Mass Shooting at Santa Fe Texas High School Between Houston And Galveston

SANTA FE, Texas (AP) _ The Latest on a shooting at a high school in Santa Fe, Texas (all times local): 9:20 p.m. A student at a Houston-area high school…

Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas – The Texas economy added 39,600 seasonally adjusted nonfarm jobs in April, which marked 22 consecutive months of employment growth. Over the year, Texas added…

AgriLife Research, Forage Genetics International sign multi-year agreement

Focus will be on forage sorghum improvements Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Rooney, 979-845-2151, wlr@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A greater interest in forage sorghums from the beef…

Residents, AgriLife Extension, others work to ‘Harvey-proof’ Houston-area community

Effort leads to new Exploration Green nature park that will detain floodwater, clean runoff Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. John Jacob, 832-671-8171, jjacob@tamu.edu Mary Carol Edwards, 281-989-5517, mcedwards@tamu.edu CLEAR…

“Stranger Danger” Report On A CSISD Campus Was An Honest Mistake That Results In A Training Exercise

College Station school district students and staff were commended this week for a “stranger danger” report that turned out to be a honest mistake. Tuesday after school in the pickup…

Vegetable Spring Field Day in Uvalde draws producers

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – More than 80 agricultural producers and those in agriculture-related businesses attended the recent Vegetable Spring Field Day…

As cities sprawl, more Texans are exposed to tornadoes

Mark Fox cringes every time he relives the day his worst weather nightmare came true. April 3, 2012 was a hot and humid day in North Texas, and the unstable…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 15, 2018

Demand for sheep, goats remains high amid strong meat, wool, mohair markets Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The demand for sheep…

Bexar County employees take first steps in ‘Walk Across Texas’

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Participants in Walk Across Texas in Bexar County gather outside the Bexar County Courthouse complex. More than 130 county employees participated in the…

Path to Plate program June 5 in Kennard

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Larry Pierce, 903-834-6191, larry.pierce@ag.tamu.edu KENNARD –  A Path to the Plate – Dinner Tonight Healthy Cooking School will be presented by the Texas A&M…

Water well owner training set for May 31 in Hamilton

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu HAMILTON — A Texas Well Owner Network training offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has been scheduled for May 31 in Hamilton.…

Water well owner training set for May 31 in Hamilton

Contact: Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu HAMILTON — A Texas Well Owner Network training offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service has been scheduled for May 31 in Hamilton.…

All 150+ State Agencies undergo Review every 12 years By State Rep. Todd Hunter Texas Insider Report: AUSTIN, Texas — To identify and eliminate government waste, duplication and general inefficiencies in state…

Texas A&M AgriLife Research to lead project to enhance spinach production, safety

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Vijay Joshi, 830-278-9151, Vijay.Joshi@tamu.edu Dr. Daniel Leskovar, 830-278-9151, Daniel.Leskovar@ag.tamu.edu UVALDE – Texas A&M AgriLife research will collaborate with the Texas Department of Agriculture…

Texas Crop and Weather Report – May 8, 2018

Interest in alternative crops remains steady despite lower prices for some Writer: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Calvin Trostle, 806-746-6101, ctrostle@ag.tamu.edu LUBBOCK – Oilseed crops like sunflowers and canola…

Ryan Ellis & Cesar Conda – Washington Examiner Outgoing Speaker of the House Paul Ryan talks about the new tax reform law quite a lot, as one would imagine. When…

Students from Houston area schools who participated in the Genes in Space challenge, will talk to astronauts on the International Space Station during an events hosted by Boeing and Space…

Urban Riparian and Stream Restoration program workshop set May 15 in Houston

Contacts: Clare Entwistle, 210-277-0292 x205, clare.entwistle@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Fouad Jaber, 512-213-7389, Fouad.Jaber@ag.tamu.edu THE WOODLANDS – The Texas Water Resources Institute, or TWRI, will host a workshop from 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m. May 15…

College Station Police Announce A Friday Afternoon Road Rage Arrest

From College Station police: On Friday, May 4, 2018 at about 5:55 PM, Officers with the College Station Police Department were initially dispatched to the area of Lincoln Avenue and…

East Side Row Crop Tour set for June 15 in Downsville

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu DOWNSVILLE – Corn variety trials will be showcased at the June 15 East Side Row Crop Tour in Downsville. The event is hosted by…