vice chancellor for Agriculture…